FREE GROUND SHIPPING For All Gift Card Orders! Shop Now
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa
  • Miraval Resort & Spa

About Miraval Resort & Spa

Situated in the warm shade of the Santa Catalina Mountains in northern Tucson, on 400 acres of idyllic land, Miraval Resort & Spa is an award-winning luxury destination retreat dedicated to opening eyes, minds, and hearts. Personalized attention, sumptuous casita-style guest accommodations, and the Life in Balance Spa continuously help Miraval garner accolades from SpaFinder, Travel + Leisure, and Condé Nast Traveller.

Miraval’s innovative Life in Balance Spa features unique, mind-body treatments such as Spirit Flight, Naga Thai, and Utopia. Outside of the spa, additional rejuvenating experiences such as healthful cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, integrative wellness programs, fitness pursuits, and challenge activities are designed to physically and spiritually reconnect Miraval guests on the path to a life in balance.

A $150 resort credit per person, per night is included; resort credit may be applied toward select spa services, private consultations, or activities.

Notice: SpaFinder Wellness Gift Cards may be redeemed for a maximum of US$500 per person, per stay, at this property.

 

Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
(Max of $500 per person, per stay)
5000 E. Via Estancia Miraval, Tucson, AZ 85739 United States
Get Directions
Contact Info
Contact Us
520-825-4000
miravalresorts.com
Buy a Gift Card
Use it at Miraval Resort & Spa
Buy Gift Card
Hours of Operation
Monday: 12am  -  12pm Tuesday: 12am  -  12pm Wednesday: 12am  -  12pm Thursday: 12am  -  12pm Friday: 12am  -  12pm Saturday: 12am  -  12pm Sunday: 12am  -  12pm
Get a virtual tour of our spa and services.

Deals & Specials

  • Discover Miraval
    Get a taste of everything Miraval has to offer with this package.
    Valid Apr 7 - Dec 31
  • Girls Getaway Package
    There is no better way to experience all Miraval has to offer than with your best friend, mom, daughter or sister.
    Valid Apr 7 - Dec 31
  • 5th Night Free
    Stay 4 nights and your 5th night is free!
    Valid Apr 7 - Dec 31

Menus of Services / Classes

BODY SCRUBS
Herbal Scrub
Other Scrubs
Salt Scrub
Sugar Scrub
Load All 4 Body Scrubs +
BODY WRAPS
Algae/Seaweed
Clay Wrap
Herbal Wrap
Mud
Other Body Wraps
Slimming
Load All 6 Body Wraps +
COMPLIMENTARY AND ALTERNATIVE
Acupuncture
Ayurvedic Medicine
Chiropractic
Hydrotherapy
Mind/Body Medicine
Naturopathic Medicine
Spirituality & Healing Focus
Load All 7 Complimentary and Alternative +
ENERGY WORK
Chakra Balancing
Other Energy Work
Load All 2 Energy Work +
FACIALS
Acne/Deep Cleansing
Alpha Hydroxy Facials
Anti-aging
Back Facial
Botanical Facial
Brightening
Custom
Exfoliating
Men's
Other Facials
Sensitive/Calming
Signature
Organic Facial
Grounding Facial
Load All 12 Facials +
FACILITIES & AMENITIES
Concierge
Food/Beverage Available
Hammam
Locker Room
Meeting Facilities
Relaxation Lounge
Restaurant
Retail Store
Robes Provided
Sauna
Showers
Slippers Provided
Steam Room
Swimming Pool
Toiletries Available
Whirlpool, Jacuzzi
Load All 16 Facilities & Amenities +
FITNESS & ACTIVITIES
Aerobics
Biking
Dancing
Hiking
Horseback Riding
Meditation
Personal Training
Pilates
Pilates with Mat
Pilates with Reformer
Qigong
Spinning
Step Aerobics
Tai Chi
Tennis
Yoga Classes
Load All 16 Fitness & Activities +
HAIR/NAIL SERVICES
Hair and Scalp Treatments
Hair Coloring
Hair Styling and Care
Makeup Instruction/Application
Manicures
Pedicures
Waxing
Load All 7 Hair/Nail Services +
MASSAGES
Aromatherapy
Ayurvedic
Back Massage
Couples
Cranio Sacral Massage
Deep Tissue
Energy Healing
Hand/Foot
Hot Stone
Other Massages
Prenatal/Postnatal
Reflexology
Reiki
Scalp
Shiatsu
Sports
Swedish
Thai
Mindful Massage
Load All 18 Massages +
OTHER
Acupuncture
Naturopathic Medicine
Nutrition Consultation
Load All 3 Other +
PREVENTIVE
Nutrition Consultation or Therapy
Other Traditional Wellness Treatments
Sexual-Health Consultation
Sleep-Health Consultation
Load All 4 Preventive +
WATER TREATMENTS
Hydrotherapy
Watsu
Load All 2 Water Treatments +
FITNESS
Aerobics
Dancing
Personal Training
Qigong
Tai Chi
Tennis
Boot Camp Express
Cardio Zumba
Circuit Blast
TRX Endurance Circuit
Load All 6 Fitness +
PILATES
Pilates with Mat
Pilates with Reformer
Load All 2 Pilates +
WELLNESS
Golf
Hiking
Horseback Riding
Spinning
Load All 4 Wellness +
YOGA
Yoga Classes
Yogilates
Yin Yoga
Yoga Nidra
Load All 1 Yoga +

Customer Reviews for Miraval Resort & Spa (36)

