Shimmer Salon and Spa

Shimmer Salon and Spa

Address & Info
500 Main Street,
East Greenwich, RI 02818
United States
Get Directions
Contact Us

(401) 336-3700

http://www.shimmers...
Hours of Operation
Mon: 11:30am  -  6pm Tues: 10am  -  8pm Wed: 10am  -  8pm Thu: 10am  -  8pm Fri: 10am  -  6pm Sat: 10am  -  6pm Sun: 11am  -  4:30pm
Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
The most relaxing gift card in the world.
Give a Spafinder gift card to use at Shimmer Salon and Spa
Buy Gift Card

Customer Reviews for Shimmer Salon and Spa (68)

EulaliaM
May 16, 2014
Thanks!
Great massage and good value. A good place to get your relaxation for a great price. Never have to wait long to get in there like other places. Thanks!
HollisB
May 14, 2014
This is a great salon
This is a great salon and the staff has such a lovely chemistry. Getting your hair styled at Shimmer Salon & Day Spa is an experience well worth the money spent. My stylist was the best in the area, nice personality, gives great cuts and specializes in repairing and maintaining healthy hair of all types!
YiS
May 5, 2014
I enjoyed this massage
I enjoyed this massage in Rhode Islands. They did a Neck and upper back massage for 30 minutes and 30 minutes on the feet. The massage gets knots out so be prepared for that. The best part was the Swedish massage before the reflexology. The Swedish massage was very relaxing and tingly.
GeraldineB
April 30, 2014
Highly recommended
Great experience at Shimmer Salon & Day Spa, I really love my hair style and color. Something new! Thank you Shimmer Salon & Day Spa. You guys are the best. Very professional in your job. Excellent. Highly recommended.
NicolasF
April 8, 2014
Thank you!
I had Shimmer Salon & Day Spa do my hair and makeup for my wedding back in Jan. They did such a great job and made me feel like such a beautiful bride. The makeup was flawless and perfect for my wedding and they did an amazing job with my hair as well. I would recommend them and their team to all my friends. Thank you!
IsrealA
March 28, 2014
I give this place a great rating!!!
I have been coming here since 2012! I love the owner and the staff is always happy to see me and greet with smile! Try the hot stone massage on your legs its amazing! Always reasonably priced, I give this place a great rating!!!
DeandreaO
March 25, 2014
The place was relaxing!
This was my first professional massage experience and I must say, WOW! The experience was fantastic. They did neck & upper massage. The place was relaxing. Thanks Shimmer Salon & Day Spa!
AldaP
March 19, 2014
Great!
Just wanted to say a big thank you to you for the make up for my wedding! Turned out better than I could ever have hoped for or managed myself. Thanks Shimmer Salon & Day Spa!
IrmgardN
March 16, 2014
The atmosphere is calming and quiet!
Pedicures and massages are what I spend my money on here and I am never disappointed. The staff is professional and friendly. The atmosphere is calming and quiet. I love it here!
violet w
March 15, 2014
Worst Spa Experience of my life !!!!!
Worst spa experience of my life. Threw spa party and it was a disaster. Staff were unprepared, unprofessional and unskilled. Services were awful and overpriced. An hour long facial or massage really were 30-45 minutes. The "spa" mani pedis were sloppy and painful.
RebaC
February 25, 2014
It will look nice!
I dropped in last week for a haircut at Shimmer Salon & Day Spa. They were amazing and really took them time on me before they started cutting. They cut all my layers even and my hair looks fuller now. It is shorter but at least it is all the same length and it will look nice once it starts growing in.
HollisD
February 12, 2014
Wow, what a beautiful and tranquil place
Wow, what a beautiful and tranquil place!! I don't want to leave and face the real world outside after being in this spa. I have been here a few times and the massage and facials were awesome. Very relaxing and thorough. Try this place.....you will love it!
LucindaS
February 10, 2014
I've had massages from them!
