• Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson
  • Canyon Ranch in Tucson

About Canyon Ranch in Tucson

In 1978, Mel Zuckerman had an A-ha experience that changed his life and sparked the creation of now-acclaimed Canyon Ranch. Overweight and dealing with various health problems, Mel had gone to a California spa for help. His A-ha moment came when he realized how great he could feel by staying active, eating right, and living healthfully. His wife, Enid, was already a health enthusiast, and the couple soon made a commitment to build Canyon Ranch--a haven for wellness and "living younger longer."

The first Canyon Ranch opened in 1979, in the dazzling Sonoran Desert. It has since become an award-winning oasis of health, joy, and vitality. Indeed, Canyon Ranch has defined all that a destination spa can be. Today the sprawling campus with its low-lying adobe buildings can accommodate about 250 guests, both former and new.

The Zuckermans' goal is to inspire each guest to make a long-term commitment to healthy living and to provide the practical tools to do so. Guests flock to Canyon Ranch to take control of their health or rejuvenate. Canyon Ranch is distinguished by its unsurpassed team of wellness professionals including physicians, nurses, complementary health practitioners, nutritionists, exercise physiologists, and more. A stay at Canyon Ranch is an ideal opportunity to fully explore your health potential in a comfortable and unhurried environment. Have your annual physical or explore a concern such as optimal aging, bone density, sleep problems, menopause, and sexuality or heart health--all of this while enjoying an unforgettable, luxury vacation with endless pleasures to explore. You might start a fitness program, ride a bike again, have great massages, fortify your spirituality, try a cooking class, hike a canyon trail, or simply relax. Whatever your interests, Canyon Ranch's opportunities are abundant.

Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
(Max of US$500 per person, per stay)
Spafinder Wellness 365 Wellness Travel Awards 2014 Nominee

Awards

See More

Awards

  1. Spafinder Wellness 365 Wellness Travel Awards 2014 Nominee
8600 East Rockcliff Road, Tucson, AZ 85750 United States
Get Directions
Contact Info
Contact Us
+1(800) 742-9000
www.canyonranch.com
Buy a Gift Card
Use it at Canyon Ranch in Tucson
Buy Gift Card

Deals & Specials

  • NEW YOU - First Time Guests Save 20%!
    Enjoy great savings on your all-inclusive resort stay in Tucson, Arizona!
    Valid Apr 1 - Dec 23

Menus of Services / Classes

The world-class facilities and incomparable professional staff, including program advisors who help design your stay, make this 80,000-square-foot spa the place for fitness, pleasure, and wellness opportunities. You'll find plenty ways to stay active, including an expansive weight and exercise room, six gyms including indoor cycling, more than 50 fitness classes and outdoor activities daily, and a Pilates, Gyrotonic, and movement therapy studio. There is also the Aquatic Center with pools for Watsu(r), aquatic therapy, cross-training, and indoor swimming, a yoga dome, and wallyball, racquetball, squash, and basketball courts.

Ready to relax and renew? The soft lights, tranquil music, and inviting decor welcome you to a world of rejuvenation with more than 30 massage and body treatment rooms. The men's and women's locker rooms are complete with steam and inhalation rooms, sauna, cold dip, sunbathing decks, and whirlpools. The beauty salon provides head-to-toe services. Canyon Ranch's skin care department is also located in the spa.

Learn more about Canyon Ranch, AZ's medical offerings.