DawnS
February 20, 2014
Outstanding Experience
This was a transformative experience all around! Visited for a special occassion with my Mother and 2 sisters. We each were awed by the service and options available. One sister focused her trip on the horses, one on fitness, and one on spirtual growth. Needless, to say we all are still buzzing from our time at Miraval. I suggest everyone make the trip at least once.
Patti T
February 19, 2013
Amazing Reosrt for spa & wellness
The spa treatments are some of the best I have ever had...I loved all the wellness classes I attended. Especially my walk & talk w. Coach Leigh!
Response from Miraval Resort & Spa
Hi Patti! Thanks so much for your kind words. I will pass your kudos along to Coach Leigh! We hope to see you back at Miraval soon. Regards, Michael Tompkins, CEO
RobinM
January 4, 2013
I'm a repeater
But not necessarily a believer. I have to land on the side of those who have been going since Miraval's inception (I was there every year for the first four); much of the charm is gone and has been dissipating steadily recently. I just returned from the reopened spa, it's pretty much like it used to be but cleaner. Something's always in progress, now it's the Agave center which used to house yoga, the yoga's been shuttled over to the activities center, which is to say corporate rooms. I changed rooms 4 times in 4 days, always something else. Last time it was the carpenters next door. The food's got a few bright spots, the service has just become abysmal in the dining areas, though the young waitstaff are very solicitous and sweet, but they're just not there a lot. Not at all well-organized. It just looks like some corners have been cut all around, and at these prices something must have gone wrong somewhere. Sad.
Response from Miraval Resort & Spa
Hi Robin - I'm sorry to hear that your Miraval experience did not meet your expectations. We always strive to enhance our resort and unfortunately, that does mean there are inconveniences from time to time. When you visited, the Agave Center was undergoing renovation so instead of canceling yoga, we offered it elsewhere. The new Agave Center is absolutely breathtaking and I know you'll love it when you see it. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you at Miraval again. Regards, Michael Tompkins, CEO
SaraR
October 12, 2012
Visited for the day with day spa package
I received a massage, used the facilities for a few hours, and had lunch at Miraval. We had a great time. Food was tasty & nutritious. Massage was nice. The spa facilities (pool, hot tub) could have been nicer - they were showing some age when we went in December 2010.
Response from Miraval Resort & Spa
Hi Sara - Thank you so much for writing. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your day at Miraval. We do hope you'll visit again to see the new Life in Balance Spa - it's beautiful and our treatment menu has some amazing new services to offer. Regards, Michael Tompkins, CEO
SharonR
August 22, 2012
Went to relax, came back with my life completely altered
I don't even know why I'm attempting to write a review of Miraval because, truthfully, words cannot describe my experience there. I just went because of the spa's reputation, and it is everything I hoped it would be as a spa, but the programs they have there literally changed me. This happened at a time in my life when I was so much in need of transformation...little did I know! Can't really successfully communicate more, just GO. You will not regret it, it's worth every penny and MORE.
Response from Miraval Resort & Spa
Hi Sharon, Thank you for sharing your love for Miraval with the world! I love hearing how your Miraval experience transformed your life and renewed your spirit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Miraval on a return visit. Regards, Michael Tompkins, CEO
JudithS
December 11, 2011
Losing its soul
I went to Miraval for a number of years in a row when it first opened. It was wonderful - enchanting even. But then it started to change, becoming bigger, busier, more corporate. I thus have not gone back in some time. To be fair, this means that my information is not as current at it might be, but there is no reason - especially looking at the website - to believe that things have been moving in a different direction. I see from the guidelines that I am not able to mention the spa that I find to be ideal in every way and an excellent value, and which captures the very best of what Miraval once was. Perhaps a hint will be allowed: it is also in Arizona.......
Response from Miraval Resort & Spa
Hi Judith - Thank you for writing. We're sorry you haven't been able to experience Miraval recently. We know that should you return, you would be pleasantly surprised by all the amazing programming, innovative spa treatments, delicious food, and life-changing specialists that our guests rave about. We hope that you will choose to make Miraval the destination for your next spa vacation! Regards, Michael Tompkins, CEO
MaryP
November 10, 2011
When I go to heaven, I hope its like Miraval
Miraval is an amazing place. The rooms are clean, comfortable, luxurious but relaxed. I felt cozy, not formal, under the feather comforter and soft linens. Activities - The offerings are amazing. There is something for everyone! Don't believe the stuf about not being able to join the classes you want, I only woke up before 10 am once, and always got the classes I wanted - and I was there in peak autumn time. Spa - AMAZING! Yea, they are remodeling but they have done an amazing job creating a relaxing/calm atmosphere. I don't know how they are doing it - I never saw (or heard) any evidence of the remodel except for 1 fence that was carefully shrouded. The therapists/practioners were some of the best I have ever had. The Thai massage was perfect - I honestly can not imagine it anybetter. I lost 10 years from the facial! Food - I am a vegetarian and so many places only offer another vege/pasta dish, but not at Miraval - there were tons of options - not one of them being pasta primavera (Thank God!) - and all of them yummy. Service - I have never had such good service that was also so pleasant and relaxed without being stiff or formal. Each person was kind and thoughtful! I can't wait to go back. Perfect service no stiff formality.
AdrianaZ
July 16, 2011
Wish this had been my first time
