• Sundara Inn & Spa
  • Sundara Inn & Spa
  • Sundara Inn & Spa
  • Sundara Inn & Spa
  • Sundara Inn & Spa
  • Sundara Inn & Spa
  • Sundara Inn & Spa
  • Sundara Inn & Spa
  • Sundara Inn & Spa
  • Sundara Inn & Spa
  • Sundara Inn & Spa
  • Sundara Inn & Spa

About Sundara Inn & Spa

Sundara Inn & Spa, which takes its name from the Sanskirt word for “beautiful,” offers many of the characteristics of a destination spa in an inn setting. Intimate by design with 26 suites and several private villas, this adults-only boutique spa is nestled in a 26-acre fragrant pine forest on the scenic outskirts of Wisconsin Dells, a community known for its natural beauty, including high sandstone bluffs overlooking the Wisconsin River. The “soaring organic-style architecture” and feng shui-inspired interior design help Sundara blend peacefully with the natural surroundings. There is a decided emphasis on serenity here, complemented by a quiet relaxation lounge with views of the heated outdoor infinity pool; a conversation-free tranquility garden patio; and a meditation trail in the woods. The 45,000-square-foot spa has 16 treatment rooms, three of which are “Spa Together” rooms.

×
DOES NOT accept Spafinder Wellness 365
Gift Cards
Find one that does.
920 Canyon Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965 United States
Get Directions
Contact Info
Contact Us
+1(608) 253-9200
http://www.sundaraspa.com

Menu of Services

Sundara's motto is 'Energize Your Soul' and that philosophy is most evident in its 14-treatment room spa. The decor is soothing and serene, with a sense of minimalism and Asian influence. Before and after treatments, guests can often be found in the glass-walled relaxation lounge. Spa-goers also enjoy the Spa Together rooms, which are both specially designed for two. The first has a fireplace and overflowing soak baths with chromatherapy lights, while the second has a 10-jet body spa. The spa's lobby boutique is filled with spa apparel and accessories, jewelry, books, and candles.

Every stay at Sundara begins with a Purifying Bath Ritual that cleanses both body and soul. Guests can then choose from a variety of treatments that blend Ayurvedic wisdom with modern wellness techniques. The Sundara Sandstone Polish Body Treatment, part of the spa's signature 'Sundara Series,' begins with an invigorating massage using a body polish incorporating native Cambrian sandstone. The treatment concludes with a body scrub, Vichy shower treatment, nourishing mist, and hydrating body lotion application leaving the skin renewed, healthy, and glowing. Sundara also has a full array of massage, body, and facial treatments as well as a full-service salon that offers guests manicures, pedicures, hair care, and make-up. A fully equipped workout room is available for use at the convenience of day and overnight guests.

BODY SCRUBS
Other Scrubs
Salt Scrub
Seaweed
Load All 2 Body Scrubs +
BODY WRAPS
Herbal Wrap
Mud
Load All 2 Body Wraps +
FACIALS
Men's
Other Facials
Women's Facials
Load All 2 Facials +
FACILITIES & AMENITIES
Cold Plunge Pool
Concierge
Locker Room
Restaurant
Retail Store
Robes Provided
Showers
Slippers Provided
Steam Room
Swimming Pool
Whirlpool, Jacuzzi
Hot Plunge Pool
Rainfall Showers
Yoga Room
Off-Site Fitness Studio
Turndown Service
Complimentary WiFi
Complimentary Breakfast Buffet
Complimentary Parking
Complimentary Town Car Service
Load All 11 Facilities & Amenities +
FITNESS & ACTIVITIES
Biking
Golf
Hiking
Yoga Classes
Swimming
Cross-Country Skiing
Snowshoeing
Load All 4 Fitness & Activities +
HAIR/NAIL SERVICES
Manicures
Pedicures
Waxing
Load All 3 Hair/Nail Services +
MASSAGES
Aromatherapy
Ayurvedic
Couples
Deep Tissue
Four Hands
Hot Stone
Lymph Drainage
Prenatal/Postnatal
Reflexology
Scalp
Load All 10 Massages +
PREVENTIVE
Sleep-Health Consultation
Load All 1 Preventive +
WATER TREATMENTS
Hydrotherapy
Vichy Shower
Soak Baths
Load All 2 Water Treatments +

Customer Reviews for Sundara Inn & Spa (43)