AESTHETIC
Dermatology
Load All 1 Aesthetic +
BODY SCRUBS
Salt Scrub
Sugar Scrub
Load All 2 Body Scrubs +
BODY WRAPS
Algae/Seaweed
Herbal Wrap
Mud
Load All 3 Body Wraps +
COMPLIMENTARY AND ALTERNATIVE
Acupuncture
Ayurvedic Medicine
Chiropractic
Hydrotherapy
Mind/Body Medicine
Naturopathic Medicine
Spirituality & Healing Focus
Traditional Chinese Medicine
Western Herbal Medicine
Load All 9 Complimentary and Alternative +
FACIALS
Acne/Deep Cleansing
Glycolic Acid
Men's
Load All 3 Facials +
FACILITIES & AMENITIES
Cold Plunge Pool
Food/Beverage Available
Hammam
Locker Room
Meeting Facilities
Restaurant
Robes Provided
Sauna
Showers
Slippers Provided
Steam Room
Swimming Pool
Whirlpool, Jacuzzi
Load All 13 Facilities & Amenities +
FITNESS & ACTIVITIES
Aerobics
Biking
Dancing
Hiking
Meditation
Personal Training
Pilates with Mat
Pilates with Reformer
Qigong
Spinning
Tai Chi
Tennis
Yoga Classes
Load All 13 Fitness & Activities +
HAIR/NAIL SERVICES
Hair Styling and Care
Makeup Instruction/Application
Manicures
Pedicures
Sunless Tanning
Waxing
Load All 6 Hair/Nail Services +
MASSAGES
Aromatherapy
Ayurvedic
Couples
Cranio Sacral Massage
Deep Tissue
Hot Stone
Lymph Drainage
Myofascial Release
Prenatal/Postnatal
Reflexology
Reiki
Scalp
Shiatsu
Sports
Swedish
Thai
Load All 16 Massages +
PREVENTIVE
Addiction Therapy
Bone Density Testing
Cardiovascular Medicine
Diabetes Management
Executive Health Screening
Lab Tests
Nutrition Consultation or Therapy
Other Traditional Wellness Treatments
Physical Examination
Physical Therapy
Sexual-Health Consultation
Sleep-Health Consultation
Weight Loss Services
Genomics Consulation
Load All 13 Preventive +
WATER TREATMENTS
Hydrotherapy
Watsu
Load All 2 Water Treatments +
FITNESS
Aerobics
Dancing
Personal Training
Tennis
Load All 4 Fitness +
PILATES
Pilates with Mat
Load All 1 Pilates +
WELLNESS
Golf
Hiking
Load All 2 Wellness +
YOGA
Yoga Classes
Load All 1 Yoga +

Customer Reviews for Canyon Ranch in Tucson (14)

