• Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
  • Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa

About Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa

Relax. Reconnect. Repeat. Terraced high on Camelback Mountain above Paradise Valley is an exhilarating blend of serenity and vitality. Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa is an extraordinary boutique resort with luxurious newly renovated mountain casitas, sleek spa casitas and spacious mountainside estates,  enhanced by spectacular views. This 53-acre resort features the tranquility of an Asian-inspired spa, as well as Scottsdale's golf, shopping, and cultural temptations nearby. Elevate your sense of renewal with an array of spa therapies in the indoor-outdoor treatment rooms of Sanctuary Spa.  Stay motivated with a Pilates, yoga or spin class in the movement studio and center yourself in the tranquil Zen Garden. Redefining Luxury.

Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards



5700 E. McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 United States
Get Directions
Contact Info
Contact Us
Buy a Gift Card
Use it at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa
Buy Gift Card
Hours of Operation
Monday: 5am  -  8:30pm Tuesday: 5am  -  8:30pm Wednesday: 5am  -  8:30pm Thursday: 5am  -  8:30pm Friday: 5am  -  8:30pm Saturday: 5am  -  8:30pm Sunday: 5am  -  8:30pm
Get a virtual tour of our spa and services.

Deals & Specials

  • Fall in Love
    Indulge in a little romance and celebrate one another
    Valid Oct 1 - Oct 31
  • Spa For A Dream
    $99 60-minute Swedish Massage or Sanctuary Jewel Facial - 10% of proceeds go to Ovarian Cancer early detection.
    Valid Sep 11 - Oct 31
  • Girls.Friends.Fun.
    Escape the every day with an overnight stay and spa treatment each!
    Valid Jun 11 - Dec 30
  • Spa Harmony Package
    Receive Your 3rd Night Free!
    Valid Apr 6 - Dec 31

Menus of Services / Classes

An intimate retreat, the 12,000-square-foot Sanctuary Spa offers a menu of Asian-inspired treatments in twelve indoor and outdoor treatment rooms. Featuring distinctive architecture and a breathtaking setting, the relaxing meditation garden, reflecting pond and Watsu pool provide a tranquil experience, enhanced by the convenience of a spa boutique and a full-service hair and nail salon.

The Sanctum sets the mood for a romantic retreat or a quiet place to get away. This stone-walled hideaway boasts a vitality pool and deluge shower, reflecting the elements of earth, water, metal and air. A private retreat for enjoying treatments together, the Couple's Suite features a cozy fireplace and the tranquil Asian design that graces the entire spa in a setting of quiet, rejuvenating intimacy. Spa services and classes in the state-of-the-art fitness center and movement studio include Pilates, meditation, aquatic reflexology, astrology and numerology, bamboo lemongrass and rose citron scrubs, yoga, fitness and nutrition consultations, and more.

Chemical Peels
Load All 1 Aesthetic +
Dry Brushing
Food-Based Scrub
Fruit Scrub
Herbal Scrub
Other Scrubs
Salt Scrub
Sugar Scrub
Load All 7 Body Scrubs +
Aromatherapy Body Wrap
Clay Wrap
Herbal Wrap
Mineral Wrap
Other Body Wraps
Load All 7 Body Wraps +
Other CAM Wellness Treatments
Spirituality & Healing Focus
Labyrinth Walking Mediation
Load All 3 Complementary and Alternative +
Chakra Balancing
Other Energy Work
Load All 2 Energy Work +
Acne/Deep Cleansing
Alpha Hydroxy Facials
Anti Oxidant Facials
Aromatherapy Facial
Back Facial
Botanical Facial
Collagen Facial
European Facial
Fruit Acid
Glycolic Acid
Microdermabrasion Facials
Other Facials
Load All 20 Facials +
Dry Cleaning
Food/Beverage Available
Locker Room
Meeting Facilities
Relaxation Lounge
Retail Store
Robes Provided
Slippers Provided
Steam Room
Swimming Pool
Toiletries Available
Wedding/Event Space
Whirlpool, Jacuzzi
Load All 18 Facilities & Amenities +
Horseback Riding
Personal Training
Pilates with Mat
Pilates with Reformer
Yoga Classes
Load All 13 Fitness & Activities +
Eyebrow and Lash Tinting
Hair and Scalp Treatments
Hair Coloring
Hair Styling and Care
Lash Extensions
Makeup Instruction/Application
Other Salon Services
Load All 10 Hair/Nail Services +
Back Massage
Cranio Sacral Massage
Deep Tissue
Energy Healing
Four Hands
Hot Stone
Lymph Drainage
Mommy and Baby
Other Massages
Tao of Golf
Load All 22 Massages +
Nutrition Consultation or Therapy
Load All 1 Preventive +
Other Water Treatments
Load All 2 Water Treatments +
Personal Training
Swim Instruction
Cardio Boot Camp
Load All 4 Fitness +
Pilates with Mat
Pilates with Reformer
Load All 2 Pilates +
Load All 3 Wellness +
Yoga Classes
Power Yoga
Load All 1 Yoga +