I've been going to Shimmer Salon and Day Spa for some time now. I've had massages from them and they are some of the best in deep tissue massage. I've gone to many other places in town overtime and so far they are the best.
TawnyG
February 7, 2014
They give me a perfect cut
I have been going to Shimmer Salon & Day Spa from past one year. I still drive down to have them cut my hair. My hair is difficult to cut and they take the time to give me a perfect cut. I love my new haircut and highlights! They did a great job. They listened to what I wanted and executed it better than I imagined. I have been getting compliments from everyone. I will be going back for sure.
DelorasR
February 4, 2014
They were very sweet and patient
It was beautiful and fun to see my daughter with her little friends feeling like a top model super star! The staff was amazing and they were very sweet and patient with my daughter and her friends. There are many details to describe here but I'm sure who ever plans a spa party at Shimmer Salon & Day Spa will not regret.
JeanelleP
January 13, 2014
I am feeling looking and beautiful
They done are my go to place for facials and waxing. They make the tedious pleasing and relaxing. Their expert hands and soothing voices always leave me looking and feeling beautiful. Their imported wax is the only one I can use on my face- lest I break out. The product selection is excellent. The facilities are tasteful and impeccable.
FannieS
January 9, 2014
Their expert hands
They done are my go to place for facials and waxing. They make the tedious pleasing and relaxing. Their expert hands and soothing voices always leave me looking and feeling beautiful. Their imported wax is the only one I can use on my face- lest I break out. The product selection is excellent. The facilities are tasteful and impeccable.
BabetteZ
January 5, 2014
I receive an amazing facial
I booked a European facial at Shimmer Salon & Day Spa and not only did I receive an amazing facial, the most relaxing 60 minutes I have ever experienced! I also appreciated my very knowledgeable technician recommending the Image products that are used during their facials. Thanks to all the great staff at Shimmer Salon for making my experience so wonderful, this place is one-of-a-kind!
WinifredB
December 31, 2013
I have experienced!
They do the best facials...pretty much ever! I have been too many spas over the years for facials, and can honestly say they were the best I have experienced! They were professional, outgoing, and knowledgeable about what services I should ask for and leading me in the right direction for ongoing skin care. The Spa itself is relaxing, well decorated, and clean. I have my next appointment set, and can hardly wait!
CreolaD
December 18, 2013
I feel very comfortable and relaxed
I was very pleased with the services I received today. I had a massage with them and a facial. Both made me feel very comfortable and relaxed. I have had these treatments many times in the past. I look forward to coming to them in the future.
HershelM
December 3, 2013
It was FABULOUS!!!
I was treated to Shimmer Salon & Day Spa for my birthday this year. It was FABULOUS!!! The atmosphere is so soothing and relaxing. From the moment one walks in and the great smells engross you to the minute one leaves it is a wonderful experience.
EleaseV
November 18, 2013
They are the best
The Shimmer Salon has great hair stylists and the cost is very reasonable compared to some other salons that I have been to. Ask for Summer as they are the best!!
SharieK
November 6, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised
I always knew that I wanted something different for bridal make-up. A close friend suggested Shimmer Salon & Day Spa and I thought of taking a look at their bridal services. I sought an appointment with their beauty expert. They were extremely co-operative and suggested special facial and hair care services. I also took up a hair spa routine. After completion of these, I was pleasantly surprised with my glowing and refreshed look.
ThedaA
October 25, 2013
Highly recommended
I have great pleasure in recommending Shimmer Salon and spa to you, you will enjoy their treatments, the spa is great for has to offer as I have done, and will continue to do each and every time.
LynwoodK
October 17, 2013
Their service is excellent
I have LOVED coming to Shimmer Salon ever since my very first appointment! I love ALL of the GREAT gals that work there, too! Everyone is very sweet and friendly, but very professional at the same time. My stylish, ALWAYS does a GREAT job on my hair, and we always have a laugh together. The service is excellent, the products are terrific, and even though it is a VERY busy place, the atmosphere is very light and upbeat, and it is always kept very clean, in shimmer saloon!