After reading the reviews of satisfaction for many first timers, I wish I could say the same. I have been to Miraval 6 times. I started going when they first opened. Of course, the first time of something fabulous is always hard to beat. However, this last trip was utterly disappointing. Every return had some minor disappointment of something that was no longer there. This time, I had a list of major disappointments. It was impossible to sign up for any of the offered activities. I don't know if you had to camp out in the hallway for the secret sign-up sheet to be available. I was up at 5:45 to sign in each day, and everything was filled. Perhaps all the satisfied customers were able to sign up. The food was nothing like it used to be. The spa is under construction. I would have like to have known that in advance. Even the grounds were not as beautiful as they once were. The spa services were very good. They no longer offer trail rides as part of the package. You have to pay a lot for a private ride. The equine experience (if you could sign up) was the only horse program that was part of the package. The people who work there are still friendly and helpful.Hope Miraval gets back on track. Won't go back till then.
JoM
July 15, 2011
Spa Under Renovations/Lots of Changes-Beware
1.Renovations: We should have been informed when we booked our stay that the spa was going to be undergoing renovations. The massage was still great but the atmosphere was unacceptable. The Spa Center was the “heart” of Miraval, and with that missing it was just another all inclusive resort. This was my 5th stay at Miraval and I have to say it was the most disappointing. 2.Activities are the core difference between Miraval and other resort spas. They are what change people when they come to Miraval. They are what keep people like me coming back. However, THAT has changed. The sign up process now presents one day’s activities at a time and people seemed to feel an undue urgency to sign up for everything they could put their name on the first day. We did NOT get to sign up or participate in one activity. This left us thinking Miraval is not what it used to be and absolutely NOT worth the money charged. 3.The quality and flavor of the food has also changed, and not for the better. Miraval used to be based on healthy grains and vegetable prepared in fabulous flavorful ways with meat as an afterthought.The lack of attention to detail and careless preparation left a bad taste in our mouths, literally. I hope they CHANGE back!
DeniseM
June 13, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE Miraval
This spa is amazing! The quiet, the classes, the spahhhh treatments, all combined to make the most relaxing and rejuvenating holiday you'll ever have. I suggest the Tai Chi in the water, the Cardio Drumming, and the meditation classes. Every single spa treatment is fabulous. Depending on the time of year, you may not want to schedule the outdoor sessions, as it's too cold to really enjoy. Overall a fab experience.
DeborahR
April 5, 2011
The Marvel of Miraval
After more than a decade, my Mom and I still eagerly anticipate our yearly trips to Miraval. Months before, we start deciding on our spa treatments and schedule, awaiting our return to this serene and non-judgmental oasis. And we are greeted as returning family by the staff, many of whom have been at Miraval for years, and take great pride in their history with this magical place. The peaceful and beautiful setting seems to have sprung up naturally; but we all know how much hard work and fine-tuning goes into on operation that runs as smoothly as Miraval. I would be remiss if I didn't mention Michael Tompkins, who heads this operation. Michael's genuine enthusiasm for his work - and his deep commitment to his guests - shines through and permeates the environment. The wonderful offerings at Miraval continue and grow - and that's besides the terrific food! New and unusual treatments enhance the traditional choices, and evidence a spa that is not willing to rest on its laurels.! I"m already daydreaming about our return!
Bossymurph
January 18, 2011
I was surprised by the lack of balance in the experience
I have been to many destination spas, most recently Cal-a-Vie for a week, but was eager to try Miraval. I was more confused than disappointed because my experience seems to be so different than the other reviewers. My pick up at the airport was perfect. Loved John the driver and the music in the van. Arrival was a nightmare. I was informed that the facial which I had cancelled a week before because I would arrive too late for it, had been scheduled for shortly after my arrival. I told the receptionist I had cancelled it and she asked me if I could prove it. I said yes, and proceeded to use my Ibook to look up the emails, of which there were about five back and forth. She asked if I could forward them to her and I agreed. After hustling me for a room upgrade, which to my marketing mind should have been automatic since they were half full at best, she looked for the emails and said they had not arrived. I told her that I had just flown cross country and would like to go to my room and settle in and then I would send them. The facial remained on my bill until my check-out which took three people and two hours to straighten out. The food is excellent. The grounds are gorgeous. The treatment rooms and music, awful.
MarcieE
January 17, 2011
The Best Gift I Have Ever Given Myself
I cannot say enough good things about Miraval. Everything was perfect. The grounds and facilities were beautiful and serene, the rooms immaculate and cozy, the service from everyone (literally, everyone) was impeccable, the food delicious and plentiful and the recreational options limitless. I highly reccomend the hiking activities, the meditation sessions and any workshop led by Evelyn Resh or Leigh Weinraub. The most transformational experience I had at Miraval, however, was a Holographic Memory Resolution session with Tim Frank. He is an amazing healer and my experience with him was life altering. The best thing about Miraval is that you can create whatever experience or mix of experiences you'd like from the physical activities to the spiritual and healing to yoga to the pampering to sitting by the pool and reading a book. I am counting the days until I can return to Miraval.
December 29, 2010
pampered pam
I 1st visited this spa 3 summers ago with my daughter and we thought w e had died and gone to Heaven. We talked so much about our experience that my sister could not wait to go, and many other freinds are still asking when are we going back. I did return the next summer with my sister and she said it was "all of that and a bag of chips" They truly know how to make you feel special; like nothing is too good for you. The services was excellent, the food was delicious, and the bed was so inviting that you wanted to bring it home. They offer a wide variety of excercise classes and other classes like cooking, etc.. I remember my therapist by name and would love to return to ths spa. I love the fact that they are an all inclusive spa. I cannot say enogh about this spa. They have a "Queit room" that is so special. This is the room that you wait in until your services, or you can just read, take a nap, or enjoy the view of the mountains. I must say we found it hard to remain quiet when 1st entering because all you want to do is talk about how nice the room is. I had my hesitation about the fact that its located about an hour from the airport, but as soon as I met the guy sent to pick us up from the airport, I worried no more.
