• Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
  • Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

About Claremont Hotel Club & Spa

The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa, an expansive and historic estate in the Berkeley Hills, across the Bay Bridge from San Francisco and north of Oakland, has 20,000 sq ft of Spa and fitness, offering a plethora of classes and facilities. Spa treatments include day and innovative, high-tech spa services, some of which have their roots in Asia. Classes in yoga, spinning, and Pilates with Reformer equipment are offered, and the property also features tennis courts, swimming pools, and a club for kids. Meeting space can accommodate up to 500.

Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705 United States
Get Directions
Contact Info
Contact Us
+1 (510) 549-8566
claremont-hotel.com
Buy a Gift Card
Use it at Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
Buy Gift Card
Hours of Operation
Monday: 12am  -  12pm Tuesday: 12am  -  12pm Wednesday: 12am  -  12pm Thursday: 12am  -  12pm Friday: 12am  -  12pm Saturday: 12am  -  12pm Sunday: 12am  -  12pm

Menus of Services / Classes

The 20,000-square-foot Spa Claremont, with 32 treatment rooms, offers a complete spa menu, inspired and created by its culturally diverse staff, that includes a selection of innovative, high-tech spa services, such as diamond-tip microdermabrasion, LED light therapy, and ultra micro-current technology. Men's and women's locker rooms each have a private steam room, whirlpool, and deluge and Swiss showers, and the spa houses three wet treatment rooms with Vichy showers. The spa's couple's massage room has a tub for two. Additional amenities include a sauna, relaxation lounge, and Jacuzzi overlooking stunning bay views. Spa appointments on Monday through Thursday include complimentary childcare. Guests who have scheduled spa packages or have paid a premium will also receive all-day access to facilities at the Club.

One signature treatment, the Spa Claremont Rose Journey, includes an aromatic soak with rose, lavender, and eucalyptus oils, which is followed by a body wrap with rose petals and honey, a 50-minute aromatherapy massage, and a manicure. Other treatments include chamomile, chocolate, and ginger body scrubs; collagen and exfoliating facials; and hot stone pedicures. Massages include Thai, lomilomi, shiatsu, hot stone, and Tibetan sound. Acupuncture and nutrition consultations are also available, as are services tailored toward couples, men, and expectant mothers. The salon offers hair, nail, and makeup services.

AESTHETIC
Microdermabrasion
Load All 1 Aesthetic +
BODY SCRUBS
Dry Brushing
Fruit Scrub
Herbal Scrub
Salt Scrub
Sugar Scrub
Load All 5 Body Scrubs +
BODY WRAPS
Algae/Seaweed
Herbal Wrap
Mud
Load All 3 Body Wraps +
COMPLIMENTARY AND ALTERNATIVE
Acupuncture
Load All 1 Complimentary and Alternative +
FACIALS
Acne/Deep Cleansing
Anti-aging
Back Facial
Botanical Facial
Collagen Facial
Exfoliating
Fruit Acid
LED/Light Therapy
Microdermabrasion Facials
Other Facials
Oxygen
Sensitive/Calming
Triple Peel
Hydrafacial
Load All 12 Facials +
FACILITIES & AMENITIES
Childcare
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Locker Room
Relaxation Lounge
Restaurant
Retail Store
Robes Provided
Showers
Slippers Provided
Steam Room
Swimming Pool
Toiletries Available
Whirlpool, Jacuzzi
Load All 14 Facilities & Amenities +
FITNESS & ACTIVITIES
Aerobics
Dancing
Personal Training
Pilates with Mat
Pilates with Reformer
Spinning
Tennis
Yoga Classes
Load All 8 Fitness & Activities +
HAIR/NAIL SERVICES
Hair and Scalp Treatments
Hair Coloring
Hair Styling and Care
Makeup Instruction/Application
Manicures
Pedicures
Load All 6 Hair/Nail Services +
MASSAGES
Aromatherapy
Ayurvedic
Couples
Deep Tissue
Hot Stone
Lomilomi
Other Massages
Prenatal/Postnatal
Reflexology
Shiatsu
Sports
Swedish
Thai
Tibetan Sound
Load All 13 Massages +
PREVENTIVE
Body Scans
Nutrition Consultation or Therapy
Body Composition Evaluation
Load All 2 Preventive +
WATER TREATMENTS
Hydrotherapy
Vichy Shower
Load All 2 Water Treatments +
FITNESS
Aerobics
Personal Training
Tennis
Load All 3 Fitness +
PILATES
Pilates with Mat
Load All 1 Pilates +
WELLNESS
Spinning
Load All 1 Wellness +
YOGA
Yoga Classes
Load All 1 Yoga +

Customer Reviews for Claremont Hotel Club & Spa (9)