NancyS
June 14, 2014
don't go, they are better spas
DO NOT GO IN THE SUMMER OR YOU WILL GET AN OVERCROWDED SPA. YOU WILL BE LEFT STANDING AND UNCOMFORTABLE! My spa services were good. But if you want to relax, you can't come out of a service and then be expected to stand. The whirlpool was full of some party group, so I didn't want to jump in with 15 other people touching shoulders and listen to their boy stories! ugh! Also, the bath area had mold/mildew in every corner! Do not go here, it is not worth it. Instead go to kohler spa where the bath area is exceptionally clean! The American Club has awesome rooms that are worth every penny you spend. Sundara has dirty run down rooms. I think they wipe down the rooms in 30 seconds. And don't even bother calling to complain, or to complain in person. I believe the staff is trained to believe they can do no wrong. The guest is always wrong. I called to say the shower was dirty, they had housekeeping wipe it down with a rag. OMG! The whirlpool had mildew, again, the towel! Hello! a towel will not rid mildew from a shower or tub!Give me clorox! I told them again at checkout and the snotty girl at the front desk said, OKAY. okay what? How about sorry! But at sundara, they can't say sorry! I spent $2,000 for a dirty and snotty experience!
KatieC
August 26, 2013
August 24, 2013
It was very crowded with the day guests, considering I was paying $300/nt I would expect a pool chair which is why I went there. The smoothies were good as was lunch. They were short staffed, but the ones working tried to keep up the best they could. My husband called to have a gift sent to the room, they could not do that. As there is no lobby or any other area, if you go in winter, you'ld be confined to your room. My room only had one chair. The spa services are about double the price as elsewhere, nothing special. As a Travel Agent, they do not work with us, so I would not send clients there. I would recommend a Kimpton boutique Hotel or a different spa brand. Katie
jodim
August 14, 2013
Something missing
Didn't feel the warm, rejuvating feeling I was looking for.....
TanyaH
May 19, 2013
Winter Getaway
I visitied Sundara in December 2012 during the middle of a huge Wisconsin snow storm. The spa lobby was undergoing renovations. This, and the 18.5 inches of snow, impacted the quality of my visit. That said, the facility is small, but the services was excellent and the overall experience relaxing. The outdoor pool is fabulous; though I did not get to enjoy it during my visit, it is open year-round. The mud scrub ritual is cleansing. My pedicure was above average, but the tile installation made it not so relaxing. I stayed overnight and the hotel rooms are fabulous and peaceful. Overall, an above average stay at Sundara. . .I will return.
June 25, 2012
Hidden gem in the Dells area
I have been here several times and have always had great service. It's an adult only spa which is a plus and it is nice to visit during any season.
SueH
May 16, 2012
Most enjoyable
I am a local customer and appreciate having a quality spa like Sundara in our area. I have gone to several other spas in the Madison area and they do not compare to Sundara. I've gone for the day at all different times of the year and always have had a great experience. Treatments are relaxing. Outside pool area is fantastic. Meditation room is soothing. Food ordered from the menu has always been tasty. I've been here at least a dozen times and can't wait for my next visit at the end of June.
leed
May 14, 2012
bring your own maid
I was making reservations for my husband and I. after making reservations i was put on hold. the manager came on and notified me that the previous stay i had jammed straws down the sink and left newspapers all over the room. i was put on notice, i tried to explain to the manager that this was not us, but she wouldn't listen to anything i had to say. she put me on hold. i got mad called my husband and he immediately called the spa. they stated the manager was out....interesting. and put someone else on the phone that would not explain to my husband the situation and he hung up on my husband. does house cleaning run the business or management? we were there for relaxation not to jam straws in the sink
Alissa
March 15, 2012
Fraud/ Dont go
I booked a night of what I was hoping to be a relaxing get away with my 21 year old daughter to celebrate my birthday . The room was nice ) except the shower didn't work) Room service was tasty and quick. That's were the good ends. The spa services were so over priced and to make it worse they shorted us on time on all three we had. Also, the exotic oils they use is COOKING oil from what O could tell ,The add on warm oil scalp massage is 40$ for 15 minutes on just scalp . HA ? I was given a half assed non oil scalp massage DURING the 50 massage that lasted 40 min tops . The hot oil third eye ayverdac( sp) add on was fixatives ad 25 mom with upper body massage. JOKE ,my therapist drizzled COLD cheap oil on my forehead and just sat there refilling the cup from the catch pot on the floor , colder than the first time around. So, in a nut shell , I paid 600$ for 90 min of services that magically only lasted 70 min . When I inquired about being shorted on all three services the manager explained times are approximate and include set ip and health intake . No service recovery at all. Finally , the state of the art fitness center us being shuttled to Wilderness resort with no chance in he'll of getting a machine with all the children running around. I will be working with my credit card company to refuse to pay for the services . If I go out for pizza? Order a large pizza and they bring me three quarters of a pizza I not paying got a whole pizza. Call me crazy . O wad hoping my daughter had found a yearly retreat . Looks like we will keep looking . Two thumbs down .