KathleenH
October 5, 2010
8th time
My friends and I have visited this spa 8 times and each time it gets better and better...the staff is friendly, spa services are great...food is wonderful and healthy and if you don't see what you like you can always order a steak, grilled fish or chicken and baked potato...plus they do special requests...mine is the last night dinner of pasta and meatballs!!! There are no food Nazis at Miraval like other spas and their services inthe spa are fab...Darlene gives the best facial I have ever had and this years treat was a hair rejuvination treatment that left my hair as shinny and silky as my 19 year old niece!
HillaryA
September 8, 2010
"Heaven On Earth!"
Just returned from my 8th trip to Miraval. When I've gone to other spas, nothing compares. Total Relaxation, Rejuvenation. If you haven't been, you MUST go. You won't want to leave!
AnnR
August 31, 2010
An amazing experience!
Miraval is one of those places I go back to time and time again. The staff all feel like family, and do whatever they can to make your stay wonderful. The food is delicious, healthy and creative. To me, it is the perfect trip for renewal, revitalization and can even be life-changing. World-class teachers, guest lecturers and leaders in mind,body,spirit give you personal attention and cutting edge information. I love the bed...truly, the most comfortable ever. It is a great place to go solo, but I have been with my husband (who also loves it and feels very much at home there) and with a girlfriend. The Sonoran desert is just a magnificent setting and you can do as little or as much of the activities. Each time I have been has been something a little different. I could not recommend Miraval enough. The minute I am leaving, I am already planning my next trip there. It gets in your heart and soul and is so much more than just a vacation. The spa services are incredible, unique and the staff is knowledgeable and caring. If you are trying to choose which spa is the best for you, you cannot go wrong with Miraval!
SusanC
August 28, 2010
Renew, reflect, recreate
Miraval is the place to come to renew yourself, to learn new ways of living your fabulous life and to enjoy all that the beautiful setting at the base of the Catalina Mtns offers. The focus on self renewal amidst a beautiful setting enhances your stay. Classes enable you to practice self care and the spa services - Thai massage, etc enable you to be your best. The food is outstanding and the renovated casitas are very comfortable and inviiting. Go to enjoy a place where the staff are invested in making your day and stay better!
DonnaK
August 18, 2010
Miraval's Magic
Words cannot begin to describe how amazing this year's visit to Miraval was for both ourselves and our friends who met us there. From the moment we were greeted at the airport to the last good-bye from your incredible staff, EVERY MOMENT was special and important to us. After having visited Miraval 12 times, we were beginning to think that perhaps we needed to "branch out" and try some other world-class spas after this trip. Instead, we left with a renewed devotion to Miraval's magic. Here are some of the reasons why: 1) It's obvious they have upgraded many furnishings around the resort (including new equipment in the gym) all of which added a touch of elegance and beauty to the resort. 2) The food is better than it has ever been. Every meal we had was delicious, healthy and beautiful. 3) The staff is beyond comparison. ALL went above & beyond their responsibilities to make us feel special and valued. 4) Their new Guest Appreciation Program is fantastic. It is the little things like choosing our gifts & wine - to the big things, like the beautiful upgraded room (thank you!) and discounts at the Raindance Pass/Spa - that made us feel that Miraval really valued us as return guests. We LOVE LOVE LOVE Miraval!
StacyK
August 10, 2010
Pleasant Surprise
My friend and I just returned from a week's stay at Miraval last week July 31-Aug 7th. They had so many different activities and seminars that we were both able to do different things and meet up for meals to share our separate experiences. We also met wonderful guests, many who had visited Miraval more than once (and, yes, I will be one of those guests in the future as well). The workout classes, Equine Experience, Mindful seminars, and 1:1 consultations were all expertly managed. Thank you to Miraval for such a wonderful experience that I intend to return with other friends and family - or even by myself.
SallieF
May 13, 2010
Different, magnificent, transformative
I've been fortunate to visit many spas - day spas, hotel spas, resort spas and destination spas which are my favorite. The way I evaluate a spa is based on what makes it stand out and in the case of Miraval this is easy. Miraval has some of the most incredible treatments and therapists that I've experienced. These two are inextricable since these treatments - or experiences in the case of "the Equine Experience" are created by the therapists bearing their signature and fusing their years and background. Last month I tried "Spirit Flight" created by Dr. Tim Frank and I can honestly say it is one of the best treatments I've had anywhere. Miraval has wonderful accomodations - check out the green, LEED certified new villas - delicious food, a magnificent setting, great hiking and imaginative programming. I can't wait to go return again.
JordanaW
January 20, 2010
Fabulous Stress Free Week
I spent a Week at Miraval last November/December. It was a wonderful week of full days from 7 am until 9 pm. There is an abundance of activities you can sign up for along with classes and seminars. Meals were excellent with lots of variety and options. Calories are listed but not limited if you are looking for extreme weight loss you would have to keep a tally on your own. There is fresh fruit everywhere you go and a small snack bar in the main building with fresh smoothies available. Spa treatments were my nightly bliss. You can just walk back to your room in your robe and slide into bed for the best sleep on their heavenly beds. The rooms were wonderful and include water, tea and coffee and these delicious dried fruit snacks and soy nuts. I could have stayed for longer. If you are looking to bring a spouse they will love the challenge/dare activities they have available along with mountain hikes and bike rides and most likely love a little pampering too. I traveled alone and felt absolutely OK and comfortable. You meet wonderful people and eating alone is totally accepted but you will find you usually will dine with people you meet in your classes or at the miraval captains table. Miraval was a wonderful place to be and find yourself!