KathrynM
June 16, 2012
Exceeded our expectations
There was so much to do and learn. Meals very healthy and appetizing, with many choices. The cactus were blooming, and the grounds were gorgeous. The staff believe in the Ranch's mission, and are so kind and helpful. We'll be back again.
AlisonS
May 30, 2012
Great Spa
Canyon Ranch is a great Spa with a variety activities and treatments for anyone. I can't imagine a better Spa experience anywhere!
SusanD
February 21, 2012
Great place, but must book a full spa day or overnight
Maybe I am the only one who didn't know this, but in order to get a spa service here, you must book an entire spa day, or be an overnight guest. I was hoping to get just a pre-natal massage (I live locally) but couldn't since I didn't want the full spa day. Just an FYI!
KarenR
February 8, 2012
Once a year
I have been to the ranch twice now and plan to go every year. The ranch is an inspiring place to be. I always meet incredible people and feel invigorated after I leave. I learned a new sport this last visit-Wallyball! There is a very competitive bunch who play this sport at the ranch. The food is great. The spa facility and services are the best and most impressive I have experienced. I can't recommend them highly enough!
LoisS
September 20, 2011
Life Affirming Experience
Our first visit to Canyon Ranch 15 years ago was truly a Life Changing Experience. It taught my husband and I so much about taking charge of our lives and health and encouraged us to adopt appropriate firness regimines and nuturitional habits. Our most recent visit to the Ranch is best described as Life Affirming. Now in our early 70's, we were in need of a good "tune up" of our fitness, nutritional and lifestyle choices as well as a nurturing vacation that would leave us relaxed and refreshed. Canyon Ranch filled all of our needs and then some! Trading the hummidity, hurricances and earthquakes that hit the East Coast this summer for the amazing beauty of the Sonoran Desert put us in an environment that was condusive to reevaluation and change. Our lovely room with its comfy bed and luxurious linens cradled our worked out bodies at the end of each perfectly filled day. We took full advantage of the large number of fitness classes to explore new and fun ways to work out, stretch, strenghten and relax. Who'd have thought that a Desert Drumming class could make us feel like little kids again? The food was delicious, the treatments amazing & educational presentations outstanding. It's a perfect place to refresh & recharge.
NatalieW
June 6, 2011
A beautiful day
I spent a day at canyon ranch and it was wonderful. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and peaceful. There are endless activities to chose from. My massage treatment was great and the yoga classes as well. It is the perfect place to treat the mind/body/spirit and is a wonderful retreat from the everyday.
MichelleL
September 3, 2010
Amazing Spa!
I love this spa! Food, service, spa treatments, housing and surroundings are spectacular! It was a wonderful experience and I will be saving my dollars to go back. It is a bit pricey, but in my humble opinion, worth every penny.
KarenK
June 14, 2010
Poor Man's Spa in the Summer
Never ever go to Canyon Ranch in the Summer. It is sweltering heat. All the money and time you spend on facials and massages are a waste once the blisterng 104-105 degree hot air dries out your skin like being broiled inside an oven barely could breathe.. Food is just so so. Activities outdoors hah, you must be insane. Any poor schmuck can go there in the Summer its reduced because no one in the right mind would be there. I call it the riff raff spa group in the summer. Loud obnixious women whining and getting drunk. A very unattractive group go in the Summer. I was persuaded to go with friends what a mistake going to cut my trip short and get the first plane out of here. Better to go to Canyon Ranch in MA. This places needs to be bulldozed. Workout room is a hoax and equipment is not clean.
DeborahC
March 30, 2010
Fitness is Fabulous
Loved the fitness facilities and variety. There were so many classes. I got to try soooo many different types of yoga. Had great massages, and Watsu is a must. We had a bad food week. Loved the food in the test kitchen but did not get good meals in the restaurant. Also scheduling meals was inconvenient. Would go back in a minutel
MichelleB
January 1, 2010
Once A Year At Least
I take a group here each fall and it is the best thing we do for each other every year. A trip to the Ranch jumpstarts those good habits that we know are hiding inside. The cocoon wrap makes your skin smooth as a baby. The hands on cooking lessons are such fun and the recipes are great to take home. I just discovered these worthwhile classes on my last visit. Try to schedule massages late in the day to insure a deep relaxation each evening.
AlexI
December 14, 2009
Very Relaxing!
This was a business trip turned into relaxation trip...what a perfect place to relax. Beautiful views, quiet personal time without anyone bothering you, great food and great spa treatments. One of the best hot stone massages I have ever had! Some of the resort could look a little outdated but other than that it's great!
JoanneF
June 10, 2009
Feel Like Oprah!!
Felt like Oprah while being pampered every which way!!! The food was amazing: they even tailored it to your specific likes/ dislikes if there was something you didn't like on the menu or dietary restriction! The choices every day were mind boggling: so hard to choose~like being @camp~~which class for exercising to take!!! Began early, end late w/spa treatment to get it all in!! They even help w/selecting the correct gym shoe for you & they know what they're doing!! No hesitation I would go again!! FABULOUS!!
RosieB
September 30, 2008
Best overall Spa
This is an excellent spa. Everything is first rate. I absolutely love the hiking! There are so many hikes to choose from, you can do it everyday! And the hikes are rated according to your ability. The food is excellent as is the service. The medical services are excellent also. Make sure to use these facilities. They aren't so readily available at home as they are here. Try something new! Something you have never done or would do at home - belly dancing, hypnotism, hydro therapy. IF I could, I would go every year. THis is one vacation for ME! I absolutely love it!!!!!
Happycustomer
June 11, 2006
Still a winner
My husband and I have been to Canyon Ranch in Tucson twice. It is one of the most professionally run spas we have ever been to. Loved the food and the classes and the treatments. Some of the areas are a bit dated now but the staff and program are still top notch. Even though the food is healthy and tasty, it isn't that easy to lose weight because there is no portion control but because everything is so healthy we do end up feeling much better. I think it is important to stay 4 days at least to get the most out of the program.
Load 5 More Reviews +

Facilities & Amenities

Facilities & Amenities

The caring professional staff contributes the enthusiasm and expertise to make every Canyon Ranch experience memorable. Consult with experts in medicine, behavioral health, exercise physiology, movement therapy, spiritual awareness, and more.

Choose from more than 50 fitness classes and outdoor activities a day. Bike through stunning desert scenery, or join the hikes through magnificent canyons and pine-topped mountains. Play tennis or basketball under sunny skies. Work on your swing at the Golf Performance Center. Stretch, relax, and work out at the beautiful Aquatic Center. Discover the finest in therapeutic bodywork, massage, and skin care services.