March 14, 2012
Great but expensive day getaway with the girls
My sisters and I had a beautiful experience at Sundara. Spa was clean and beautiful and very relaxing but considerably overpriced. A great indulgence but not somewhere I could attend for regular services due to price.
February 10, 2012
Baby Moon #2
As we prepared for the arrival of our second baby girl, my hubby planned Baby Moon #2 at Sundara. From the moment we arrived, until the time we departed, we were amazed by the excellent service, professionalism, and warm of the staff. The facility is beautiful and tranquil; I can't wait to return.
January 31, 2012
Save Your Money
Overpriced treatments - normally at the prices they charge you have gratuities already included. They have a birthday club which is suppose to give you a $25 credit toward anything but retail purchases. Well I went in and had mentioned it when I booked my spa service. When I arrived I was told that it only was valid if I stayed overnight. I double checked the website and no mention of an overnight stay. I'm local so I don't need a room - I guess they're not interested in having anyone local come in for the day. Not worth the money.
December 11, 2011
Paradise in Wisconsin
Surprising to find such a fantastic getaway in the Wisconsin Dells. This spa is tranquil & relaxing. It has everything you could possibly want from a spa & then some. The outdoor pool area is pleasant & enjoyable all year long, even when its snowing. The hotel accommodations are beautiful & the spa treatments are amazing.
November 3, 2011
Very Nice
Nice Spa and Hotel - The hotel room was not quite as luxe as I expected. The carpet was worn and the sink faucet in the lovely bathroom leaked annoyingly. Spa services were terrific. One of the best facials as I've ever had. The meals were very good but the dining area, while fine if you want to read a book during dinner (which I did) was not very engaging. Overall, though, I'd definitely visit again. Staff was very accomodating and professional
AllisonK
August 2, 2011
Worst Spa Experience Ever
My husband and I went to Sundara expecting first class treatment and services. The facility was very small and way overbooked. We were unaware that the spa bused people in from the waterparks. With very limited seating at the pool, and all the waterpark and local guests, we could not sit together. In addition, the meditation room at the spa was the throughway to get from the changing room to the pool and was very busy, as well. The locker room was too small to accommodate all the people. My massage was so rough that I bruised and when I told the massage therapist that it hurt, the response was that it had to hurt to be good. I asked to change my next service to something more soothing and I was told that I could not because that would that the commission away from the therapist I was booked with. They also ran out of towels and water glasses at the pool several times during our stay. Not worth the $900 the night cost us!!!
MelissaM
July 17, 2011
Overall a nice stay
My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary, overall it is a nice stay. We got a great deal on a villa, and it was beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did each get a massage, and while it was relaxing, I thought it was a bit overpriced. It wasn't as good as massages I've had elsewhere for half the price and the masseuse was a bit chatty, which kills a good massage for me. I guess I'm too polite to tell them that directly, but try to give hints or pretend to fall asleep. That didn't work. Overall you're paying for the environment more than the quality of the service in my opinion. But sometimes that's OK, and it is a beautiful place.
barbarak
July 2, 2011
great day spa experience
stayed one night as a self-treat. Services (massage and facial) were great experiences. Room was large and lovely; jet tub was a welcome after evening deep tissue massage. Pool area also great, but overall facility layout a little inconvenient - going from sleeping room to treatment forced me to trapse through giftshop/checkin area in my robe as elevator lets you out right at checkin desk (which doubles as giftshop cashier) Also, if you're on the 2nd floor you have to trapse through the breakfast diners on the way to elevator. Food was most disapointing - no restaurant - I didn't feel this was close to the definition of 'spa cuisine'. I travel a lot for business, and main menu seemed no different from average hotel; breakfast was the same breakfast I have Hampton Inns all over the country, with average scrambled eggs, make your own toast, and pre-packaged juice and yogurt. I would not stay overnight again, but would go as a day experience with girlfriends.
LindsayB
March 16, 2011
Such a treat!!!
The bath ritual was great, the outdoor facilities were wonderful, and the meditation room was very soothing! My facial was fantastic and I would definitely go back again! You can have drinks by the pool and you can stay as long as you want. I overheard one of the attendants say springtime was the busiest for them so I recommend waiting a while if you were planning a trip. I went a week ago and I was very happy. The dead of winter is probably the best time to be there since it wouldn't be as busy. Plus, steam rooms, warm pools, and hot tubs are best enjoyed in frigid cold air!
MichelleW
March 8, 2011
Nice Environment
Very nice atmosphere, enjoyed the bath ritual and herbal wrap service. We then ordered drinks and drank them outside in the whirlpool. I am a local to the Dells area and I very much liked being in a whirlpool in 20 degree weather in Wisconsin. Prices are high but it's worth the splurge.