DamonP
October 15, 2013
These guys are the BEST!
I go here for Hair - color, highlighting, cuts and Waxing. I love the Shimmer Salon location - super convenient. These guys are the BEST!
MargeneM
October 11, 2013
I had a great exprience
Very relaxing. Informative employees put you at ease from the start. Everything from the lighting to the robes is exactly what you want and expect in a spa.
AudreyD
October 2, 2013
I love this place
I absolutely love Shimmer Salon especially my hair dresser! Of course I am biased as they are my neighbors, but I must say that every time I go in to the shimmer salon, I am always treated like you have a wonderful staff. It is always a pleasure to be pampered!
NelleT
September 11, 2013
They worked with my needs
I have visited many spas in the country, as well as in other countries, and I have to say that this is one of the best! The staff was very friendly and professional. They worked with my needs to make sure I had a wonderful experience. I had a massage and I definitely plan on coming back to try the rest of the services.
FirsJuleeN
August 28, 2013
This salon is the best
My stylist, listened carefully when I described the haircut I wanted and the results were amazing. She cut my hair exactly as I described. I couldn't be more pleased. I have tried several salons over the years and this one is the best. I will be going back again and again while down here.
LizzetteP
August 26, 2013
Staff was very helpful
My wife and I go here regularly for a couples massage and they know what they are doing. Staff is attentive and the ambiance is well done.
JimmyB
August 13, 2013
Amazing spa!!!!
All the staff at Shimmer Salon and Day Spa is amazing! I have been going here for 2 years now, and won't go anywhere else. Their facilities are fantastic I have used all their services and never get disappointed.
JohnA
July 25, 2013
The BEST!
Received the most relaxing and energizing facial from Shimmer Salon and Spa for my birthday! Have used them for massage as well and just as awesome! Use them for many gift certificates for family and friends!! The BEST!
PinkieB
April 8, 2013
I found it very soothing and calm
I really like the interior space! I found it very soothing and calm. It has an excellent balance of minimalism and soft elements that take off the harsh modernist edge. Also, because it is so nicely tucked away from the street,Shimmer Salon and Day Spa really feels like an urban oasis. I will admit that my spa-love is easily bought. I am definitely coming back for a facial and a massage!
AngelM
March 22, 2013
Awesome
Awesome Hair Salon Very Good Hair Stylist Loved how she worked my hair and the color was fab. I have never had a hair stylist cut my hair dry but the difference in the shape and finished style looks amazing
JanN
February 8, 2013
Great Place to go
I have been going to Grace for a couple of years. She is the best with color and highlights and cuts... Her staff has always been very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable .They are very accomadating offering something to drink. I will not go anywhere else.
ElizabethD
January 29, 2013
Top Quality Salon & Spa! Best of Rhode Island
For my first visit at Shimmer I chose to have eyelash extensions as well as a color/ cut/ extensions with Corey. As soon as you walk in the door you are greeted by a welcoming staff, and asked to fill out a questionare so they can best serve you. Throughout my services I was constantly attended to and introduced to everyone I came into contact with, and offered beverages. The salon itself is beautiful and well kept. I was thrilled with my eyelash extensions which were done in a private and relaxing room. Corey was amazing and truly attended to all of my needs and my hair has never looked better. I am a spa enthusiast and have been to many throughout the state and must say this is by far one of the best. If you want quality services, a staff who truly cares about what you want, then absolutely come here. I cannot wait for my next service!