SusanC
January 4, 2010
return to balance
After some upheavel including renovation, Miraval has returned to its mission of providing balance.
anitad
December 18, 2009
great relaxation
we have visited miraval several times and have found our retreat there extremely enjoyable..the rooms in the spa are cozy and warm, the food is wonderful and the treatment center heals all parts of the physical and emotional self. I recommend miraval to anyone that loves to drift into the beautiful scenery
BettinaB
September 2, 2009
Do as much or as little as you want to do at Miraval
After several friends had visited Miraval for years, they finally got me another friend to go. Don't get me wrong, we had heard how fantastic it is but just couldn't make the time to go until now. It was so well-worth the time to fly out and see for ourselves! The resort is all that you make it - whether you want to relax and just vegetate or keep busy with activities, challenges, spa treatments,workouts, whatever...it's all there to fulfill your every wish. Our group of friends ran the gamut of both ends of the spectrum from relaxing to full-day agendas but we all got together each evening for drinks and dinner. The staff was super-friendy and helpful. The challenges staff were awesome and made the experiences that much more enjoyable. All of the facilities and rooms were spectacular. I would highly recommend to anyone to visit this resort although I like that it only has a few rooms so that it makes the experience that much more personal and intimate than if it were a larger facility with many more rooms to accomodate the masses! I will be returning to Miraval!
tonkinesey
June 26, 2009
amazing
Best Thai massage available!
TXSpaPro
January 25, 2009
The most amazing overall experience ever
The first time I visited Miraval was in June of 2007. It was recommended to me by a friend. From the moment I was picked up from the airport, my experience was amazing, relaxing and surreal. The setting is spectacular, at the foothills of the Catalina's. The colors of the desert, mountains and resort buildings work well together...The staff is more than friendly and accommodating. Extremely professional and willing to go above and beyond their call of duty. My room was luxurious, the bed a dream and the bathroom, large. I was pleasantly surprised that the food was delicious. And that I could eat as much as I wanted...without gaining weight upon arriving back home. The activities and challenges are what make this spiritual mecca so much fun. I learned a lot about myself, relaxed, worked out and hiked. I also made some great friends while there. Since then, I have returned with my husband and another time with a close friend. I have been to at least 10 different Getaway Spa's and this is by far my favorite.
DebraLynne
August 13, 2008
Delightful Surprise
When I made my reservation, I expected Miraval to be a luxurious, over-the-top indulgent spa. I was fully prepared to be pampered all day. I carefully packed my suitcase to ensure that I would be properly attired to impress my fellow "beautiful people" guests. With my aggressive personal training regimen, I felt confident that I would impress my fellow guests in my bikini. When I kissed my husband goodbye at the Los Angeles Airport for my flight to Tucson, I felt a bit shallow. But why not? I deserved it. When I arrived at the resort, something incredible started to happen. I soon realized that Miraval was a magical place. The guests around me were energized, physically and spiritually. The resort had an aura of connection on a variety of levels. Before I knew it, I was challenging myself to dance ballet across a 30-foot log that was perched 35 feet high. I learned a new brand of yoga. I became immersed in an Indian "Talking Circle" and discovered some things about myself that made me smile. Only then did I saunter over to the spa for a fabulous deep-tissue massage. The integrated benefit of this variety of experiences inspired me to do one more thing: Call my husband and invite him to join me. He came on the next plane and we enjoyed a remarkable experience together. We've journeyed to places ranging from Antarctica to the Amazon together, but this experience took us "farther" than anywhere we have ever been. All of the experiences were special, but the Equine Experience was a particularly valuable life lesson. The spa treatments were excellent and we needed them to pamper ourselves after wonderful days of self-selected, challenging activities. We took advantage of many of the activities that Miraval has to offer. The options were totally self-driven and selected; I am happy that we were open to new experiences. We are both using every day what we learned at Miraval. What a shame it would have been if I had only gotten what I thought that I wanted when I made my reservation...
LASpaGirl
August 4, 2008
Don't Believe the Oprah Hype...It's not "All That"
I had heard lots of wonderful things about Miraval prior to my trip, so I was expecting this oasis-type "mirage" in the desert. However, I was not "wowed" with the overall appearance of the resort. It was nice, but I've seen nicer backyards in CA. I stayed in the "Oprah" suite, room 419, so I had one of, if not the best rooms...it was very pretty and very large, but, again, I was underwhelmed...I thought that for the price, I was going to be blown away, and was not. The Spa was good...as far as the treatments go, but I have been to MUCH nicer spas.. The staff was very friendly, and the food was very good... I liked the fitness room...it was super. The people that were staying at the resort were not really the types I would expect to see in a "luxury spa resort". I was the only person at the pool in a bikini...and the only person who could wear a bikini for that matter. I was under the impression that this was a resort geared toward fitness...I was by FAR the fittest person there and felt like I was in a fat camp for frumpy old ladies...the yoga classes are nice, but there isn't much else that I would want to do...fitness counseling? I was more fit than the trainers there. Nutritional counseling? No thank you...Perhaps that's why Oprah likes it so much... I wouldn't go back to Miraval...I wouldn't even take my mom here for a spa getaway weekend...she's be bored to tears. I'd take Sanctuary @ Camelback anyday.