NancyR
January 28, 2011
Sundara again
This is the second time I have been to Sundara. Wow it was just as good if not better the second time around. This time I stayed in a villa suite. Excellent, just excellent. I will be returning again next year. Can't get enough of this place.
January 24, 2011
Fond memories of Sundara
I just joined SpaFinder so I'm writing this review 5 years after visiting it. I still remember my stay there with my husband quite fondly. My massage was great. The food was great. The whirlpool and showers with the mud were great. The infinity pool was a plus. We also enjoyed our hike in the woods just in back of the building. The only minuses were no restaurant or dining room on site. Although we really enjoyed the Cheese Factory (vegetarian) down the street. Wonderful food there. The only other minus was how crowded the relaxation room would get at times.
November 8, 2010
Wonderful
This is my second visit, and I cannot wait for my next. the facility is beautiful and very peaceful. My treatment, the body boost was delightful and it was just an amazing relaxing weekend.
Megan V
October 21, 2010
A Disappointing Experience
I recently spent the weekend at Sundara with my mom as a birthday get-away. Upon arrival, I was impressed with the grounds but from check-in to check-out, the experience continued to disappoint: Lots of No's: every question we asked from "do you have bikes to rent", "do you have a map of the surrounding area", "do you have movies," all were responded with NO. Not any guidance to a local blockbuster or an offer to print out mapquest. Just No. Very Crowded with Poor Patron-Server Ratio: The fall weekend was unseasonably warm resulting in a very crowded pool and spa. I don't know if this is why they were unprepared but there was 1 server for the entire pool, which happens to be the only place to be served any form of food (other than your room). No restaurant on premises! Nice Rooms but Never Cleaned: We stayed in one of the bigger suites in the main building and it was never cleaned while we were there the entire weekend. The cleaning staff came into the room at one point but just smoothed out bed linens (did not actually make the beds) and fluffed up our tissues, but that was it! It is Wisconsin Dells: Although the spa itself is adult only and was definitely quiet, the surrounding area lacks any alternative options.
DanaB
July 28, 2010
Best in the Midwest!
Best get away spa in the Midwest! Loved that it was adults only! My husband and I were there last year for massages over the Labor Day holiday weekend. We stayed at the nearby Wilderness Resort. Next time we make our way up there we're just going up for Sundara.
AnnK
July 26, 2010
LOVED IT
My sister has been fighting cancer for over a year. We said we'd do something different if she ever felt up to doing anything again. Recently she did start feeling better so I booked us in. I am in the process of trying to locate a bed as comfortable as the one there---best night's sleep I ever had and I couldn't get my sister out of bed! We loved the service--friendly and kind and definitely not pretentious! The services and food were great and I am already dreaming of returning!!!!
ClaraM
May 25, 2010
Annual Sundara Stay Required.
I went to this Spa for a girls weekend (6 of us) we stayed in one of the villa's for 2 night. We had a blast! The massage was one of the best I ever had and the resort was very comforatable. They really took care of our group well. I would do it again! My only wish is that the fitness room had some free weights and had a view to outside.
KarleyB
April 4, 2010
The Best in the Area!!!
Sundara is by far the best, most relaxing, tranquil spa around. This is a spa that is great for a novice or well-seasoned spa goer. The self-led purifying bath ritual and "quiet room" provide the perfect start to your day of relaxation. Everything is about you and your experience from the moment you arrive. And not to mention the suites are incredible!
Mom
March 27, 2010
My Favorite Place
I consider Sundara my own private spa!! why? because I live an hour away and go there frequently. The most amazing part of Sundara is the infinity pool. I love being able to hang out and relax all day! By the end of the day I am truly de-stressed. the pine forest setting adds so much to the day.
JenM
February 3, 2010
Amazing!
I went as a day spa treat. I got a pedicure and it was the most amazing pedicure I have ever gotten. The staff was all very friendly, courteous and helpful. I spent a few hours out by the pool which was quiet, relaxing and wonderful. I would return there in a heartbeat.
PattyT
January 27, 2010
Awesome!!
Nov. 2009 was a great girls day out, My daughter and 2 Daughter-in laws and I took the day off from a family trip to the Dells. My daughter had heard of Sundara and had been wanting us to try it, we were so very happy with her choice. It was just amazing, from the quietness to the pampering,we all loved the hot tubs and cold dip pool. we spent the time before we were called to go into our massage in the outdoor pool that was so nice and warm. swimming with just your head sticking out in the cold Wi. air was so exhilarating. The massage was awesome, and after it was done we were invited to go back out to the pool and stay as long as we wanted to. It was great experience and we will defiantly do it again. We were taken on a tour of the Rooms and they were spectacular. we will be taking advantage of that the next time. I highly recommend Sundara, it was a great experience.
veronicac
December 29, 2009
