• Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa
  • Deerfield Spa

About Deerfield Spa

Welcoming guests since 1979, Deerfield Spa established itself as a forerunner in the full-service destination spa industry. Deerfield replaces pretense and pressure with top quality spa programming and close personal attention from a warm, caring staff. Nestled in the heart of the Poconos, Deerfield conducts daily hikes led by our naturalists to either the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area, or the famed Appalachian Trails just minutes away. Deerfield is a friendly, casual destination and day spa known for health over hype and laughs over luxe. Escape the stresses of everyday life, jumpstart a fitness program, or learn how to eat healthy with appropriate portions. 

 

Does Not Accept Spafinder Gift Cards
Find one that does.

Awards

Awards

650 Resica Falls Rd., East Stroudsburg, PA 18301 United States
Get Directions
Contact Info
Contact Us
+1(570) 223-0160
http://www.deerfieldspa.com

Deals & Specials

  • "Love Yourself Weekend"
    Great Room Rates, plus Complimentary 50-minute Massage!
    Valid Feb 13 - Feb 15

Menu of Services

In addition to the standard array of facials, body treatments, and massages, the menu offers Thai massage, lomi-lomi, and the innovative LumiLift facial treatment, which uses micronized current and pulsating light to aid the absorption of anti-aging skincare products.

AESTHETIC
Chemical Peels
Microdermabrasion
Load All 2 Aesthetic +
BODY WRAPS
Algae/Seaweed
Load All 1 Body Wraps +
FACIALS
Acne/Deep Cleansing
Anti-aging
Glycolic Acid
Men's
Load All 4 Facials +
FACILITIES & AMENITIES
Robes Provided
Sauna
Showers
Swimming Pool
Whirlpool, Jacuzzi
Load All 5 Facilities & Amenities +
FITNESS & ACTIVITIES
Aerobics
Dancing
Golf
Hiking
Personal Training
Pilates with Mat
Pilates with Reformer
Qigong
Tai Chi
Yoga Classes
Load All 10 Fitness & Activities +
HAIR/NAIL SERVICES
Makeup Instruction/Application
Load All 1 Hair/Nail Services +
MASSAGES
Cranio Sacral Massage
Deep Tissue
Hot Stone
Lomilomi
Lymph Drainage
Reflexology
Reiki
Shiatsu
Thai
Load All 9 Massages +

Customer Reviews for Deerfield Spa (12)

