FREE GROUND SHIPPING For All Gift Card Orders! Shop Now
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
  • Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

About Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Safety Harbor Resort and Spa borders 22 acres of shoreline along Tampa Bay, sitting atop five natural springs in an area that has been prized for its restorative properties since the Caloosa and Timucuan Indians made their home here. With the healing powers of the mineral waters—Hernando de Soto thought he'd discovered the fabled Fountain of Youth upon arrival—which is used in its spa services, drinking water, and swimming pools, coupled with the spa's extensive beauty and wellness services, Safety Harbor is committed to rejuvenating the mind, body, and spirit.

The sprawling complex of beige stucco buildings with Spanish-tile roofs includes 50,000 square feet dedicated to spa and fitness facilities, offering mineral baths, aromatherapy massage, caviar facials, body-composition tests, and fitness and nutrition consultations. Business meetings and events can be accommodated in the 30,000-square-foot conference center.

Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
105 North Bayshore Drive, Safety Harbor, FL 34695 United States
Get Directions
Contact Info
Contact Us
888-237-8772
www.safetyharborres...
Buy a Gift Card
Use it at Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
Buy Gift Card
Hours of Operation
Monday: 8am  -  8pm Tuesday: 8am  -  8pm Wednesday: 8am  -  8pm Thursday: 8am  -  8pm Friday: 8am  -  8pm Saturday: 8am  -  7pm Sunday: 8am  -  7pm

Menu of Services

BODY SCRUBS
Salt Scrub
Load All 1 Body Scrubs +
BODY WRAPS
Algae/Seaweed
Aromatherapy Body Wrap
Herbal Wrap
Mud
Load All 4 Body Wraps +
COMPLIMENTARY AND ALTERNATIVE
Hydrotherapy
Load All 1 Complimentary and Alternative +
FACIALS
Acne/Deep Cleansing
Anti-aging
Back Facial
Glycolic Acid
Men's
Sensitive/Calming
Load All 6 Facials +
FACILITIES & AMENITIES
Cold Plunge Pool
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Locker Room
Meeting Facilities
Retail Store
Robes Provided
Sauna
Showers
Slippers Provided
Steam Room
Swimming Pool
Toiletries Available
Wedding/Event Space
Whirlpool, Jacuzzi
Load All 15 Facilities & Amenities +
FITNESS & ACTIVITIES
Aerobics
Dancing
Personal Training
Pilates with Reformer
Qigong
Spinning
Tennis
Load All 7 Fitness & Activities +
HAIR/NAIL SERVICES
Hair Coloring
Hair Styling and Care
Makeup Instruction/Application
Manicures
Pedicures
Sunless Tanning
Waxing
Load All 7 Hair/Nail Services +
MASSAGES
Aromatherapy
Couples
Deep Tissue
Hand/Foot
Hot Stone
Prenatal/Postnatal
Reflexology
Scalp
Sports
Swedish
Load All 10 Massages +
PREVENTIVE
Nutrition Consultation or Therapy
Load All 1 Preventive +
WATER TREATMENTS
Hydrotherapy
Load All 1 Water Treatments +

Customer Reviews for Safety Harbor Resort and Spa (22)