Excited to visit, but dissapointed with the service
I was anticipating the visit to this location for quite some time. My cousin had told me about it and from the looks of the website the location was fabulous. My husband and I visited on our 5th year anniversary. The facility was amazing and I was really relaxed and pleased with the set up of the location, but the service was quite dissapointing. My massage therapist was late meeting me and had to be paged more than three times. I was rushed to complete my exfoliation and did not get the chance to take a visit around the facility as I had anticipated. I was offered another massage when I return, but I'm not sure that I would.
Debbies
December 21, 2009
still dreaming
This spa is a dream come true. They picked us up at our hotel door with a luxury car . from ther it just gets better. the service was the best I'v seen .the experience was great. they showed us around the spa before hand so we knew what to do and where we could go after each treatment. The transition back into the real world was gentle.
JillianO
December 17, 2009
Who knew the Dells had a five star spa??
I was very hesitant being from San Francisco when my mother told me we were going to a Spa in the "Dells." A tourist trap for the mid-west with water parks and endless "souvenir" shops. However, this place was absolutely wonderful and I was totally surprised. We did the full day - loved the cold/hot bath experience... super massage and then relaxing by the pool. We plan to go back again when I visit next summer.
SharonC
October 31, 2009
OMG!
My husband and I needed a break and wanted to spend some quality time together. We reserved two nights and we just loved it! This is one of those I never wanted to check out. The staff was so accomdating no request went unanswered.
JODIM
October 26, 2009
Missing something.....
While the spa was very nice, the rooms were overpriced. No exercise programs or fitness classes. If you are looking for strictly spa services and a quiet get a away this is for you.
MichelleF
October 25, 2009
Sundara Spa
My husband and I just returned from a weekend at Sundara. The staff was very professional and accomodating. We stayed in a villa and the ambiance, fixtures, bedding and space was well designed and well laid out. We loved the bedding so much that we will be purchasing it for our home. The food for lunch and dinner was very good the the waitstaff was very pleasant. My husband had a deep tissue massage and loved it. I had a wonderful facial with a well informed staff (Karen). I enjoyed my botanical hair masque as I had never had a service like this before, but the staff made the service feel rushed and somewhat lacking. I have had pedicures at spas all over the country and felt the one at Sundara to be only mediocre. The treatment rooms were rather plain and could use a little more attention to cleaning. The relaxation room was the biggest shock to both of us. It was very crowded, acoustics were poor, seating looked rather worn and there were no chaise lounges to stretch out and relax on. While a relaxation space is not revenue generating space per se, more attention to this area would have dramatically improved the luxury of the overall experience. The outdoor pool area is beautiful and the heated pool is a wonderful touch. The products sold in the boutique are quality and both my husband and I bought a significant amount of products. Overall, this was a great experience and we will return.
DebraB
September 13, 2009
Will definitely go again
Coming from a very hectic busy season as an accountant, my husband and I had a fabulous time. We visited for a Sunday night in the middle of May2009. Every staff person was helpful. The facilities were outstanding, and there was plenty of room. We were a little disappointed that we didn't get help in the purifying area....we had to go and find someone which took quite a bit of time. We ordered dinner in our room that evening and it was decent. Great presentation..average food. The room was great. Great whirlpool tub and awesome human-carwash shower :) In the morning the breakfast buffet was pretty average. My facial was excellent and my husband said his massage was the best he'd ever had. We will definitely return.
ErinO
July 17, 2009
Great Experience
Coming from a very hectic work schedule, my boyfriend and I had a fabulous time. We visited for one night in the middle of this past May. Every staff person was extremely helpful. The facilities were outstanding, and there was plenty of room. The front desk helped us order pizza for dinner, and in the morning the cooks specially made us breakfast because the buffet did not have any vegetarian options. My only suggestion was to post that there was meat in all of the breakfast food at the buffet, for people like my boyfriend and I. The pancakes had bacon or ham in there, and we didn't realize it until we took a few bites, which gave us stomache aches on the ride home!
LauraY
June 25, 2009
Nice day of relaxation
I visited Sundara Spa with my sister-in-law last year when we were in Wisconsin Dells (on a trip she had won in a raffle). The staff was excellent; the treatments we received divine. We were a little surprised to find the spa to be much smaller than we had expected, and the hot tub got pretty crowded even on a weekday. But the relaxation room was great, and the pool area wonderful. All in all, we're really glad we visited Sundara and would recommend it to anyone!
Donny
June 12, 2008
5th trip to my favorite place