NanetteB
January 4, 2013
All day experience for grandmother and granddaughter
Our day started at 10:30 with the Day of Indulgence package, and we requested that we could be together as much as possible. We also both had additional services, which we were both very pleased with the results. The entire staff were very attentive and made us both feel very pampered. My 16 year old granddaughter got hair extensions and is very pleased with her new look. Overall it was a wonderful experience and memory for both of us!
janicew
October 18, 2012
An exceptional Salon and spa
I recently moved to the area and needed some relaxation. Shimmer Salon and Spa was by far the best spa I have visited in a long time .Not only did the team exceed my expectations ,I enjoyed the little touches like a glass of wine and fresh muffins. My pedicure was a full hour along with my facial all the creams and lotions smelled so good.I also enjoyed a swedish massage a full hour not 50 minutes like at some other places which was great. They also have a great set up for groups.I look forward to my next visit!
DianeC
October 9, 2012
relaxing pedi
It was a beautiful spa. I enjoyed how the room I got a pedicure in was private. The only problem I had was when i made my appointment, I asked for a manicure and pedicure. When I arrived for my appointment, I was told there was no one working that knew how to do acrylic nails.
Response from Shimmer Salon and Spa
As A Spa we do perform a lot of shellac and spa manicures and pedicures We only have a couple of techs who do artificial nails and one is on maternity leave at the moment . When booking it must be requested to make sure we have someone who specializes in artificial nails the timing is also different and many techs today do not perform acrylics as gel has become so popular.
gretad
October 8, 2012
I loved my party
My daughter has had two wonderful parties at Shimmer. I was told about the tip and it was on the brochure and I have become a customer of the salon and spa. Grace told me about the situation with the other birthday mom and I have to say it is completely untrue. I was informed and I would have tipped anyway. No one has to tell me to take care of people who provide excellent service. The team works so hard. Not only did they do all the services great hair flavored manicures, pedicures, facials, and makeup, they also serve and prep and clean up way more than a waitress does! It is so easy to bash someone on the internet these days.
susanb
October 8, 2012
Great for bridal parties!
We hosted a very large group - 14 people. First our group visited and enjoyed everything from hot stone massages to facials to spa pedicures and shellac manicures. We had a private room and the salon provided cheese, crackers, fruit and champagne. The wedding day went smoothly. We all had hair and airbrush makeup. Everyone looked gorgeous! I will come back with my husband for a couples massage soon.
DianeC
October 7, 2012
so relaxing
Went in for a pedicure. It was so relaxing. I loved how i was in a private room.
LetitiaN
October 6, 2012
Excellent Day of Indulgence
My Goddaughter and I had such a great day at the spa. We left feeling very relaxed and very pleased with the service we received. The staff was very pleasant and caring. We look forward to our next visit.
ShealynG
September 29, 2012
Dishonest Owners
I wish I could give this salon a 0. I had my daughter's birthday party there today. When I scheduled the party, I got a run around with being put on hold, waiting for Grace, the owner, to call back, etc. When she finally called from her cell phone, I asked her the price for the Glamour Kid's Party Package. She told me it was $275 and included hair, nails, and makeup as well as a fruit punch fountain. I asked her if that price included everything and she said, "Yes." She promised to call me when she got into the salon to give me available dates. I ended up having to call her back again because she never called me. At that time, I gave her a $75 deposit. She told me my balance was $200. When I went to the party today, they started late because they were "waiting for one of the stylists." One of my daughter's friends never got her make up done, and things were not very organized. One of the stylists poked my daughter's friend in the eye with the eyeshadow brush. My daughter's nail polish was peeling off on the way home. There was a teeny tiny drink fountain that held 8 cups of watered down fruit punch. The best part was when I went to pay, I waited at the front desk for about 10 minutes for someone to take my money.
