• Peninsula Chicago
  • Peninsula Chicago
  • Peninsula Chicago
  • Peninsula Chicago
  • Peninsula Chicago
  • Peninsula Chicago
  • Peninsula Chicago
  • Peninsula Chicago
  • Peninsula Chicago
  • Peninsula Chicago
  • Peninsula Chicago
  • Peninsula Chicago

About Peninsula Chicago

The Peninsula Chicago, a Five-Diamond and Forbes Five-Star award-winning hotel (formerly Mobil), sits along the Magnificent Mile in downtown Chicago. The 339-room property blends The Peninsula's exemplary "East meets West" graciousness and trademark sophistication with Midwestern hospitality.

At The Peninsula Spa, guests are treated to ESPA holistic treatments, complemented by an extensive offering of amenities, including an indoor pool with stunning views of the city, relaxation lounge with fireplace, fitness center, yoga room, and Naturally Peninsula Spa Cuisine.

Ample indoor and alfresco dining options are offered to delight the most demanding gourmands, and The Lobby is the perfect location to enjoy traditional afternoon tea and weekend evenings of jazz. Several of Chicago's sightseeing landmarks, including the Mile's upscale dining, shops, and museums, are within easy reach.

Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards

Awards

Awards

108 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 United States
Get Directions
Contact Info
Contact Us
+1(312)573-6860
http://www.peninsula.com/chicago
Buy a Gift Card
Use it at Peninsula Chicago
Buy Gift Card

Menu of Services

The Peninsula Spa by ESPA occupies the top two floors of the hotel, high above Chicago's fast-paced streets. Offering an abundance of amenities to complement its holistic spa menu, the 15,000-square-foot spa has eight treatment rooms, three of which can be converted into dual rooms so couples, mother-daughter groups, and best friends can enjoy side-by-side treatments. Designed to be a calming respite from the city's vibrant scene, the urban spa features an indoor aquatic area enclosed by floor-to-ceiling windows, affording sweeping views of the city while guests take a dip in the indoor pool or hot tub. Separate men's and women's locker rooms come complete with thermal areas.

Offerings include advanced Spa Ceremonies that are unique to The Peninsula, facials, nail care, waxing treatments, and therapeutic massage, combining Asian, Ayurvedic, and European techniques. Ceremonies such as the Uplifting Mint Experience, exclusive to the Chicago-based Peninsula Spa, begin with a tea ceremony and a fresh ginger foot scrub, followed by ESPA's most advanced massage, and finish with a soothing scalp massage. Guests who reserve a full-day package are served lunch poolside.

Before or after treatments, the spa encourages guests to rest beside the fireplace in the relaxation room, spend time in the eucalyptus-scented steam room, or enjoy light spa dishes. Guests can also lounge on the outdoor sundeck.

AESTHETIC
Chemical Peels
Load All 1 Aesthetic +
BODY SCRUBS
Salt Scrub
Load All 1 Body Scrubs +
BODY WRAPS
Algae/Seaweed
Cellulite
Mud
Load All 3 Body Wraps +
FACIALS
Acne/Deep Cleansing
Anti-aging
Back Facial
Custom
Men's
Sensitive/Calming
Teen
Load All 7 Facials +
FACILITIES & AMENITIES
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Locker Room
Retail Store
Robes Provided
Showers
Slippers Provided
Steam Room
Swimming Pool
Toiletries Available
Whirlpool, Jacuzzi
Load All 11 Facilities & Amenities +
FITNESS & ACTIVITIES
Personal Training
Pilates with Mat
Yoga Classes
Load All 3 Fitness & Activities +
HAIR/NAIL SERVICES
Manicures
Pedicures
Waxing
Load All 3 Hair/Nail Services +
MASSAGES
Aromatherapy
Ayurvedic
Couples
Deep Tissue
Four Hands
Hot Stone
Prenatal/Postnatal
Reflexology
Scalp
Swedish
Thai
Load All 11 Massages +
PREVENTIVE
Pre- and Postnatal
Load All 1 Preventive +

Customer Reviews for Peninsula Chicago (15)