blab
December 31, 2012
Awful experience....
It began with the check in... They didn't have our promised room... Gave us room with awful tennis court view and no bay view as requested. Then offered a better view (poolside for more money)... After arguing with the supervisor he gave me a room with a bay view on the first floor that smelled like cigarettes. When told that I'm not staying in the smoking room he told me that there is nothing else available. At the end he gave me yet another room on the 1st floor that I wasn't happy with either but decided to stay since I was there for my babymoon. At the spa I wanted to schedule bunch of services and spa staff was completely clueless and not accommodating. They were not knowledgeable about their services and couldn't tell me whether certain services are safe for a 6 month pregnant lady... At the end it took her over 45 minutes to schedule an appointment for 1 service and when I wanted to add more to it she proceeded to tell me that there is nothing available.... Indoor pool is awful, overall would not recommend it at all to anyone....
November 6, 2012
Wonderful Relaxing Time
We were originally booked for 4 days to attend a wedding; then Hurricane Sandy hit. The staff was very accommodating in extending our trip for the same price as the "wedding" price. I booked an 80 minute massage which was wonderful. There was construction going on outside which did not interfere in our enjoyment of the facility. The facilities were clean, staff friendly and our trip enjoyable. We had a poolside room rather than a bayside and I would do this again next time I visit due to the location of the rooms being near the spa and lobby. If you plan to buy anything in the spa and you will be there on a Saturday, buy it then as it is 10% off...
LyndaC
October 8, 2012
ok service
I went here last weekend. I loved the fitness facilities and the rooms and view was great. The spa was OK. Some of the prices are kind of high and the customer service was alright,they were not very friendly.
LaurenD
September 14, 2012
great way to spend a day
I spent the day working out, then had three services, then spent some time in the jacuzzi, sauna, and pools. It was awesome! The service was awesome and prices were reasonable.
MarcieM
April 27, 2012
Favorite getaway
This is my favorite place to getaway for the entire day. I go to relax with girlfriends at least 2x a year. I start with their wonderful fitness classes, enjoy the sauna/steam rooms, have a relaxing lunch in my robe, and end the day with an amazing massage or herbal wrap. They were even helpful when I was nursing and needed a private room to pump while I was there! If you decide to stay overnight there rooms are beautiful as well. The Valentines package was well worth it!
minnep
April 24, 2012
Wedding venu...
Where to start... no rooms for parents, even though booked months ago... lost clothing... service was sporadic an. never let the chef there bake the wedding cake, no one could eat it...he needs be fired! Wedding reception meal and chef were excellent. The place is falling apart, looks old and smells musty everywhere..good luck
AshleyJ
March 1, 2012
Terrible Customer Service, Overpriced
I took my friend here as a celebration gift, but also to have her hair and make-up done for a special evening. The lady doing her hair was clearly in over her head. She stopped mid-way and said that she would have to charge much more money to finish it. She under-estimated the time she would need, so in the middle, my friend had to run and have her make-up quickly, (not relaxingly) done. The make-up job was adequate. In the end, her hair was beautiful, but not done properly. It did not set at all, and was flat in no time. Yes, I live in this humidity, too. A bit of steaming in the prep process and a sufficient amount of holding products works just fine... when used. (Her hair would have looked much better an hour later if I had just let her do it herself.... which I deeply regret.) The manager did nothing to help. After my complaint about raising the price in the middle of the service, they brought me the bill, and expected me to pay immediately. I did, and included the tip. Also regretted that, because I later realized they had tacked that on, too. Unfortunately, due to the trouble, I had been overly generous, and the terrible experience netted the workers a 40% tip. That was my 6th time at this spa... and my last.
TerryH
December 29, 2011
Greatly Disappointed
Based upon reviews, we booked our room and spa treatments at Safety Harbor. The view and room was very nice but he spa service was very disappointing. The robes were rough and course. While receiving our herbal wraps, the noise above our room was unsettling and loud. Many of the clients walked around aimlessly looking for directions to their scheduled services. There are no razors, lotions, combs or any other amenities that seem to be standard items at other spas. The entire spa experience was anything BUT relaxing. For anyone who is looking for serenity, helpfulness or a professional spa experience, I would highly suggest that you select another facility.Be warned, some services are in a group setting. One of the women who shared the room during our wrap, snored through the entire treatment. Would like to thank Nancy, the spa's representative who listened to our concerns and acknowledged our disappointment.
DanielleO
September 12, 2011
Disappointed
I had high hopes with this spa as it is touted as one of the best in the area, with higher prices than some more local, smaller salons. I had booked couples pedis for my best friend, who was visiting from across the country and myself. the morning of the appointments, one of the techs called out and so we had to do the pedis seperately. We then booked a massage for me and a facial for her. The whole spa was freezing, especially the waiting rooms. There was alot of "upgrades" being done to the locker rooms, etc, but overall the spa was dingy and boring. The massage person came early and asked if I wanted to go early, I said yes but needed my nails to dry, she placed me facedown on the table and screwed up a $50 pedi. My friend said her facilal was ok, not great, the massage was ok, not great and everyone kept trying to sell us random stuff...the whole time! The nice nail tech did offer to fix my messed up toes for free and that was nice. Then at check out, we were told that there was an 18% gratuity with only 12% to the practioner! That was a big surprise as the person checking us in did not explain any of that to us. Overall, at the end, we just wanted to get out of there!
June 6, 2011
Loved it!
The mineral hot tub and pool are a must to visit. This is included along with the fitness facilities. Wish we had more time to spend there. Next time I'd like to stay over. Everyone was very helpful and the massage was excellant.
MartaC
January 8, 2011
An okay weekend
The service at the front desk and restaurant was excellent and the food delicious. My massage with David was one of the best I've ever had. My facial was okay but the woman would not shut her mouth....not very relaxing. My one complaint is that certain areas of the spa and resort are a bit dingy and could use some updating.
December 27, 2010
Where is the Customer Service?????