YassAZnd
July 14, 2008
Miraval Life in Imbalance
There is a reason Miraval Resort was #1 in the world and there is a reason it is now way down in ratings. Corporate mismanagement, abuse of employees and lack of customer care are part of the problem. The vision that made it so sucessful has now been bought by names, Oprah and Weil did not make Miraval #1 it was the heart and soul of the life ... The management and the front desk spa staff lack care, professionality and politeness. The therapists are very skilled and that's about the only thing that is going for that place, otherwise the facility has gone to not so "Miravaleous"! They are cutting down on the staff, there is no spa attendant to direct you to the locker area, the once kind and happy staff has been replaced by dark, unhappy and careless ones. The quality of food is not like before and they really don't care about their guests and would not lift a finger to make their experience better since as far as they are concerned, why should they since Oprah visits that place 3-4 times a year bringing 50 people. The rest don't have to leave happy. I would think twice before spending my money in this facility.
kwikwit
June 1, 2007
Miraval never disappoints!
I first went to Miraval in 1998 -- it had only been open for 3 years. Miraval is unlike any place on earth -- back then it was still family owned and the staff were the happiest people I had ever met. One fitness instructor sent me a note thanking me for bringing my enthusiasm and joy to her water aerobics class! The food was delicious -- top quality products -- with an emphasis on flavor, mindful eating and portion size. Miraval isn't boot camp -- no one will smack your hands if you want a second helping. Miraval is one of the safest places in the world -- everyone who works there is very kind and compassionate. I returned alone in 2001 and absolutely loved Miraval. The challenge activities and the Equine Experience are unlike anything you will do anywhere -- you learn so much about yourself. Many women go to Miraval solo. You can be as friendly or unfriendly as you choose to be. Returned in March 2007 right after Oprah Winfrey invaded with 50 lucky guests. Miraval is under new management...but it is still unlike any other spa I've ever been too. Yes, it has gotten pricier. There is more "nickel & diming" with the packages because many spa services cost more than the $110 credit you get each day. I had a one-on-one consultation with a "healer" who has a borderline personality -- I complained and I was credited for that service. There have been staff changes -- its more of a business and less of a mindful group of people. It is still beautiful and never feels crowded. The best yoga and meditation trainers on the planet. You will leave feeling calmer than you have ever felt.
Spamama
February 22, 2007
Wild Kingdom
I was desperate to get to Miraval. Having finally had the chance to get there I am not sure I would go again. We did lunch with the nutritionist. She didn't know a lot of things and didn't have any prepared information on nutrition . It was too casual. The spa facilities themselves are wonderful, the quiet room is the BEST. The food was deliciouss. The grounds are confusing. There was a much shorter path to our room, (directly down from the main hall) as opposed to the staff and the little directional signs that make you walk all around the entire grounds, to get back to your room. At nite this is problematic since the directinal signs are ankle high and largely unlit. Infact the grounds are unlit. There are flashlites in the rooms but they don't tell you that you need to take them with you at nite. Combine that with the fact that you are subject to be confronted by bobcats, wild pigs, tarantulas, roadrunners, and coyotes. We were confronted by a wild pig which chased us. It was funny because we were not hurt however, another guest was confronted by a bobcat and was savvy enought to know not to run but it could have ended differently. I think for what Miraval charges us they should build a concrete fence around the place so you are not confronted with wild animals. There is a board by the gift shop where guests lists their wild animal encounters. The dark grounds and the wild animal combination are offputting. Lastly in the summer, which is when it is best for schoolteachers to go, their workshop availability is so limited. There were classes I saw on their website that I only learned when I got there they do not offer in summer. Also, they do not offer transportation to the shopping mall so that if during the day you want to be chauffered to the mall and come back and get services you cannot do that. You are stuck on the property unless you rent a car
SpaExpert
September 16, 2006
This is Mirval....the name is enough to describe i
If you know spas then you know that this is a special place. No matter new owners or thought processes, the base is there. The setting, the programs, rooms, spa, they all work. When you start to compare you need to put this spa as one of the top.
Spa lover
July 12, 2006
Wonderful as usual
Just returned from Miraval for the third time. Wonderful as usual. Definitely recommend taking part in any of the challenge activities. My only complaint about the spa itself, is the lack of experience of some of the spa technicians. For this reason I have given an overall rating of four stars, as I spend quite a bit of time at the spa. I do understand the negative rating from another guest, as a rowdy group would have ruined my stay as well. It is unfortunate the staff did not respond appropriately.
Happycustomer
July 6, 2006
Spa Pilgrim
Having been to many spas, one of the most profound lessons I learned was during the equine experience at Miraval. I think this is a real mind/body/spirit spa.
Seeking New Spa
July 1, 2006
Change is not for the better
I have visited Miraval several times in the past and, regretfully, will not return. Since the change in ownership, the staff seems disgruntled and I actually had complaints made to me by a staff member. The quality of the food has deteriorated and the overall atmosphere has changed for the worse. While I was a guest at Miraval, there was a large group of women celebrating a birthday. The staff permitted them to be loud and rowdy in all parts of the spa, including the "quiet room". This group disrupted dinners and made the overall experience one of "girls gone wild" rather than "life in balance" as Miraval touts. Complaints to guest services, by several guests, were ignored. With the expansion of Miraval, I only see things getting worse.
Load 5 More Reviews +