August 28, 2013
Simply Perfect
If you're looking for a great getaway in the city, especially during the chilly winter months, this is the place to go. They have top notch service with an upscale flair. Try to go early in the day during the week to make the most of the services while everyone else is at work!
June 17, 2013
top notch
This is the top notch spa in Chicago. Had the best facial and hot stone massage here, in all my life. While expensive, the services are excellent. I don't like walking around in my robe past the check in desk, would prefer more privacy. Their amenities post treatment are nice too (steam etc). Much cleaner than other spas I've been to. Highly recommend.
March 18, 2013
Great spa
The space is beautiful. Nice pool and other amenities. The massage was very relaxing. Enjoyed the experience.
April 29, 2012
Amazing Experience
This spa is one of the best I have been to. The waiting area is amazing, the staff is helpful and very nice and the services they offer are amazing. They cover not only the basics but also offer a wide variety to chose from.
JoseC
March 14, 2012
Price change
I took my girlfriend for a couples massage, and when I made my reservation the person said that it was going to be 245$. When the massage was finished the charged me 320$. They refused to give me the price they gave me first. So I came in the hotel stressed, relaxed, and left stressed.
Brenda C
January 30, 2012
Outstanding!
I was given a gift card from my fiance for Christmas after a long emotional December. I had my services today and will go again and again. I love the entire facility. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the entire place says RELAX! I loved the resting area with the beds. I recommend this place to all who live or visit Chicago. Just Fabulous.
November 27, 2011
Just...wow
An experience that was thorough to the point where you felt like a valued club member, pampered as if you were rich enough to do this everyday, LOL. Definitely would go back
Gosiam
June 23, 2011
Review
Very impressed with everything
SaraR
June 13, 2011
Elegant Spa with Excellent Service
Took a client here as a thank you. Was really impressed with the level of service and the quality of facilities. I will definitely be returning.
CrystalJ
March 28, 2011
One Of The Best Spa's Yet
Since i am searching for the best spa in America, I may have found it. I took the opportunity to visit during Wellness Week and brought a referral with me. Guess who is already booked for another treatment..........Yes me and two more referrals and maybe adding to that list making it a total of 6 referrals. Everything was perfect and i could not have asked for anything more, whew What a Spa
MichelleK
March 25, 2011
Amazing spa experience
I got the 90 minute aromatherapy massage at 50% off for wellness week. The entire experience was incredible- from the locker room facilities - steam room to the shower, the waiting room-- had a bed to rest in before, to the treatment-- best massage ever received. It was a relaxing and memorable experience. I highly suggest you try it!
SharonM
March 25, 2011
Best massage/spa experience to date
I just had the 90 minute aromatherapy massage today at the Peninsula Chicago through the Wellness Week promotion. It was AMAZING! I love the beds in the relaxation room. And Pam, the woman who gave me my massage, was awesome. She did a great job getting out the kinks in my tight muscles around my neck, shoulders and back.
JoanO
October 30, 2010
5 Star Luxury
5 star luxury in Chicago. We felt as though we were on vacation out of town but it is a bit of heaven in the city. The best massage I've every had and I LOVE the deck to lay outside of the indoor pool. The staff treated us like royalty. I will definitely be back!
Neil K
September 27, 2010
Great Facial
I really enjoyed the Instant Brightener Facial, my girl was very knowledgeable and gave me some great skin care tips.
MaureenP
June 4, 2010
I feel like a movie star
The Pennisula spa is one of the best hotel spas I have ever been to, As soon as you walk in, you are treated as a special guest. I had a massage and afterwards enjoyed the comfy relaxation room. I live in Chicago and we were there for a "staycation" and I would go again!
Load 5 More Reviews +

Facilities & Amenities

Facilities & Amenities

The 15,000-square-foot spa complex includes a fitness center sporting Power Plate, Cybex, and FreeMotion equipment. Yoga devotees have a selection of 16 complimentary classes per week. The Spa offers 16 additional classes in Peyow Pilates, strength training, and aqua exercise, as well as personal training sessions. The indoor 25-meter lap pool is split among three lanes (one reserved for children), and guests can spend time in the Jacuzzi, or on the rooftop sundeck. A major draw for families traveling together include the hotel's Pen Academy Programs for kids, with organized activities like scavenger hunts and pastry lessons; family friendly specials, including the American Girl and Pen Kids Packages, are also available.

The Windy City is rich with culture and entertainment. Guests of The Peninsula Chicago are within steps from the designer shops, fine dining venues, and well-known destinations like Wrigley Building and John Hancock Center that line the Magnificent Mile, and landmark destinations like the Chicago Opera Theater, the Chicago Cultural Center, and Navy Pier, with its famous 150-foot tall Ferris Wheel, are within close proximity. A wealth of museums is available to explore, including the Adler Planetarium & Astronomy Museum, the Field Museum of Natural History, and the Shedd Aquarium, surrounded by a 10-acre lakefront park. Lincoln Park, offering 1,200 acres of sports facilities, a golf course, lakes, beaches, a conservatory, and zoo, attractions more than 20 million people annually.

Facilities

Steam Room

Showers

Changing/Locker Rooms

Retail Shop

Jacuzzi

Toiletries Available

Amenities

Changing/Locker Rooms

Slippers Provided

Concierge

Robes Provided

Retail Shop

Dry Cleaning

Rooms & Dining

Rooms & Dining

The hotel's 339 well-appointed guest rooms come styled in warm color palettes that promote a comforting, elegant feel, while high-tech accessories add a touch of modernism. Marble bathrooms come outfitted with soaking tubs and imbedded TVs, and rooms are equipped with iPod docking stations and memory card readers, DVD players, and complimentary wireless and broadband Internet access. Guest rooms have 42-inch plasma-screen TVs, while suites include 50-inch plasma TVs. The Peninsula Suite, the most lavish of the hotel's accommodations, offers signature amenities such as a grand piano, wraparound terrace, and outdoor Jacuzzi.

The four-star Avenues restaurant serves contemporary American cuisine with an emphasis on seasonal flavorings, and diners can reserve a seat at the chef's bar. The Lobby, open all day, is known for its afternoon tea services and Sunday brunch. Guests can sample Shanghainese and Cantonese fare at Shanghai Terrace; the restaurant's patio invites guests to sip cocktails alfresco. Pierrot Gourmet features light dishes—sandwiches, salads, pastries, and sumptuous desserts are showcased on its menu—in a European café-type setting. Nutritious options include the Naturally Peninsula menu, available in The Lobby and The Peninsula Spa, as well as through room service. Vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free diets can be accommodated.

Food Options

Organic

Serves Alcohol

Vegetarian

Portion Control

Vegan