My boyfriend and I visited the spa after reading the mixed reviews. We wanted to get a gift certificate for his Mom for the holidays. At the spa, I asked a woman behind a desk if we could get a tour of the spa. I explained we had read the mixed reviews and our concern. She told us to go to the other desk upfront because they werent busy and they could help us. WHAT? So we went to the young lady at the other desk, went through the same explaination and she told us to see the lady that I had just seen. I then told her that the other woman had told us to see her because she said she wasnt busy. They both kind of looked at each other with "what do we do with them now" look. Needless to say, my boyfriend and I turned and walked out. If they don't have enough customer service skills to run a spa, then I can't imagine what the treatments are like. I will never go back or recommend this place to anyone.
LaurieS
December 21, 2010
Amazing Escape
I was given a gift card for the Safety Harbor Resort & Spa from my husband. It was the best gift I have ever received. First, I was greeted as if I were ROYALTY. Next, I was swept away for my services. Throughout the day, I enjoyed total relaxation and was completely comfortable walking about the Spa and discovering all of the beauty that this property offered. For the day I escaped to a place that felt hundreds of miles away from everything. Thank you so much to the staff and thank you to the Owner of this Spa! It's AMAZING!
justinaa
November 12, 2010
sun, spa and good food- great getaway
I love this place.. its great for a relaxing weekend by yourself, with the girls or a romantic getaway!! a must go..
SPA
September 22, 2010
Safety Harbor Spa
My daughter and I flew here for a weekend and had a wonderful time. Our room had a patio opening to the pool and a beautiful lawn up to the water's edge. The area around the spa is fun to explore. The treatments were relaxing. Woulld definitely go here again.
DanielleM
July 8, 2010
Ineffective Managers
During my two days at this resort I had a facial (by Sheila) that was incomplete and one of the worst I've ever had. My pedicure (by Bobbi) was the exact opposite, wonderful. When I complained no one could find a manager and finally had a man who didn't seem to speak or understand very well. I think his name was Agee and he said he was the top manager. He told me there was nothing he would do and seemed very indifferent. The facility was old and the bathrooms were not very clean. The food was good and the rooms were very nice. All in all I will be finding another resort to spend my dollars at.
LauraM
June 17, 2010
Great place
I went here for a bachelorette party and was not going to go because it was a bit pricey but I called and asked if I could use the gift certificate my husband gave me towards the spa and they said yes. That was such a big help because I wanted to go and to be with my friend. The nail tech was great. She did a fabulous job and made me feel pampered. The spa was wonderful and everyone was helpful as its quite big and one can get lost easily. I only had a spa pedicure done and then spent the rest of the day enjoying the facilities and having lunch. I know that everyone there had a great time and will for sure come back again. I am thinking it may be a nice thing to do for my b-day as it was like $60 a person and that was 2 treatments, lunch and enjoying the spa all day.
Evelyn B
June 6, 2010
Sparific
There is nothing more relaxing than a Spa on the water....the grounds are delightful for a stroll. The facility has been there a long time but has wonderful character. The equipment is up to date and easy to find. The staff was very helpful but sparce at times. food was very good and prepared with the calorie counter in mind. Privacy respected by the staff.
ClouriettaS
April 19, 2010
All Inclusive Package
I spent 4 days at this spa and would have enjoyed it far more if the spa treatments had been of better quality (as that was my main reason for this spa selection). While the attendants were very personable/friendly, they did a poor job for the services I received (facial, manicure, pedicure) and as a result I canceled my massage. On the positive the Fitness Classes I attended were great (boxing, total body conditioning). Even though the facilities were a bit old, they functioned well and I truly enjoyed the sauna/steam/ dip pool and hot tub jets. The food was very good, but would have like to have had the option of diet conscious choices without an upcharge. Would also have benefited from receiving a more detailed package of services offered from the hotel; did not realize they offered shuttle service to several malls until I was waiting to leave for the airport and read the services posted in the lobby. I do plan to return, but will not use their spa treatments.
DianeD
March 29, 2010
Dirty Day at the Spa
This was the worst spa experience of my life! The steam room was not working and when it was finally up and running, it smelled so bad and was very dirty prohibiting me and 3 other guests from using it. When all 3 of us complained to a spa employee, she became annoyed and told us that it was supposed to be cleaned the night before! She offered no solution. Bathrooms were very dirty and looked like stalls in a very old high school. There are no frills here...name brand soaps, lotions, etc. I paid for a facial that was partially completed. The woman providing the service talked incessantly and forgot to remove blackheads from my nose. It was very unrelaxing due to her non-stop chatter. The spa was under construction and there were groups of male construction workers wandering throughout the spa with large parcels of lumber, tools and making lots of noise. Overall, the place was very dirty and noisy. I complained and was offered a free day pass which I refused. I asked for a discounted rate and they reduced it by 20%. Very bad experience!!!
BarbaraF
February 13, 2010
Wonderful Day at the Spa
Safety Harbor Resort and Spa overlooks the water and has natural springs renowned for their healing and restorative properties. The water is used in its spa services, drinking water, and swimming pools. I had a wonderful day at the Spa. You can start out early with many fitness options. They have classes all day long. You can take advantage of one of their all day packages and include a delicious lunch. Their massage therapists are "out of this world". They have a full salon with excellent hairstylists, manicurists and pedicurists. The locker rooms and spa rooms are luxurious and very clean. The staff is very professional, helpful and courteous. They offer mineral baths, aromatherapy massage, facials, body-composition tests, and fitness and nutrition consultations. They have both indoor and outdoor swimming pools. You can do as much or as little as you want. For me, it was a wonderfull day of pampering and relaxation.
Shirleyb
December 26, 2009
Relaxing Day
my son had given my daughter in law and I a Mom and Daughter pass for the Safety Harbor spa. We finally booked our day and it was wonderful! So relaxing and the staff were very attentive to our needs. We had lunch outside on the patio and it was delicious. We were scheduled to have manicures at the same time, but due to a booking error, I had to wait while my daughter in law had hers. To make up for my wait, they gave me a free parrafin foot treatment, which was lovely. The spa itself could use some upgrading, but otherwise it was a beautiful day. I asked for another gift like this for Christmas and now we have another day to look forward to!
Load 5 More Reviews +