Response from Shimmer Salon and Spa
ShealynG did not want to tip the staff that worked very hard.... not only setting up the room, serving and cleaning up but also providing amazing hairstyles makeup and nails as well I am astounded that someone would go to this extremeto lie and slander me like this. We had 5 stylists on this party all on time . The hairstyles were gorgeous they looked like Taylor Swift. Our fruit punch fountain holds 16 cups and we use crystal light made according to the directions. I never quoted her balance as she states as I did not have a final count. Our website, our brochures and our party form all state we add a 20% Gratuity .SHE DID NOT WANT TO TIP , Our parties are exquisite we take great pride in them we have a 5600 square foot facility I have invested over $250.000 to have a place for spa parties for all ages The adults get wine and cheese. This is an upscale salon and spa I have even tipped at chuckie cheeses and the Ymca in the past for my kids parties no one had to tell me to take care of people who provide great service! I also do not keep the tips they are for my great team who earned it. Thank You
dinao
September 1, 2012
Great Spa
Beautiful spa I enjoyed a couples massage and couples pedicure with my spouse. My husband loved the pedi set up semi private rooms . and the couple massage treatment was awesome
brendab
July 21, 2012
Really great treatments
I purchased the spa finder deal they are offering and it was rejuvenating .I had a wonderful beautiful large salon and spa . The facial with Leeanne was amazing a s well as terrific manicure pedicure with Tanya and a swedish massage that was awesome . I also enjoyed wine and spring water . All in all I found the staff very pleasant from the receptionist all the way to my Stylist Joeseph who washed and styled my hair at the end . I will be back soon with friends . The set up is great for sharing with many semi private areas for groups and couples.
scottp
June 13, 2012
Loved shimmer salon
Had such a great time from the time I walked in to the time I walked out, The team made me feel as if I was one of them. Great person. Had a mani pedi from tonya and loved it, also had a facial eith lyann that was one of the best facial i have ever had.. I recently went back for a hair cut and color from bri and truly loved her and what she did with my hair. Im so happy with the services Ive had. And would gladly go back.
carolc
June 12, 2012
Fabulous Spa & Salon
Shimmers is an outstanding spa and hair salon - I have been a customer for over 20 years with the owner - she now has this outstanding salon which offers great services in a friendly atmosphere - making me feel special at each visit. Each service provided is done with professionalism, listen to my particular requests and makes me very pleased with the service provided. I would highly recommend this salon to all.
Genag
June 11, 2012
bad appointement setting
I recently needed an appt on Sun. I booked it on line and of course received a call stating they were doing a show all day and would like me to call on Mon. Booked again on Mon and someone called me back. Asked when I wanted the appointment for ( should have known since I did it online already?) I advised 6:30 pm asked if I can come in tomorrow i said no. She kept realying what I was saying to someone in backround. She said ok we will see you at 6:30. I got a call 15 minutes later stating if i can do it during the week as whoever was doing my hair would not be back in time as they were doing a party? yeah they need to close on Sun and Monday if they are not able to accomodate. I have read the other reviews before calling and I figured I would give it a chance. Wow i didnt even make it there and had a bad experience just with the appointment setting.
Response from Shimmer Salon and Spa
I think there is some confusion here. IT IS AN ONLINE REQUEST SYSTEM. If we have the time we try to accommodate but our hours on Sunday and Monday are 12-5pm by appointment only and large parties often book up as we do a lot of weddings and ect..It clearly states on our website. We will call back with available times.. THE GIRL CALLED BACK AND ASKED TO MOVE HER 6:30PM APPOINTMENT TO7PM AND THE STYLIST COULD NOT STAY THAT LATE. She's requesting time out of our business hours. We gladly take late appointments Tues-Thursday. Please check our website for normal business hours.
mary n
April 28, 2012
Gorgeous atmoshere and great services
Recently I visited Shimmer salon and Spa . I enjoyed a wonderful massage by theresa, She is truly talented I had pain in my lower back . after several visits to the chiropractor she was the only one whowas able to make me feel better!I love the salon the attention to detail and the client is great . I was offered spring water tea or wine . I also received a pedicure which was outstanding by Kate. I plan on returning again soon with my husband for a couples massage.
ajl
April 28, 2012
great spa in a cute town
I recently visited Shimmer salon and day spa, Gorgeous spa and beautiful location .After my wonderful massage with Theresa and an excellent pedicure with Kate I walked around town and had a great dinner at Caprice
js
April 25, 2012
romantic couples massage
Beautiful salon and spa talented technicians I really enjoyed. the pedicures in the semi private morrocan pedicure area Try the lava shell massage my husband and I loved it.