Customer Reviews for Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Resort and Spa (15)

August 22, 2013
Felt welcome, relaxing, really cared about my needs!
January 4, 2013
One Week Stay
Casitas nice. Restaurant 5 star! Great Pilates reformer classes included with your stay at the resort and good variety of spa treatments offered. I did a hypnotherapy session that I would recommend!
November 17, 2011
Great massages!
I recently relocated to Phoenix from NYC. This spa compares favorably to many of the best spas in NY. My only complaint was that I was not given an option of lotion (as opposed to oil) when given a massage.
July 17, 2011
Great day spent with my friend
Nice and quiet. Really enjoyed the pool and the fitness center. Took advantage of the workout room and a Zumba class. The staff was very friendly and the facility was spotless. We are locals and just went to enjoy a girls day out. Would do it again in a heart beat....
December 20, 2010
Absolutely Fantastic Spa!
I just got back from a 4 night stay at the Sanctuary and the resort and the spa were Fantastic! Had a wonderful therapeutic massage from Tim and a great pedicure as well! I would highly recommend this spa; it was serene and relaxing; small and intimate and the therapists took the time to listen to your needs! I will go back soon! Thanks for everything!
November 28, 2010
Wonderful Experience at The Sanctuary in Arizona
One of the best spas I've been to! While vacationing in Phoenix, my mother, sister-n-law and I went to Sanctuary for a spa day. We had the most relaxing time! This place is what a spa SHOULD be! Very relaxing, wonderful services and great customer service. The location is breathtaking with the desert view. I'm hoping to return one day!
October 6, 2010
Spend All Day
While my husband spends time with his parents in Scottsdale, I spend a whole day at Sanctuary. I start early in the morning at the fitness studio, take a yoga or pilates class, have lunch, sit by the pool and then get ready for afternoon pampering. The massages and facials are wonderfully relaxing and therapeutic. For facials they use Naturopathica products, which I now buy for daily use. Full body massages are great, but I especially like the foot reflexology massage. It's the best that I've ever had anywhere, and I've had many. This is a real spa with nice amenities. You can spend all day there, just relaxing, eating fruit, drinking water, reading celebrity magazines, doing nothing - and that's what I do.
September 18, 2010
Relaxing ambiance, but disappointing and overpriced
I read the reviews on this spa and was very excited to spend a half day with my husband as a relaxing start to our vacation. It was raining and cold the day we went (April) so we could not enjoy any of the outdoor facilities. Inside, the men's and women's spa facilities are completely separate and very minimal - hot water pool, showers and steam room only - so my husband and I couldn't hang out together at all prior to or after our treatments. The price tag is also ridiculously high. I had $200 in spa certificates and me and my husband both got one treatment each and lunch which cost $300 on top of the certificates. Positives were the treatment was great - first class and wonderful aromas - and decent yoga class. May well be nicer in nice weather.
June 3, 2010
Spring 2007 and back again
I found this spa on Spafinder prior to my trip to Arizona in March 2007. I adored every treatment and so did my mother! We also loved floating on their amazing pool floats in the hot Arizona sun (with ample sunblock of course). Mom loved it so much she brought my step-father this April on their trip to Arizona.
May 26, 2010
Spa Goer
Great Job!!
August 15, 2009
Sanctuary Signature Body Ritual
This treatment was real total-body pleasure! I've had massages before and felt great, but this "body ritual" was something else entirely. After the treatment, I not only felt completely relaxed; my skin was soft and I was literally glowing! An added bonus is the aromatherapy you receive from the luxurious fragrances of the products used to buff and smooth the skin. The room also smelled wonderful upon entry. Oh, and the lotion they use is phenominal!!!!
June 24, 2009
the Sanctuary Experience
From the minute I stepped into my spa suite "Amethyst" I knew it was going to be a fabulous stay . . . and it was. Bathing in the outdoor garden tub was a real highlight - not too be missed if you have the opportunity. Decor was very stylish, accents of lime green with grey modern furnishings. First-class restaurant with superb, healthy cuisine and breathtaking views. Try the homemade granola for breakfast. Really enjoyed my signature hot stone massage treatment with Azure, a statuesque, strong therapist whom I would ask for again. Will go back!
December 16, 2008
Seen better days
I've been going to this spa off and on for a few years now. It used to be really nice and luxurious, but it is in dire need of a facelift. The layout is great, though. The rooms all open onto a waterfall area, and it makes for a great dreamy experience if the doors are open and the birds are chirping! The therapists are kind of hit or miss at this place. One day you'll get someone amazing and fantastic, another day it could be someone straight out of massage school who's afraid to work on the knots. The locker room is really run down and kind of a mess. I didn't want to touch the shower gel bottles and lotion, they looked so nasty. Not the best value for the money, unless you get one of those out of this world masseuses, though.
August 9, 2006
Wonderful atmosphere
This place was amazing. It's tucked away right at Camelback. The service is the best I have had, and I travel a lot and am a spa lover. I stayed in both the mountain and spa casitas. I prefered the spa casita, but the mountain casita had a much better view. Both had plenty of room, the bedding was luxurious. You will enjoy this place as much as any other in the area and probably more so. At least for me it was perfect. I like having fun but am more into fun of the relaxing type rather than partying, and this was definitely a relaxing place to be.
February 26, 2006
(No title)
Load 5 More Reviews +