To explore healthy living in depth, discover the Life Enhancement Program. Offered in its own beautiful building, this week-long, small-group experience provides the perfect opportunity to make positive lifestyle changes or explore a health concern. Special-interest programs are presented throughout the year, including: Healthy Heart, Thriving With Arthritis, and more.

Facilities

Pool-Outdoor

Sauna

Steam Room

Showers

Tennis

Fitness Testing

Changing/Locker Rooms

Resistance Equipment

Cardiovascular Equipment

Cold Plunge Pool

Nutritional/Dietical Expert

Jacuzzi

Weight Loss/Slimming Programs

Climbing

Amenities

Slippers Provided

Food and Drink

Changing/Locker Rooms

Courses/Training

Robes Provided

Rooms & Dining

Rooms & Dining

After an active day, relax on your porch and let the Arizona sunset astound you. Clustered throughout the lush grounds, the one-story, Southwestern-style accommodations are built in harmony with the desert terrain and colors. In your comfortable private retreat, you'll find the aesthetic touches and thoughtful amenities that make your stay a constant pleasure.

Award-winning Canyon Ranch dining is an adventure in delicious, nutritious cuisine. The dining room staff can seat solo travelers at the captain's tables with other people traveling on their own. In the colorful Southwest-style dining room, you'll enjoy innovative dishes made with the freshest and best ingredients. Choose from favorites such as macadamia-crusted mahi mahi, elephant garlic soup, and hot fudge sundaes. Or dine poolside at the casual indoor-outdoor Double U Café. Because a stay includes all meals, there are no prices on the menus. Instead, you'll find the nutritional content of every selection. In addition to enjoying fabulous meals, you can learn how to eat better for life in workshops, consultations, or discussions with the Ranch's top-notch nutritionists.

Food Options

Organic

Vegetarian

Serves No Alcohol

Other Needs Accommodated

Portion Control

Vegan

Events

Aug 17 - Aug 22, 2014  

Gotta Dance - 10th Anniversary!

Unleash the dancer in you. Experience doesn’t matter – this is all about expression, movement and the magic of music.

For 10 years, Gotta Dance has been one of the most popular events at Canyon Ranch, with guests returning year after year for the pure joy of it. Fitness staff and visiting professionals offer inspired classes for all levels. Jump into hip hop, ballet, jazz, Bollywood, Broadway routines and much more. You can even get onstage for the grand finale – a guest performance that knocks the socks off the audience every time.

Some guests call this their “Dance Camp” and swear it takes them back to childhood. Others say it’s about overcoming fears. Many see it as living a lifelong dream. Everyone calls it fun, exhilarating and unforgettable!

Gotta Dance!
800-742-9000

Canyon Ranch in Tucson
http://www.canyonranch.com/tucson/programs/featured-events/gotta-dance-10th-anniversary-0
Aug 31 - Sep 6, 2014  

Creative You

Free your creative spirit to explore new dimensions. Gain fresh insights during thought-provoking presentations and express yourself in intriguing activities such as jewelry making, painting, clay creations, photography, crafts, knitting, culinary arts, writing, dance and more.

Cultivating creativity adds depth, meaning and balance to your life. See where the journey takes you.

Creative You
800-742-9000

Canyon Ranch in Tucson
http://www.canyonranch.com/tucson/programs/featured-events/creative-you
Sep 20 - Sep 20, 2014  

The Power of Laughter

Exercise your funny bone. Laughter is a critical tool for surviving and thriving in all aspects of your life. Join Catherine Lawrence, C.L.O. (Chief Laughter Officer) of Survival of the Funniest to learn how to harness your laughter to bring more joy and energy into your life.

Laughter & Joy!
800-742-9000

Canyon Ranch in Tucson
http://www.canyonranch.com/tucson/programs/featured-events/the-power-laughter
Sep 21 - Sep 25, 2014  

Aquatic Adventures

Aquatic activities offer extensive therapeutic and healing effects. Join us for a wide variety of aquatic opportunities, from water fitness classes to our exciting walk, run and/or swim challenge. Learn how you can build your strength in the water without risk of injury, and enjoy enhanced mobility and relaxation.