JeanneG
April 20, 2012
Very Poor experience
I was very disappointed in my massage. The therapist was not professional and appeared to be doing her work step by step rather than providing a smooth relaxing continuous treatment. I was not given water after the massage nor was I encouraged to take in plenty of fluid which is important. While the decor may be lovely, there is not sufficient attention given to customer service. The massage was pricey and I would have expected a more spa-like experience rather than what I received which was very impersonal.
Response from Shimmer Salon and Spa
I am sorry to hear your experience was not up to par . If there is ever a problem, Please Contact us and give us the opportunity to fix things ,we will make every effort to resolve every situation . We have invested over 250.000 dollars because we want to provide a wonderful experience and atmosphere for every client,and it is truly our passion We have wine, spring water, fresh herbal tea and at our coffee bar coffee which is usually offered to everyone. All of our therapists have at least 5 years experience and are always participating in more education. Our protocol is that before a massage is started a form is filled out and thorough consultations performed. This provides the therapist the information to treat specific areas . Customer service is our number one priority .We have many clients who return frequently and enjoy the salon spa and staff and our goal is for everyone to look forward to visiting our salon and spa again and again. Also on a side note after interviewing everyone who provided services to this person it turns our she was using a discounted gift certificate bought by her niece a massage therapist we had fired from the salon for misconduct.
KerryD
March 3, 2012
Most Professional Best Ever Salon
I had a wonderful experience at this salon; staff is friendly and knowledgeable, they really know hair! Best color and cut ever, with excellent products. My coarse hair feels smooth and silky. A professional environment with little perks like head massage with shampoo, coffee or tea offered - makes you feel really special and relaxed. I brought my mother for a massage and haircut; she came out looking radiant.
DonnaN
December 21, 2011
Wonderful Place!
I have been seeing Grace regularly for many years (in fact, I am SO pleased with her that I stayed with her when she moved from Warwick to East Greenwich, which is a significantly longer drive for me) and I have NEVER had a bad experience! The VERY FEW times I wasn't entirely pleased with the result, she would IMMEDIATELY do all she could to fix it and EVERY TIME, I walk away happy. I always get compliments on my hair. She is always accommodating and professional. I would recommend and do recommend Grace and Shimmer salon to everyone. It has a beautiful atmosphere, very friendly staff and delivers a quality product!
lauras
December 19, 2011
Day of pure indulgance
I visited the salon with 2 friends We spent about 4 plus hours there ............ I have to say it was awesome Jennifer did an amazing massage Leeanne performed a facial that was above and beyond any other one I have ever had with massage and great extractions My mani /pedicure was very indepth and pristine as it is the holidays I got a sparkley santa and white french gel polish I think they call it glam nails, I found the staff to be proffesoinal and the owners very nice The atmoshere is gorgeous the place is very big and nicley decorated I recoomend it!
JeanW
December 7, 2011
No honor or integrity
My second visit to this salon was a disaster. The cut was fine but the coloring was uneven and styling was horrible. I have fine hair and Grace does not know how to style fine hair. She kept saying "I am sorry. I do not have the proper "tools" they are in the trunk of my car". She offered to do a free styling and to try to amend the disastrous coloring and styling - I agreed. I called a week later to make the appointment for a free styling but she was not in the salon so I left a message for a return call. Did not receive one from her. To her benefit I waited another week and called again - she, to this day, has not attempted to return my call. The point is she offered a free service and, in my mind, has reneged. This is not a way to keep customers.
