Solace Day Spa

Solace Day Spa

Address & Info
3855 Highway 9 North,
Old Bridge, NJ 08857
United States
Get Directions
Contact Us

732.970.0100

http://www.thesolac...
Hours of Operation
Mon: 10am  -  3pm Tues: 9am  -  9pm Wed: 9am  -  9pm Thu: 9am  -  9pm Fri: 9am  -  9pm Sat: 9am  -  6pm Sun: 9am  -  6pm
Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
The most relaxing gift card in the world.
Give a Spafinder gift card to use at Solace Day Spa
Buy Gift Card

Customer Reviews for Solace Day Spa (13)

RupaR
July 20, 2013
Keratin Treatment
Went for Keratin treatment, salon promised me my hair will be strainght after treatment, but hair remained same and they refused to return my money. I felt i have been cheated, will never visit this place again.
Spa lover
November 28, 2012
Relaxing
I recently went for the body scrub/massage and it was great. I love Solace because they are open on Sundays & Mondays and have great deals. The specials they have keep me coming back instead of going to Avanti or Milagro.
ShariR
November 26, 2012
Pass on waxing services
Went to Solace for a brazilian with a Living Social deal to try it out since I do go there for other services, they're close to home and open Sundays. Unlike the usual place I go to for regular brazilian, Solace used entirely soft wax with strips. Maybe it is what I am used to, but it is definitely less painful when they use hard wax for the extra sensitive areas. The job was so so, there were a lot of stray hairs that were missed. Secondly, I added on an underarm wax but to my fault didn't check the price. I had assumed it would be the standard $20-$25 range. To my suprise it was $30! Way to expensive for an underarm wax and it wasn't thorough.
Kim
August 29, 2012
Multiple Visits - Love this Spa
Both my husband and I have been to this spa multiple times for services - massage and facials. We are always treated well. I enjoy the fact that the bathrooms are changing rooms with showers and you are provided with a robe and flops, and then you can wait in the pool room. The running water and the fireplace help start the relaxation before the appointment, and your can stick your feet in the 1ft pool. You can relax there after your services, and in between services, as well. I find this to be an excellent amenity - as other spas I have visited just put you back out into the main waiting room. We also enjoyed a spa lunch there during a couples retreat we had planned and found it to be delicious.
AnnG
June 6, 2012
2 frustrating visits
The service (massage) was wonderful but the staff at the front of the desk have no clue what they are doing. I have tried this place twice and both times they made mistakes making my appointments, confirming my appointments and once I arrived, it took them over a half hour to tell me that there was a problem All they did the 2nd time was say sorry and not offer a discount for their mistakes.
Spa lover
May 29, 2012
visited even though i read bad reviews
I went to solace for a hair cut and I am very happy with the service. Annette and the rest of the staff was great. I was skeptical at first because I read bad reviews prior to my visit about gift cards. I would visit this salon again.
ShariR
February 27, 2012
Beautiful facilities- ok execution of services
My husband and I had the Solace for Two treatment which consisted of exfoliation, Vichy shower rinse followed by a 50 minute signature massage (swedish massage). First off- the facilities are beautiful (their Vichy shower is awesome) and very clean. The relaxation room has very comfortable lounges but the pool is more for looks it's just 1 foot deep but heated so it's nice to soak your feet in but that's about it. I can see why they market themselves as a luxury spa in the area. The execution of services was ok. The format itself is great and the scrub is wonderful- it doesn't dry you out and smells delicious. Even though the treatment description indicated you get a tonic spray after the rinse, we didn't get this and we didn't receive our complimentary bottle of essential oils. Not a big deal but for a "luxury" market these details shouldn't be missed. The massage was ok but that could just be we're not big fans of swedish massages since it's more relation rather than therapeutic such as a deep tissue. My husband said it felt like someone was rubbing lotion rather than a massage. My CMT adjusted the pressure. Wold I go back, yes, because the facilities were great and want to give it another try for a fav spa spot.
KarolinaD
January 19, 2012
Dishonorable Business!! Will not go back!
I received a $250 gift certificate (bought at the spa) as a Christmas gift in 2010. As the fine print on the back of the card said it was only good for a year, I scheduled a massage and facial in the late summer to avoid the card expiring. Both the massage & facial were fantastic! This was my first spa experience (I've experienced better since this incident). After the treatment, I went to pay the receptionist with the gift card and she would not honor them. She said the business was under new ownership and she will not honor the gift certificates (which were not even a year old). She was very rude and would not work with me. What a nasty way to treat new customers! I now I was out $250!! She ruined my experience and I will NEVER go back!! Don't waste your money at a place like this! There are far better & honorable spas in the area. Avoid this place, which is just trying to rip people off!