Immerse Yourself
800-742-9000

Canyon Ranch in Tucson
http://www.canyonranch.com/tucson/programs/featured-events/aquatic-adventures
Oct 9 - Oct 12, 2014  

Manifestation Yoga

From Restorative Yoga to journaling, Yoga for Inspiration and more, the emphasis is on enjoyment, laughter and discovering what you can manifest in life. Jennifer’s classes are suitable for longtime practitioners as well as first-timers. She teaches her inspirational style to a huge following worldwide, and recently appeared on Good Morning America. Her strictest rule: If you fall, you must laugh!

Manifest Joy
800-742-9000

Canyon Ranch in Tucson
http://www.canyonranch.com/tucson/programs/featured-events/manifestation-yoga
Oct 28 - Nov 1, 2014  

Happy Feet

Good health starts from the feet up. Dr. Glenn Copeland, author of Healthy Feet: The Foot Doctor's Complete Guide for Men and Women, will join the Canyon Ranch team of professionals to share insights, exercises and wisdom for keeping your feet in top shape. Choose from foot-focused activities such as orthotic assessments, presentations on posture and balance, special pedicures and more.

Keep your feet healthy so you can stay active and make the most of every day – for life!

Be Sweet to Your Feet
800-742-9000

Canyon Ranch in Tucson
http://www.canyonranch.com/tucson/programs/featured-events/happy-feet
Nov 2 - Nov 9, 2014  

Renew Your Spirit

Explore your inner life and discover new ways to nourish your spirit. With the guidance of Canyon Ranch experts, you’ll experience spiritual practices and gain perspectives that will assist you on your journey toward health, healing, peace and meaning.

This powerful week can help you move through significant life changes, choices, passages and transitions, and is suited to people of all faiths and levels of spiritual experience and belief.

In the warm company of fellow program participants, this experience takes place in our beautiful, retreat-like Life Enhancement Center®. Learn more about Renew Your Spirit – a meaningful pleasure that will enrich the rest of your life!

As a special gift of health, the usual $500 program fee will be waived for this program.

*Fee waiver offer not available to Canyon Ranch homeowners or with group stays. Subject to change without notice and based on space availability. Minimum stay and other restrictions may apply.

Renew Your Spirit
800-742-9000

Canyon Ranch in Tucson
http://www.canyonranch.com/tucson/programs/featured-events/renew-your-spirit-0
Nov 12 - Nov 15, 2014  

Living with Joy: The Science and Skill of Happiness

What does it mean to live a truly joyful life? How do we find and embrace happiness during our personal and professional journeys? Gary Frost, Ph.D., and Doug Smith, M.B.A., lead an exploration of Positive Psychology, which offers intriguing ways to consider these important questions, with particular focus on the aging process and the impact of happiness on longevity and quality of life.

This new field of science reveals much about what it really means to be happy, why happiness is so important to successful living, and the roles played by genetics, circumstances and individual choices. You’ll learn about a set of 13 skills that can help you find peace about the past, confidence in the future and joy and exuberance in the present – the skills of happiness for all stages of life.

Happier You
800-742-9000

Canyon Ranch in Tucson
http://www.canyonranch.com/tucson/programs/featured-events/living-joy-the-science-and-skill-happiness
Dec 21 - Dec 27, 2014  

Christmas in Sunny Tucson

Make the season bright with sunshine and festivities. Join us for holiday-themed activities, an excursion to see the hilarious musical The Secret Santa at the Gaslight Theatre, and much more.

Celebrate!
800-742-9000

Canyon Ranch in Tucson
http://www.canyonranch.com/tucson/programs/featured-events/christmas-sunny-tucson
Nov 22 - Dec 31, 2014  

40 Days of Joy and Laughter

40 Days of Joy and Laughter
November 22, 2014 to December 31, 2014

Celebrate the season at Canyon Ranch! For 40 days we’re adding irresistible events focused on fun and laughter. Join us for festive activities that will make you smile, laugh and feel like a kid again. We’ll be featuring a Duck Hunt, Loop Rawlins’ Wild West Show, caricature drawings, scavenger hunts, karaoke nights, magic shows, comedy movies, excursions to the Gaslight Theatre, a croquet tournament, our annual Turkey Trot with one really big turkey (a Rancher in costume) and much more.

Joy!
800-742-9000

Canyon Ranch in Tucson
http://www.canyonranch.com/tucson/programs/featured-events/40-days-joy-and-laughter