Response from Shimmer Salon and Spa
Unfortunatley I did not have the larger barrel curling iron I use on this client as I had done a charity fashion show and the iron was not unpacked yet. I realized this after cutting and foiling this client.I apologized and gave her a free haircut because of my mistake ,I also offered a free blowout but she called the day before thanksgiving and on a busy sat wanting to be fit in and I was unable to.I called her the following workday and got her in immediatley.and she was very happy.Her color is beautiful and I have fine hair and am great with fine hair in fact I doall the on air talent for channel 1o nbc and many girls from channel 6.
Katherineh
November 19, 2011
Did not get the services we were supposed to
Went to the spa yesterday and had a pretty terrible experience. My friend and I each were supposed to get an hour facial, hour pedicure, half hour massage and manicure. The staff was nice and the massage was great, but we did not get the facial or pedicure we paid for. Our facials were only half an hour and my pedicure was 12minutes. Dispite the short services we were there for four hours but spend a significant amount of time waiting around. When we went to pay the owner could not remember if she charged us and my friend had to call her credit card company to verify. Then when we were trying to tell her about some of the problems that had occurred that day she accused us of lying and was very rude. I would not recommend this place.
Response from Shimmer Salon and Spa
Hi the package the girl purchased was for $99.00 It included 2 30 minute facials 2 manicures 2pedicures and 2 massages. The facial was what she paid for. All the services were what she paid for. We fit them in the day before because it was the girls birthday. It was explained to the girls they would not be able to sit together during the pedi.s because that was the only way we could fit them in. One of the girls stopped her pedicure half way and waited for her friend to sit with her so the last part may have seemed shorter. The staff tried as best we could. As I said it was explained when the services were booked we did not have side by side pedi appointments because we tried to make it work for them to sit together for the pedi She waited a few minutes. When I tried to explain this I was sworn at.
JeanW
September 29, 2011
Good Experience!
I recently had the pleasure of meeting Grace, the owner, who is outgoing and friendly. I have to say I was nervous about letting a new stylist colour and cut my hair but Grace did a great job colouring, cutting and styling my hair. She is good at listening to the client's desires and concerns. Joseph shampooed my hair and it was an absolutely wonderful experience believe it or not. Joseph is very talented in making a client actually enjoy a shampoo and head massage. Friendly staff who seems to try very hard to please all clients who come through the door. All in all, a good experience with all fears and doubts erased. Jean Wolfe
Tiffany
September 20, 2011
bad business ethics
At first they seem to be a very pleasant and professional salon but watch out they are over priced the work is sloppy and they will rip you off any chance they get. The owner does not stand behind her warranties or her work Buyer beware they are not what they try to appear to be. Very unprofessional and dishonest. I would not have given them any stars.
Response from Shimmer Salon and Spa
This person is the dishonest one I had to call the police and they said they were going to arrest her if she did not bring the money to the station that day. She had hair extensions, after a month of wild stories. This person bounced a check signed in Her ex husbands name as an MD for over 1000$ IT bounced and then she said it was redeposited during the hurricane and I gave her money to buy a new dog when she said her dog died. Her hair was done perfectly she kept sending me threatening texts I stand behind my work and my ethics Stylists run don't walk from this person She is the dishonest one!
CaitlinC
September 5, 2011
Brazilian Blowout
I used an old spafinder giftcard to get a Brazilian blowout at Shimmer in EG, RI. While the service was an expensive indulgence I am not certain I would repeat--I was very pleased with the service I received at Shimmer. They were very accomodating, and I didn't have any problems with booking. I called on a whim when I had an unexpected day off to see if I could push up my appointment 2 weeks and they found a way to squeeze me in (for a long service mind you!). The blowout took about 2 hours and my hair was perfectly silky and shiny after. It did not last as I would have liked but it has been over a month now and my hair is definitely still smoother and flatter. It only stayed perfectly straight for a few days but overall it is definitely worth it. What was previously a 20min flat iron now takes under 5. The environment at shimmer was professional, clean, and pleasant. Given that a blowout has some chemicals in it, I particularly appreciated the high ceilings and ventilation in the very large facility. One of the owners and another stylist worked on my treatment and I found both of them to be great. I was skeptical about trying Shimmer after using another stylist my whole life but I was very impressed!
brianp
June 4, 2011
Waste of money
Purchased a discount gift certificate online..."value" $120...well went I went to spend my $120 dollars it turns out the only thing its good on is one haircut??? Which they value at $120... Horrible scam that in the end cost me $300 as I unfortunately bought two and my girlfriend and I got massages. Terrible waste of money and attempt to win new customers.