SonC
January 11, 2012
Sketchy
I received a Spa Finder gift card for my birthday back in August. I decided to go to Solace on a rainy day one day when I was shopping in their mall. I called from my car and they told me they could see me right away for a massage and a cut. When I came in I told them I would be paying with a spa finder card. As soon as the girl heard I was paying with the gift card she immediately changed her attitude and told me that the stylist could no longer see me because of a scheduling conflict. I ended up just getting a massage, which was subpar. If they are not getting their money;s worth with spa finder then they shouldn't accept it. I've redeemed spa finder gift cards before in spas, and all were more than happy to do the services. The spa itself is very nice but that's not a reason I would ever go back.
AntoinetteB
July 28, 2011
Be careful with your money...
Be careful! My friend gave my husband and I a gift card worth $400 for couple's treatments. When I called to make the appointment, I asked customer service to double check the amount on the card and was surprised to find out that the card was worth only $120. I asked for the manager and asked her to please check again (with the same result), and shared my concerns with her about the expiration written in the card's fine print. She told me not to worry, that management never enforced the expiration date on the card. Afterwards, I called my friend to make sure she wasn't getting ripped off. She went to the salon with the receipt, and after some strong conversations, the salon supposedly fixed the problem. So, I continued with booking the appointment, only to find that the value hadn't been changed and the card had expired. When I explained the situation and my previous conversation with management, the girl on the phone didn't seem to care. She was quite rude and dismissive and simply said there was nothing that they could do. I never received a treatment at this place, but if they treat customers with half the amount of discourtesy and aloofness I experienced, than I can't imagine the service being any good. There are far better
roseh
July 8, 2011
Swedish massage
I experienced the most wonderful massage given by Marlene.She had just the right touch and was very respectful regarding privacy.After the massage session she brought me to the Tranquility Room and served me infused water and a small bowl of nuts.I enjoyed the tranquility pool and later relaxed on the lounge chair by the pool.Watching the water and the fire had a very peaceful effect!I will definately return for spa services there in the future.
KRISTALC
May 28, 2011
Good Variety of Services!
Solace has an amazing variety of relaxing spa services. My favorites are the Vichy shower and the mud wrap. I come here when I visit my family in East Brunswick. It's local, the atmosphere is nice, and the prices are reasonable. It's unfortunate the girl who reviewed this spa before me had a bad experience with her SpaFinder certificates during spa week. Even if the spa didn't want to accept them, to keep the customer happy, they should've made an exception. Either party could have said or heard wrong, but at least make things right so the customer leaves satisfied. I agree with the reviewer-if I were her, I probably wouldn't come back because of that.
ashleyj
April 21, 2011
Longtime customer, however, will not return.
I am a long-time customer of Solace day spa, and have always been very happy and felt that I was getting a great quality for my money. I made an appointment in person several weeks ago, for a massage during "Spa Week". Basically the services were discounted, which I think is a great promotion especially since the location just went through a re-opening. I explained to the receptionist (as well as two other women) as I was making the reservation that I would like to use a spafinder gift certificate on the service, and was told that was no problem at all and they would definitely accomodate my use of the certificate. I returned to the spa a few weeks later and had my service done (the service was great), and continued to the register to pay. At this point I was told that I could not use the spa finder gift certificate because the services were already discounted and if they took the certificate they would use money. The receptionist explained that this had been the rules all along, HOWEVER, this was the same receptionist who told me that they would definitely accept the certificate. At this point, I then tried to pay with a "Solace Day Spa" gift card that I received a few weeks back as a gift...Not worth the trouble or money.
Load 5 More Reviews +