Facilities & Amenities

Facilities & Amenities

In addition to spa treatments, Miraval offers a comprehensive menu of programs focused on topics such as weight and stress management, integrative medicine, metabolism and prevention, and grief and loss. Guests can build their strength and tone muscles at the Body Mindfulness Center, with its movement studios and classes; a yoga center and Pilates studio are also available. The property also encompasses three swimming pools, including a fitness lap pool and hot tubs, two tennis courts, trails for hiking and biking, and an Adventure Course with high and low ropes, a climbing wall, and a zipline. One of the spa's signature offerings is the Miraval Equine Experience ™ Immersion with Wyatt Webb, a four-day self-awareness program that involves working with horses. During downtime, guests can enjoy the resort's fine art installations that are scattered throughout the property, look out over the tri-level pond with its serene cascading waterfalls, or stroll the Zen and desert gardens, which offer a labyrinth and kiva with fire pit.

In addition, indoor and outdoor group/retreat areas are on site.

Facilities

Physiotherapy/Sports Massage

Retail Shop

Toiletries Available

Hair and Beauty

Bar/Cafe/Restaurant

Changing/Locker Rooms

Jacuzzi

Weight Loss/Slimming Programs

Sports pitches/courts

Pool-Outdoor

Sauna

Hammam

Steam Room

Showers

Tennis

Fitness Testing

Cardiovascular Equipment

Nutritional/Dietical Expert

Spa

Climbing

Amenities

Slippers Provided

Meeting Facilities

Food and Drink

Restaurant/Bar/Cafe

Retail Shop

Concierge

Changing/Locker Rooms

Robes Provided

Rooms & Dining

Rooms & Dining

Guest rooms and suites, housed in casita-style rooms made with natural colors from the earth that create a connection with the desert landscape and surrounding mountains. Each room features responsibly sourced and sustainable materials. Many rooms have private outdoor space, and some are designed with a glass wall to make the most of the mountain views. Catalina Rooms are made with rammed earth walls and have a large soaking tub in the bathroom and an outdoor shower. Suites have a spacious sitting area and fireplace, and the one-bedroom Presidential Suite also has a kitchenette and dining room. High-tech amenities include LCD TVs, DVD players, and free wireless Internet access.

Gourmet meals are prepared with an emphasis on the benefits of an organic diet rich in grains and low in saturated fats, and organic and biodynamic wines can be ordered. (Alcoholic beverages are not included in the all-inclusive rate.) The Cactus Flower Restaurant has full service indoor and mountain-view terrace seating, serving breakfast and lunch buffets and reserved-seating dinner. Palm Court offers healthy snacks, beverages, and a few desserts. Brave Bill Lounge is a popular spot for hors d'oeuvres and cocktails. Special diets can be accommodated with advance notice

Poolside snack bars serve snacks such as wraps and salads between meals. Alcohol is available on a nightly basis in the restaurant and at Brave Bill Lounge.

Food Options

Other Needs Accommodated

Organic

Serves Alcohol

Vegetarian

Events

Apr 7 - Apr 27, 2014  

Spiritual Teaching

Sunday April 27 - Thursday May 1, 2014


As a spiritual teacher, clairvoyant, and intuitive, Pam Coronado teaches others who are interested in this field how to control, strengthen and readily access their own intuition. Pam will share with you concepts that will transform your life while discussing your ability to maximize your spiritual potential. Sessions will focus on healing, transformation and understanding the ways in which your dreams can heal your future.

This calming and balancing workshop is held at Miraval Resort in the spiritual domain of the Santa Catalina Mountains of Northern Tucson, Arizona, April 27 - May 1, 2014 -the perfect place to de-stress and find new ways to approach life.

Here’s a sampling of what you will learn and experience during this workshop:
•    Recognizing Inner Guidance
•    Guided Meditation – Meet your Spirit Guides
•    Concepts that will Transform Your Life
•    Fun and Creative Ways to Practice Intuition
•    Messages From the Other Side
•    Group Meditation, Healing and Transformation
•    Intro to Understanding Your Dreams
•    Private Readings with Pam* (additional fee – registration required through Miraval)

Follow link to register today.

Miraval
http://www.miravalresorts.com/plan_your_stay/upcoming_events/spiritual_teachings_with_pam_coronado/
Apr 7 - Jul 17, 2014  

Quarterlife Upgrade

Young adulthood is an exciting, yet challenging time as today’s Millennials feel tremendous pressure to figure out their entire lives.That pressure often takes a toll and they find themselves struggling in a variety of areas. Many Millennials are slightly handicapped when it comes to thriving in the real world due to the realities of a difficult job market and the effects of “helicopter parenting.” Millennials also face debunking the negative stereotypes of your generation such as being entitled, immature, having no work ethic, and lacking social skills.
Much of the workshop will be experiential in nature. Topics will be explored through lectures, activities and various group, partner and individual exercises. By providing an environment where Millennials can step away from their daily routine and obligations, you will have an opportunity to focus on yourself, connect with a network of other Millennials, and experience the magic of Miraval.
Topics covered based on the most common quarterlife issues:
 Answer the questions of what Christine calls the “Twenties Triangle”: Who am, what do I want and how do I get it?
 Specific advice and action steps to identify and pursue your goals,
Understand the gifts of not getting what you want – aka Expectation Hangovers,
 Identify the keys to productivity and the biggest obstacles along your career path,
Experience your “zone of genius” and learn how to leverage it in terms of your career,
Employ specific strategies to successfully work in a multi-generational workforce,
Transform from a “me” mentality into a “we” mentality for optimal career success,
Learn how to increase financial IQ and relieve money stress,
Communication skills to navigate relationships with friends, parents, romantic partners and work colleagues.

Cal 800.232.3969 to reserve your spot today.

Miraval
http://www.miravalresorts.com/plan_your_stay/upcoming_events/quarterlife_upgrade/
Aug 15 - Aug 16, 2014  

MIRAVAL CHEF SERIES: CHEF'S NIGHT IN

Learn what the country’s foremost chefs cook for themselves to feel well during Miraval’s new Chef Series!