normap
April 19, 2014
Secret Hideaway
I love Deerfield! It affords me the opportunity to have numerous getaways throughout the year. It is a laid back, comfort zone where you can choose workouts all day, or relax by the pool! Hiking is always another option. At night, it is a short 10 -15 minute ride to the Deerhead Inn for some of the finest jazz, or just stay in and get a great massage. Whatever you choose, this place gives you the options. Leave your make -up home, grab a friend or go alone. I have done both and continue to return
CaroleP
May 23, 2013
Great place...
I had a wonderful time at Deerfield and have booked another 10-day stay for next year. Deerfield is a non-portentous place to come for rest and relaxation and to exercise and eat well. The atmosphere is that of a large country home and you are a welcomed guest. The rooms are clean and comfortable with housekeeping service every day. The menu offers a variety of healthy and delicious choices. With three meals and two snacks every day, I never felt hungry. There is a variety of exercise classes offered all day long. Everyone is very welcoming and the staff will go out of their way to see that you are comfortable. If you choose to be along, there is plenty of room inside and out. If you are traveling along, you will feel very comfortable here and are sure to make a few friends. I had several Spa services while I was there and enjoyed them all. My special treat was to spend time in the sauna before bedtime. I when to Deerfield to just rest, adjust my eating habits and spend time with my daughter who was also there. I only went to two exercise classes while I was there and took a one mile stroll several days and I still loss 1.5 pounds. My daughter who attended three, one hour exercises classes a day lost 13.5 pounds. If y
LynellW
May 12, 2013
My new annual vacation.
What a great place. I was looking for a trip for my birthday and I wanted to go to a spa but not just to lounge around. I came across Deerfield and it was just what I was looking for. I wanted something with nice scenery, comfortable and that would be great for me health and pocket wise. Deerfield was perfect. I choose the 10-day special and I am so glad I did. The food, the exercise and the staff totally met and exceeded my expectations. You have the choice to totally relax and do nothing or you can really make this place work for you. I took advantage of the exercise classes while I was there and came home 13.5 lbs lighter! NO JOKE! and enjoyed every minute of it. I felt good and slept well the whole time I was there. The guests and the staff are a hoot. Everyone is so welcoming. Some of the guests have been coming for years and some, like me, were first timers. My mother met me there and we had a ball. We were so comfortable that when we were sitting in either of our rooms we felt like we were upstairs at a family member or friend's house. One guest played the piano and I ran and grabbed my flute and we had great time singing and playing. I even had leisurely evenings in the lounge working on a puzzle. My mother booked her return trip before she left. We traded a lot of numbers and e-mails and have already been in touch with a lot of folks we met there. I had 3 massages, Swedish, Hot Stone and Lomi Lomi, while I was there and with all the exercise they were welcomed and did the job. Cynthia was so nice, gives a great massage and also did my eyebrows. It has been so hard for me to find someone to do them correctly and she is a real pro. I did most of my exercise classes with Cyndi and she is a real gem and super encouraging. The chef did a great job and the wait staff, Adam and Keith, are the best! I got a kick out of making them laugh. Deerfield in not in the least pretentious but their wait staff is super professional, very polished and highly accommodating and they learn your name very quickly. The only thing I missed while I was there was not being able to get a manicure on site. I did stop and get one just a short distance from Deerfield. That is the only thing I can think of that I would change. If there was something else, it wasn't a big deal since I can't seem to remember anything else now. I really liked my room, housekeeping respects how you have things arranged and I honestly was never distracted or really aware of the road noise others write about. I was a happy camper all around and even went antiquing one day in town. I would travel here alone and I would be totally comfortable, they really look out for you. Joan is great and when she hugs you at the end of your stay you know it is genuine. I will return for my birthday next year as well and I am really looking forward to it.
capecodBarbara
May 10, 2013
Cozy Comfort
Could not be a better description. I went for 10 days and I loved it. I think what makes it so special is that the staff is just fabulous. I did many classes and then sat by the pool and slept and then a few times did the pool class at 3PM. The outdoor pool is heated so it's easy to get in when it's chilly. I really enjoyed the food. I went alone and I am hoping a few will show up next year...we certainly talked about it. This isn't Canyon Ranch....how they describe it is really right on. It is clean, comfortable and friendly. Please keep in mind when you read these reviews that some people are just not happy unless they are complaining.
KyleR
April 22, 2013
This is not a spa
This is purely a weight loss "camp" with a focus on portion control. It is not a spa. There's no spa-like atmosphere and the massages my friend and I had were average, at best. The website is very misleading in terms of how it reflects the food, it's grounds and facilities, and the activities offered. Worst of all, the owner checked us out and didn't even care to ask the simple question, "how was your stay". We cut our stay short and it was still too long.
KateC
July 24, 2012
Lowered expectations
We visited with a group of friends and were disappointed. Had to choose our meals in advance, portions were controlled, spa was in the basement, fitness in a separate building and the rooms were cozy but dated. Felt like we made a wrong turn back to the 50's. for the price it should have been wonderful, not average.
RichardO
November 2, 2011
very pleased
Very accommondating and responsive staff who offer personalized service without being asked; they get to know you. Great variety of classes with instructors who take the time to explain and demonstrate and gear the class to the participants needs. Classes are held if even one or two people show up which offers even more personal attention. Wonderful food and interesting guests. Heated pool was a treat and the heated treatment tables/beds are luxurious. Nice lounge areas and very comfortable bedding. Had a great time.
JoanH
October 23, 2011
Facial
In-experienced staff. I have never had a cold water facial before, paper towels were used instead of cotton towels. She never used the steam to open pours. I had to take a hot shower and do extraction at home. I left feeling cold and my skin did not look better.
LaurieH
September 26, 2010
Pamper yourself in "Cozy" Comfort