I just returned from my 5th trip to lovely Sundara. As usual, everything was for the most part amazing. My partner and I stayed at the Kalihari resort for a night, and then had reservations at a little known resort outside of town. When we arrived at said resort, we were extremely uncomfortable with the surroundings, and thankfully were able to cancel without any hassle. We were then planning on going into and staying in Chicago, but decided to stop at Sundara to see if they had anything availiable. Boy did they. We got a room for 2 nights for only $180 a night, which by the way was the same price of staying at Kalihari! We felt like theives! We've stayed in most of the rooms, but this time were in there smallest suite. The only thing missing was the whirlpool tub, but we didn't mind that at all. The purifying bath ritual is still my favorite part of Sundara. If I could wake up to that every morning I'd be a very happy and healthy person. We both recieved massages that as usual were incredible. The heated outdoor pool was equally amazing. We are normally at Sundara in the winter so we don't spend to much time outside. Our two nights were going so well we asked to extend our stay an extra night, which was accomated very easily, and at the same price of our other 2 nights. Being a guest throuout the years at Sundara we've seen a few things change for the better. The customer service, which can be hit or miss, seems to be improving rapidly. Also, the addition of the free breakfast in the Radiance Rotunda is an amazing touch that we both adored. Also, the new sandles they provide are a lot more comfortable then the old ones. The improved customer service really showed thru during some extremely severe weather. We recieved a call in our room letting us know about the approaching storm, and shortly after that we got another call asking us to come down stairs into hallway due to a tornado warning in the area. Though cramped and uncomfortable, the staff were extremely comforting and were constantly updated us on what was going on. When the power went out they were there immediately with flashlights, and made the unpleasant experience as pleasant as possible. About 5 hours later we had another tornado warning, and again the staff was amazing. Any negatives? Just one. My room key had to be reactivated several times. Still not sure what was going on with that. Overall, I am a true life-long lover of Sundara. This was very evident when I heard on the national news what happened at Lake Delton, and my first thought was hoping that Sundara wasn't affected. So, if you are nearby and want a place to relax, look no further then Sundara! You'll thank me.
LostFanWaukesha
June 14, 2007
Worth A Try For Every Spa Enthusiast
Stay: May 19 2007. My friend had stayed at Sundara in November 2006, LOVED it, and suggested the same package, the Girlfriend's Spa Package, for myself and her, as a getaway/relaxation treat. We stayed in the Amoda Suite for one night. This package offers each guest 2 spa services (we chose pedicures and massages) and we each received a dinner and breakfast vouchers valued for an ample amount for food, particularly if you bring your own wine. Similar to other comments, we did experience a few sub-par elements to the stay. However, I found that those elements were outshined by so many other truly unique and pampering features of the resort. The suite was absolutely beautiful and impeccably clean. The first floor of the loft is spacious, with a lush king featherbed, with spa robes and slippers for the stay. The whirpool - jacuzzi bath with the Kohler "Whitewater rafting" jets was incredible, as was the Kohler Tower shower. There is an equally lovely upper loft bedroom and yet another bathroom with Kohler shower with mutiple jets (I believe called "the car wash"). Both showers are equipped with dispensers full of the spa's shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner-- so one need not bring these items in the future! There is a small refrigerator, so if you are able to transport beverages, and / or cold snacks and bottled water, you can concentrate the use of your meal vouchers on actual food. The suite overlooks the pool, and we enjoyed having cocktails on the screened in porch, and listening to the affinity pool waterfall when falling asleep and waking up. The Purifying Bath Ritual is a real differentiation for this spa. In a rotunda shaped room, with the large spa tub in the center, you move through the ritual: exfoliation, sauna, a splurge in a cold refresh pool, and a descent into the large, hot tub with jacuzzi bubbles. It is relaxing, pampering, and great for your skin. The affinity pool and hot tub are also available for unlimited use (probably more difficult on busy weekends). In our opinion, the ability to use these amenities as frequently as you like truly drives up the value of what can look like a very pricey package. It is one of the elements that makes this a stay at Sundara such a good value. The spa services we received the following morning, a 50 minute massage, and signature spa pedicures, were excellent. The spa staff were attentive and extremely good at what they do. Between the suite and the purifying bath ritual, you can sample Sundara's spa products, all of which I find to be beautifully fragranced with that calming, subtle spa scent. Here are the gaps we experienced: First -- Pool Cabana Service. The bartender was somewhat blase, and lacked rapport building skills, as well as drink knowledge--when I ordered a split of champagne, he gave me a bottle of Spumanti (which I returned for the right item). We asked him how long the resort had been open, and he replied that he had just started working there 2 weeks ago and did not know much about it. The pool Cabana bar is an area that we felt commands a freindly and interactive staff--especially when an 18% gratuity is added