Facilities & Amenities

Facilities & Amenities

In addition to its spa menu, Safety Harbor offers life-enrichment programs targeting topics such as nutrition, stress management, weight control, aging, and more. At the on-site fitness center, personal trainers are on hand to lead guests in group or private exercise classes—dance, spinning, and daily aerobics and yoga classes are among the options—and the weight training area or cardiovascular room feature Precor treadmills, ellipticals, bicycles, and stair steppers. Medical and health assessments are also available.

There are three swimming pools—indoor and outdoor lap pools and one freeform pool—as well as seven clay tennis courts overlooking Tampa Bay. For meetings, conferences, and weddings, the resort has a 30,000-square-foot conference center, comprising an amphitheater, ballroom, boardrooms, breakout rooms, and banquet venues.

Facilities

Retail Shop

Sauna

Toiletries Available

Steam Room

Showers

Changing/Locker Rooms

Cold Plunge Pool

Jacuzzi

Amenities

Slippers Provided

Concierge

Changing/Locker Rooms

Robes Provided

Dry Cleaning

Retail Shop

Rooms & Dining

Rooms & Dining

Safety Harbor has 174 guest rooms and suites, many of which offer balconies or patios overlooking sweeping vistas of the bay, the pool, or the tranquility garden. Soft color tones provide a relaxed atmosphere, elegantly setting off fashionable details such as crown molding; bathrooms feature touches of marble and granite. Guests can enjoy comforts such as Serta Perfect Sleepers trimmed in 300 thread-count linens, cable TV, and a daily carafe of mineral water. A work area, complete with two dual-line telephones and wireless Internet access, is available for business travelers.

New American cuisine and seafood dishes are on the menu at Fountain Grille, Safety Harbor's signature restaurant. Spa options include dishes like potato crusted grouper, salmon Italiano, and pasta primavera, and kosher, vegan, and vegetarian diets can be accommodated. In-room dining is also offered.

Food Options

Kosher

Vegan

Serves Alcohol

Vegetarian