I just returned from Deerfield Spa and had the time of my life and will being going every year! The owner Joan and the ENTIRE staff are amazing! I felt as though I had known them all my life from day one. The fitness classes were wonderful for all fitness levels. The food was not only good for you but was also delicious. You are never hungry! The Spa "Treatments" were unbelievable.....I highly reccomemd a Lomi Lomi massage but EVERY treatment was a wonderful experience. You can keep yourself busy from morning until evening or you can relax and pamper yourself all day. I was there for one week and paticipated in many classes that were offered, Yoga, Pool Aerobics, Chair Aerobics and Diva Dancing were not only FUN but a great workout too! That is just a few of the classes offered. I adored all the instructors. Rooms are quaint and in a 'homey" atmosphere. I will be there at least once each year. I can not rave enough about Deerfiield Spa and staff....you must go and experience it yourseelf!!! Beyond having a wonderful week with the staff....I was fortunate to meet some delightful "guests" and will no doubt be enjoying them for years to come.................Laurie
BettinaB
July 2, 2010
Warm, Wonderful Spa Experience
I recently returned from spending several weeks at Deerfield Spa. My main goal was to quit smoking but I managed to not only stay off the cigarettes but also lose weight. I even had fun while doing it. If you are looking for a casual, friendly but well run destination spa, I can definitely recommend a trip to Deerfield. Deerfield Spa excels at customer service. The staff really makes you feel welcome and as if they care that your stay is a positive experience. The spa services staff is friendly and happy to chat or answer questions whenever they are around. The fitness instructors are friendly and very knowledgeable. I took 4 or 5 different fitness classes or went on hikes every day. I picked up new skills and came away feeling healthier than I have in years. I even learned to love some new forms of fitness I never would have tried on my own – like boxing. The instructors really made me want to push myself and I have even stuck with it at home so far! The food is excellent and healthy. The chefs managed to prepare different but interesting meals every day that I was there. The salmon in particular is wonderful and the turkey burger for lunch is excellent. In addition, the dining room staff always was willing to go out of their way to ensure I had anything I needed. I received an excellent facial, a very informative reflexology massage and a Lomi Lomi massage that was simply one of the best massages I ever had. Other patrons raved about the spa services they received while there are well. Finally, the wonderful atmosphere among the guests and the chance to get to meet and know so many new people was a very positive aspect of my stay at Deerfield. I made several friends that I remain in touch with and met a variety of interesting people I hope to see at Deerfield again. Although Deerfield is casual, the service is top notch. I highly recommend Deerfield Spa.
ZolaK
June 2, 2010
Superb Quality Service
My expectation from Deerfield was to relax, re-learn healthy eating habits, kick-start an exercise routine, reward myself, escape in nature and surround myself with positivity. Deerfield exceeded my expectations. I stayed at the annex, which is a flower-lined quick walk from the main house. My very clean large room faced the perfectly heated pool, had a dresser, chest of drawers, 2 night tables, rocking chair, flat screen TV, enough hangers in the closet to accommodate all of my shirts, a soft robe, and the biggest bed I have ever slept in. I slept with the windows open, ceiling fan on low and really slept. Fresh air and night nature noises...ahhh. Deerfield is the gold-standard in customer service. The experts at Deerfield take the time to remember your name, share stories and laughs, and still maintain their professionalism - that delicate balance in customer service impresses me greatly. I cannot express enough accolades to the exercise trainers, hiking guide, chefs, spa therapists and guest lecturers. Joan, the owner, must have hand-picked them from the Best of the Best or Who's Who. All are committed to their respective professions and really enjoy what they do. I took every exercise class my body would allow me to take; and, by the end of my stay, I had muscle definition again! The trainers are highly skilled and make working out so much fun. I went on a 3-mile hike and a sunrise hike and learned about history and nature while relishing in the great outdoors. Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable. I had a facial, reflexology, salt scrub and lomi lomi massage...I'm worth it! I can honestly say that they were the best spa services I have ever experienced. They certainly surpassed any spa service I had in Vegas or high-end salons. The chefs are outstanding. They create a variety of low-cal dishes that are delicious and filling. The soups and desserts should be mass produced and sold in stores. I also attended 2 lectures: (1) health and wellness and (2) nutrition. The lecturers provided up-to-date practical information and presented it so I can retain it and practice it in the future. Clientele: The guests that I met were sincere and genuine. Conversations were easy. Most guests are return visitors; some have been returning for over 10 years. People returning to the same place year after year after year speaks volumes about the quality of the place...Deerfield Spa offers something special - something people cannot get anywhere else. I have nothing negative to say about Deerfield Spa. I have traveled for over 20 years, and I have never taken the time to write a review about a vacation prior to this one. I felt compelled to share my experience because it was that great. If you do not visit Deerfield Spa and take advantage of all they have to offer, you are short-changing yourself. My only tip is that you check out the website or call the office a few days before going. There is no hype on the website - it's all true and provides all the information you need to know, and the office personnel will fill you in on the rest.
MarieM
March 10, 2010
not fancy, but cozy
This is a very simple spa experience that is not in any way pretentious. It's small, cozy and basic. Services are good and there are a variety of activities that are not too demanding. While young twenty somethings may not find the classes not challenging enough, the older crowd will appreciate the opportunity to get moving. Only an outdoor pool is available. Food is not the most appetizing,but will help most lose a few pounds. Friendly staff and guests. Good value for the money.
Load 5 More Reviews +

Facilities & Amenities

Facilities & Amenities

The resort rate includes meals and fitness classes (70 weekly) as well as two-hour hikes led by local naturalist, two gyms, a sauna, and a heated 20-foot-long outdoor pool. Golf packages are also available, and guests are invited to hit the links at the nearby Great Bear Golf Course.

Facilities

Showers

Sauna

Jacuzzi

Amenities

Robes Provided

Rooms & Dining

Rooms & Dining

There are 16 single and double rooms in the main building, a three-story Victorian-style inn, plus six motel-style rooms in an annex. (Rooms are split evenly between singles and doubles.) Annex rooms are the most spacious and the most expensive (around $300 per night). The nightly single room rate exceeds the double rate by about $100, but the resort will let single guests double up to pay the cheaper rate. Three rooms don't have private baths; all rooms are air-conditioned.

Meals are low-fat with calorie count for each item. Lunch is light, mainly salads and sandwiches. Dinner entrees (500 calories) range from flounder stuffed with crabmeat to pasta primavera. Menus change daily.

Food Options

Portion Control

Serves No Alcohol

Vegetarian