Response from Shimmer Salon and Spa
I am sorry you did not read the front of your gift certificate that you paid 25 dollars for. It clearly states it is for a package that includes A shampoo keratin deepcondioning treatment or color glaze and a scalp treatment . if you added those together it would cost around 120.00 We donated 100 of these and recieved no money for them I am sorry we could not trade it for 2- 90 minutes massages which you paid 210.00for not 300.00 also it was clearly stated at the checkout point when they were paid for.I donated the 2 you left to a womens shelter on your behalf Thank you
LINDAP
May 2, 2011
I have finally found my oasis!!!
I visited Shimmer in East Greenwich for the first time. I had been going to a spa in Newport, which was ok, but not great. The staff was very attentive and the aura of Shimmer was very relaxing. I was introduced to Lyan. She eased me though a brazillian wax then gave me the most wonderful facial. I will definately be returning to Shimmer. I have finally found my OASIS!! (And it's so close to home) I highly recommend Shimmer Spa, and Lyan!! Linda Pepin
DianaM
April 25, 2011
Love my hair!
I am so happy with the foil I got at Shimmer! It has been a long time since I have been this happy with the way my hair came out!
April 12, 2011
Despite the name, this spa works for men
I am a male East Greenwich native. Though it is uncharacteristic of a male, I certainly enjoy a good spa treatment here and there, I feel it's the best way to end a rough week in the office. I used to go to Salon Aurora and kept going back because it was convenient for me. When they left and Shimmer came in, I had to see if they were up to par with their predecessor. I was very pleased to find out that the salon was certainly up to par, very visually pleasing, and the staff was all very friendly. Needless to say, it is always a little nerve-racking as a male to walk into a female dominated salon but everyone made me feel very comfortable and welcome. I ended up going with the sports massage. My massage therapist's name was Anthony. He was extremely well versed in his trade and gave me, hands down, the best massage I've ever received in my life. I plan to come back for more massages in the future and also to start getting my hair cut at this salon. I'll leave another review when I come back for my hair.
LyanT
April 5, 2011
Yonka Facial
What a WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!!! I loved my facial because my face never felt sooooo soft and smoothe. The YONKA products smelled so beautiful and I left feeling rejuvenated. Tina Wright
VS
March 6, 2011
Not a spa experience...
Shimmer Salon and Day Spa could hardly be classified as a spa. It was you typical hair salon of East Greenwich. I wasn't even greeted when I approached the receptionist or directed on where to wait. While waiting 28 min. for a 1hr massage, I was turned off by the lack of cleanliness (dust and durt on floors and rug). My masseur finally arrived and led me to the massage area that was lacking all the ambience of your typical spa ( private waiting area, music, lighting). Definitely not a spa experience to brag about.
Response from Shimmer Salon and Spa
Hi ,As the owner of Shimmer and the Exclusive salon and Day spa of the abc/6 newsteam I am sorry the salon was not up to par. We've had a tough time keeping up with salt that an overzealous parking lot plow man has been spreading. Rest assured the floors are clean and we had had them refinished now that snow season is over Our receptionists are very friendly our salon is 5600 square feet with a Huge beautiful waiting area , 7 treatment rooms couples massage ,wine and beverages A morrocan pedicure area that seats up to 7Friends with mosaic tile and tumbled marble Custom lighting and music . Most clients say our place is gorgeous. and our staff truly talented and caring. If you ever have any problem please let me know and I will always Resolve It Thank you
Load 5 More Reviews +