automatically to each order! It's a great opportunity for Sundara to advise their guests about the wealth of services avaialble. Second: Dinner. The bellman who walked us through the suite advised us to order dinner 45 minutes prior to our desired meal time. We ordered about an hour prior. The woman who took the order quoted us a 45 minute wait. About 15 minutes after the order was placed, she called to advise that they were out of the spring roll appetizer, and curiously did not offer a substitute. We let it go. Dinner did not arrive until 1 hour, 10 minutes, after order time. The presentation and flavors were outstanding--but both meals had completely cooled off. I had order the shrimp, and my friend, the filet mignon. We called and requested that they retrieve the meal and heat it up. The woman answered that they had never been asked to do that before (?). She said she would check with the kitchen and call back. When we did not hear from her for 15 minutes, we called again and asked that some form of reparation be made. They sent up a bottle of wine, a nice gesture, however it would have been better to have been asked what would work -- either offer a re-prepare on the meal, or perhaps a discount on a service etc.; something more practical for the weekend. Fortunately, breakfast was delightful. I had the towering stack of cornmeal pancakes, and my friend had an omelet. Each was perfect temperature, and beautifully plated. The french press coffee was outstanding. I do agree with other post comments that service fundamentals are absolutely mandatory with a price point such as Sundara's. It's an investment, and for those of us who choose to invest in a spa experience, there is a realistic level of expectation in terms of quality and service delivery. It's indigenous to the industry. This time, for me though, so in need of a relaxing getaway from the corporate race, I was so impressed with the unique atmosphere, the suite, the experience, that I couldn't stay angry about the misses! Also, my friend's prior experience was impeccable, so between that and this stay, we will be returning mid summer. Should be interesting to see how that fares. I did visit their website, and found that that one can up for e-mail notification on deals, as well check the website for online - only offers, many of which can be very economical, especially if you don't need a larger suite, given all the amenities that are included. The deals often require off-peak days of stay (Sun - Thurs), but if it is a work getaway like ours, why not take a day off and check out Sundara!
DianeJune
April 19, 2007
Elegant relaxation!
I had a wonderful mother/daughter spa vacation at Sundara recently! "Thank you " to her for suggesting and booking a most relaxing experience at your beautiful and elegant spa! The cleansing ritual followed by peaceful reflection in the quiet room was just fantastic and made for a very restful night's sleep in our suite accomodations. How lovely to have turn down service complete with a a gal's favorite treat, chocolate! I do look forward to a return visit for more pampering and elegance! Diane
jahoelz
April 9, 2007
Service is lacking
My husband and I just visited Sundara Spa for the second time this past week. Overall we did enjoy our experience but I must say that again we were disappointed by the service. Just like last year, the front desk people seemed snooty and made us feel uncomfortable when we mentioned that one of our spa services had been cancelled weeks prior. Also, we ordered lunch and waited 40 minutes before inquiring on its status when we found out that the order was never received by the kitchen. So, needless to say, we were disappointed and even more so when the waiter just simply said sorry and handed us our bill as though it did not matter that we had been waiting for over an hour. I must mention the positive attributes of Sundara as well. The bath spa ritual is magnificent from the exfoliating scrub to the steam room. The relaxation room is nice and we very much enjoyed swimming in the heated outdoor pool, even at temperatures outside of 30 degrees. The massage service received was good, not the best I've had but good. The food was goos as well, especially the corn cakes we ordered for breakfast. Prices were high but we were able to relax and unwind which was our goal.
Avid Spa Goer
July 5, 2006
My Getaway From Chaos
I went to Sundara midsummer, during their peak season, to get away from the craziness that is my life at work. My experience was about 50% relaxing, and 50% frustration, I am sorry to say. I received many services over the span of 5 days, and the service providers were excellent for the most part. I did receive one facial from a very unprofessional woman who talked about her misfortunes at work, and her former job as a dental assistant. My massages were outstanding, and the treatment rooms were at best average. The relaxation lounge was nice and roomy until the weekend, and then it got pretty cramped and loud, not very relaxing. The outdoor pool area was fantastic, the fire pit a godsend. The food service was extremely lacking, I waited 45 minutes for a plate of cheese and crackers that I was told would take 20 minutes. And the $10 I paid for it seemed a little over the top considering the service was so lacking. Overall, the services were excellent, but management left much to be desired. I talked to the owner briefly, and she seemed to live by the credo of "Do what I say, not what I do". At least that is what I saw from her treatment of the front desk staff! To guests she was of course very pleasant, but seemed to enjoy critiquing the staff in front of everyone. Shameless.
Load 5 More Reviews +