Chef's Night In Cooking Demonstration Dinner

Friday, August 15 & Saturday, August 16, 2014, 6-8pm

Meet the Chef Luncheon

Saturday, August 16, 2014, 12-12:45pm

Various times throughout the year, a Celebrity Chef will be a weekend-long guest in the Miraval kitchen. While on property, each Guest Chef will give Miraval guests a rare peek into the foods and ingredients that these celebrated chefs enjoy cooking for themselves and their families on their (rare) nights off. Through a series of special events, the chefs’ mindful approaches to cooking will come to life as they share the secrets of the food they enjoy eating to bring their bodies into balance. In addition to these events, the Miraval kitchen will serve one of the featured Chef's signature dishes on the Cactus Flower dinner menu on both Friday and Saturday night.

Each visiting Chef will host two Chef's Night In Cooking Demonstration Dinners that include a 4-course meal prepared before them with wine service. Participants will interact with the Chef as they learn about their inspiring culinary techniques and philosophy.

Seating is limited and sign-up is required; $198 per person.

These dinners have a set menu and cannot accommodate for allergies and dietary restrictions.

Each Chef will also host a Meet the Chef Luncheon during their visit where participants 8can join the Chef for an informational lunch to learn about her passion for cooking. Seating is on a first come, first served basis. Sign-up at the Cactus Flower Hostess Stand.

 

http://www.miravalresorts.com/plan_your_stay/upcoming_events/miraval_chefs_night_in/
Apr 7 - Dec 31, 2014  

The Miraval Equine Experience Immersion

May 18-22, 2014,
July 6-10, 2014,
August 24-28, 2014,
November 2-6, 2014,
December 14-18, 2014.

Joy is our birthright. Yet our current stressful mode of existence takes this away from us.

Working with Wyatt Webb in the Miraval’s Equine Experience™ Immersion, you will learn how to reclaim your birthright to gain greater self awareness and experience personal growth. Each morning you will work with horses, with group practice and development in the afternoon. You’ll challenge learned behaviors, correct false beliefs, and rediscover your authentic self.


Miraval’s Equine Experience™ Immersion with Wyatt Webb, Miraval’s Director of Equine Programs, devotes six hours per day of very focused personalized attention to help you rediscover the life you were meant to lead. “This is an environment where each person will have the opportunity to correct negative perceptions and move into the presence of how capable they are and can continue to be through using the awareness gained in this program,” says Wyatt. “The support of your fellow group members presents you with the gift that you are not alone.” Your inherent value as a human being will be revealed so as to deeply deplete the self-criticism you have lived with far too long.”


The Equine Immersion begins on Sunday night with a two hour introductory group and is followed by three days devoted to the equivalent of twenty hours of intense group therapy. You will spend three hours each morning with horses at our stables and three hours each afternoon in group process in a meeting room at the resort. The Equine Immersion is perfect for groups, individuals or couples wishing to address either general or more specific relationship issues. Wyatt’s intention is safety and support for each individual and for the group as a whole.

Book now by calling 800.232.3969

Miraval
http://www.miravalresorts.com/plan_your_stay/upcoming_events/the_miraval_equine_experience_immersion/
Apr 7 - Dec 31, 2014  

National Geographic Photography Workshop

April 24 - 27, 2014,
September 4 - 7, 2014,
October 23 - 26, 2014,
December 4 - 7, 2014.


Hone your skills in the warm shade of Arizona's Santa Catalina Mountains during a unique photo retreat at the acclaimed Miraval Resort and Spa. On daily excursions, photograph stunning mountain vistas, and the natural beauty of the Sonoran Desert. During a private evening performance, capture the unique shapes of a Navajo hoop dancer or the sweeping motions of a Folklorico dancer. Then enjoy the fabulous spa facilities; invigorating outdoor activities; and fresh, healthy cuisine at Miraval Resort & Spa.


This workshop is led by a National Geographic photographer and a professional instructor and is designed for amateurs who are interested in improving their digital photography. All participants must bring a digital SLR camera, a laptop computer, and software for organizing and presenting images. This workshop is limited to 25 participants.


We have a planned itinerary ; however, our schedule is flexible to allow for spontaneous photographic opportunities. Download more information.

Call National Geographic Expeditions at 1.800.797.4686 to reserve your spot today.

Miraval
http://www.miravalresorts.com/plan_your_stay/upcoming_events/national_geographic_photography_workshop/
Apr 7 - Dec 31, 2014  

Exclusive Workshops with Master Healer, Deborah King

April 3-6: Turn Back the Clock,
June 5-8: LifeForce Self Mastery,
September 11-14: Turn Back the Clock,
December 4-7: LifeForce Self Mastery.

Join master healer Deborah King for four intimate workshops throughout the year where you will learn how to rejuvenate your mind, body, and soul, and become a master of your own self-healing!
Deborah has transformed the lives of thousands with her amazing sessions and workshops. A gifted shaman and healer, she is also a spiritual teacher whose books, New York Times best-selling Be Your Own Shaman, Truth Heals and Entangled in Darkness: Seeking the Light, are essential handbooks for those seeking to transcend to higher levels of consciousness. In these workshops designed especially for guests of Miraval, you will delve even deeper into the realm of energy healing and experience the magic of your own natural healing capabilities.
After a two-hour introduction on Thursday evening, you’ll spend 5 hours on Friday and Saturday as well as 2 hours on Sunday basking in Deborah’s powerful energy and potent healing gifts as she shares her secrets to processing emotional blocks and uncovering your own innate self-healing abilities. Best of all, Deborah is known for delivering highly successful activations and healings, both to those she works with directly and also extended to everyone in the audience. Experience your own spiritual awakening at the hands of this gifted healer, and activate a whole new you!

Call 800.232.3969 to book your stay and reserve your space for these exclusive events!

Miraval
http://www.miravalresorts.com/plan_your_stay/upcoming_events/deborah_king_workshop/