Facilities & Amenities

Facilities & Amenities

In addition to the Sanctuary Spa, the resort offers a 1,375-square-foot fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment and a 1,150-square-foot movement center that features yoga, Pilates, indoor cycling, and meditation. Other amenities include five tennis courts and four pools, one of which is a vast infinity-edge pool. Consultations for acupuncture, nutrition, numerology, astrology, and tarot are also available to guests. Arguably, the best activity at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain is enjoying the beautiful surroundings by taking a hike, going for a bike tour, or challenging yourself with some rock climbing.


Retail Shop


Steam Room



Wedding/Event Space

Changing/Locker Rooms

Resistance Equipment

Cardiovascular Equipment



Slippers Provided

Meeting Facilities


Changing/Locker Rooms


Robes Provided

Retail Shop

Rooms & Dining

Rooms & Dining

Enhancing the beauty of the surroundings, Sanctuary on Camelback Mountain offers 105 luxuriously appointed casitas (little houses) and suites that capture the splendor of this inspired setting. Details such as rich Mascioni linens and custom duvets, travertine marble bathrooms with elegant sinks, and roomy tubs edged with votive candles create a haven of tranquility. Perfectly positioned to enjoy a private desert view, all accommodations offer breathtaking views and complete privacy inviting guests to indulge in contemplation, relaxation, and renewal. The six Mountainside Estates at Sanctuary, each unique in style, are expansive private homes that combine spacious seclusion and easy resort access with options like a private game room, guest house and more.

As Executive Chef of Sanctuary and its signature restaurant, elements, Iron Chef America winner and Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan creates specialties that live up to the dramatic setting. With cuisine as inspired as the stunning location, the diverse menu includes vegetarian and gluten-free options, sustainable seafood, hormone-free meats, and fresh, local ingredients procured from a network of artisans and organic farmers. This critically acclaimed restaurant's modern, minimalist decor integrates accents of stone, wood, and fire into a sleek, stylish space.

Food Options


Other Needs Accommodated


Serves Alcohol