September 30, 2014
Great Service but Amenities lacking
I get massages a couple times a year, but was disappointed that there were no longer washcloths on ice. It is very refreshing to have a cold washcloth available when you get out of the sauna or Jacuzzi. Additionally, the water and juice containers in the lounge area were almost empty. I had my massage and when I came out to get a drink, I discovered that both containers were not replenished.
NinaS
November 21, 2012
Great Spa and Fitness (especially for parents)
I have been a regular here for about 10 years. This is a great Spa but they also have a great Kids Club and most days you are credited about 1 1/2 of complimentary childcare. I don't know of any other spa that has this service available. Fabulous massage therapists and aestheticians. Sometimes the front desk struggles a bit during check out but that is not common. If you are new or a regular they try really hard to make everyone feel special. I would have given it 5 stars except that some features could be updated - locker room and jacuzzi area. Otherwise, lovely and highly recommended.
July 14, 2012
Great Girls Getaway
My friends and I visited here for our first ever Girls Spa Weekend, now a tradition. The hotel is older, and set in a beautiful residential neighborhood. I had a great facial and wound up buying the cherry warming scrub they used. We also took advantage of the fitness facilities and joined a yoga class. This is a fitness club, though, and we were the only non-members/regulars there. Still fun, and the male instructor was excellent! Overall, worth the splurge.
May 16, 2011
Pricey, but worth it!
The Claremont Spa is a great place to go for some luxurious pampering. I wouldn't come here regularly, mainly because prices are off the charts. However, the Claremont is such a lovely, indulgent treat. I wouldn't regret spending any amount of money here, because the services are sooo worth it.
DawnS
April 22, 2011
Wonderful service providers
I had the pleasure of spending the evening at The Claremont and trying a few of their treatments. Every service provider was exceptional and they each seemed to be working at the Claremont 14-18 years. Awesome service! The women's bathing area is wonderful. Only issue is that I would have liked to spent time with the boyfriend in the jacuzzi (Men and Women's areas are separate) and a slight mix-up with one appointment due to confused front desk. All-in-all one of the best Spas I've visited and will return. *The Moor Mud Wrap was amazing.
INACA
March 13, 2011
Great old fashion service!
Going to this hotel/spa is like going back on time. The staff is super friendly and the building is gorgeous. You can use the pre-spa when you get a service of $150 or more (pretty much any service will do). I was tempted to do 4.5 stars, because is kind of pricey, but they do give you a 5 start treatment.
January 21, 2010
Pampered!
I felt very pampered at my most recent visit. This is the second time that I have been to the Claremont and I received the same courteous friendly greeting that I received on my first visit. My masseuse was very communicative and explained what she was going to do during my treatment. My only comment would be to have a better explanation of the deluge shower. There were no signs, and I had to wait a while before the shower began. I used it right after someone else and am assuming the delay was in conjunction with the tank refilling itself. I was just about to get out of the shower in frustration, before I heard the rolling of the water. It was definitely worth the wait! :)
BB
November 12, 2009
The Standard
So far this is one of my top two favorite spas I've ever been too. Beautiful on the outside and beautiful on the inside. Despite being college age at the time, they treated us so kindly and respectfully. We felt like princesses! The massages were fantastic (I had an aromatherapy one) but the steam bath was a little too much. Steam I can handle, but heavily scented steam was a different story. For half the time, I was sticking my head out of the bath. Hahaha. But still, this is one of my favorite spas, and if I ever decide to treat myself again to something as nice as Claremont (and if I could get myself to drive that far), I'd choose this spa.
katherined
October 18, 2009
class act
The spa is wonderful. Treatments, service, ambiance.......all given with great care.
Load 9 More Reviews +

Facilities & Amenities

Facilities & Amenities

The Club at the Claremont offers an award-winning tennis organization, boasting 10 tennis courts (six are lighted), with private and group lessons, as well as tournaments. There are three swimming pools: an adult recreation pool, lap pool, and children's pool, as well as an outdoor whirlpool. The club's fitness center has undergone a major renovation to become a 10,000-square-foot complex housing cardio and weight rooms, a spin studio, and a mind-and-body center equipped with Pilates and Kinesis equipment. Guests can exercise on Technogym equipment or opt for one-on-one time with a personal trainer. There are more than 80 fitness classes per week, which change on a quarterly basis, and include yoga, spinning, dance, core strengthening, and more. The Kid's Club, open daily, offers indoor and outdoor activities. The property can arrange hiking at the Claremont Canyon Fire trail nearby. For evening entertainment, Jordan's has live jazz music and dancing on Sunday nights, and the Paragon Bar & Café features live jazz Thursday through Saturday. Downtown San Francisco is approximately a 25-minute drive away, depending on traffic.

Meeting space includes 22 indoor venues, as well as outdoor options, for up to 500. Various team-building activities can be arranged, such as on-site scavenger hunts, tennis tournaments, or fitness classes, as well as wine tours nearby.

Facilities

Pool-Outdoor

Sauna

Toiletries Available

Steam Room

Tennis

Showers

Wedding/Event Space

Creche/Child Care

Bar/Cafe/Restaurant

Changing/Locker Rooms

Cardiovascular Equipment

Jacuzzi

Amenities

Slippers Provided

Meeting Facilities

Concierge

Professional Hairstyling

Robes Provided

Dry Cleaning

Retail Shop

Rooms & Dining

Rooms & Dining

The Claremont Hote Club & Spa has 279 guest rooms available with one king-size or two double beds and a hillside or bay view. The Spa Elite Rooms, closest to the spa, are double rooms that are larger than standard rooms. Suites may have a separate bedroom, living room, and dining room.

With a full view of San Francisco, the hotel's new signature restaurant, Meritage at The Claremont, serves regionally sourced, farm fresh cuisine, which guests can accompany with a selection from the extensive American wine list. Interiors showcase the building's original architecture, with two-story tall ceilings, lofty archways, and dramatic columns, while chic details such as the mahogany-and-marble bar and inviting lounge area add to the restaurant's contemporary charm. As an added treat, the lounge offers live music nightly.The lively Paragon Bar & Café, known for its unparalleled Bay Area views, offers casual outdoor seating and a café-style menu for lunch and dinner. Guests can also enjoy an extensive selection of cocktails, wines, and after-dinner drinks. The eatery's animated atmosphere is complemented by live jazz music on select nights. The Bayview Café offers light meals such as fresh salads, sandwiches, and snacks poolside. Vegetarian, vegan, and kosher diets can be accommodated, with advance notice.

Food Options

Serves Alcohol

Vegan

Portion Control

Vegetarian