Facilities & Amenities

Facilities & Amenities

Sundara’s 26 acres of private land provide the perfect setting for silent sports like swimming, hiking, cross-country skiing, and snowshoeing. The heated outdoor infinity pool lets guests swim year-round while enjoying mesmerizing views of towering pines. Adjacent to the pool is a conversation-free tranquility garden patio. A meditation trail in the woods includes seven stops corresponding to the seven chakras, with hammocks at the end for resting and reading. Adjacent to Sundara is its championship golf course, Wild Rock. Additionally, Sundara offers bikes for guest use and yoga instruction, and its signature line of spa products draws ingredients indigenous to the area.

 

The area surrounding Sundara is equally intriguing. It’s nearly de rigueur to take a scenic tour of the Wisconsin River; options include tour boating, parasailing, kayaking, canoeing, and stand-up paddleboarding. There are three state parks nearby, along with landmarks like the International Crane Foundation, Aldo Leopold Center, and historic Wollersheim Winery. Visitors can also shop the many boutiques in the city’s river district.

Facilities

Hair and Beauty

Steam Room

Showers

Bar/Cafe/Restaurant

Changing/Locker Rooms

Cold Plunge Pool

Retail Shop

Pool-Outdoor

Spa

Amenities

Slippers Provided

Robes Provided

Rooms & Dining

Rooms & Dining

Sundara has 26 spacious suites, with six different room layouts. Each sun-filled suite offers views to the surrounding woods and includes a king-size featherbed, designer spa bathroom, cozy fireplace, and exceptional artwork, all in a soothing color palette that echoes the natural hues outside. Some suites also have private screened-in balconies and sunken sitting rooms. The largest suites sleep up to five people on three levels. The private villas in the woods were designed using sustainable building practices and are ideal for both couple’s and friends’ spa getaways.

 

Sundara is Travel Green Wisconsin certified.

 

Chef-prepared spa cuisine is available all day. The culinary team sources food from local farms, its own on-site garden, and other Wisconsin producers for a healthful and satisfying take on wellness cuisine. Guests may dine on the second-floor balcony, Radiance Rotunda, with three-story views of Sundara’s grounds; in their suite; or poolside at the Infinity Edge Cabana (weather permitting).

Food Options

Organic

Serves Alcohol

Vegetarian