Cityspa

Cityspa

Address & Info
216 Third Street, N.E.,
Charlottesville, VA 22902
United States
Get Directions
Contact Us

434-984-5046

http://www.cityspa....
Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
The most relaxing gift card in the world.
Give a Spafinder gift card to use at Cityspa
Buy Gift Card

Customer Reviews for Cityspa (12)

LaurenM
January 30, 2014
Great massage
Great massage at CitySpa recently. The waiting/reception area is the only draw back in that it is small and the therapists do a summary of what they found during treatment while you check out...in front of everyone who's 3 feet away. The massage was so good, however, that I'm willing to put up with it.
NainaS
September 4, 2013
Great pedicure!
Relaxing, professional and great selection of polish.
Jenny L
June 7, 2013
Amazing Therapist!!
I have to say I am a massage snob! Seriously. I get them all the time all over the world. I traveled through Charlottesville and asked the lady at the desk at the Omni where to go. She said hands down Cityspa. She also said no matter what else I did, I had to request Karah. She was soooo right!!! Karah was amazing. She was personable, informative and very attentive to my needs. She checked in with me through out the service about pressure and found areas of tension that I wasn't even aware of. That woman is magical!! Cityspa is centrally located in downtown Charlottesville and isn't a stuffy or sterile environment. Its a quaint cozey Victorian Brownstone with lots of charm and warmth. A real find! Thanks Karah, I can't wait for my next fly by in a few months!!
Heidi
May 21, 2013
Not a good place for a sports/deep tissue massage
I don't know why my previous review was removed. I am reposting. Not a good place for a deep tissue/sports massage. I am an endurance athlete and have had deep tissue/sports massage over the last 20 years while engaging in training for marathons, triathlons, etc... I have been to many different places for a massage depending on travel. The massage I received at Cityspa was top 3 weakest massages I have ever received and by an unresponsive masseuse who could not maintain an adjusted pressure even though I asked. To begin, the spa, as another reviewer pointed out, is in a house, and not a zen-like atmosphere. You will have to walk from a parking garage to the house; there are no locker rooms or robes to slip in-to. The check-in room is upstairs in a highly trafficked area. At the time of my appointment, I went upstairs and filled out a form at the check-in room and sat on one of two leather chairs near the main desk. [The leather chairs can be seen on a photo on the business website; what can't be seen in the photo is the main desk and phone by the two leather chairs (more on that later)]. This was my first time at Cityspa and I did not request a specific massage therapist (MT) when I called to make the appointment; I only specified that I wanted a deep tissue massage. I can't recall the name of the woman who was assigned to give me my massage, but she had short, curly light brown/blond hair. BTW, when I called to make the appointment I was told I would receive an email confirmation; I never did. I was ushered into a room where I undressed and got onto a bed. Though the (MT) looked at the form I had filled out, which included what I hoped to get out of the massage (deep tissue, work out tightness in muscles...) she did not ask me any questions before the start such as if I was having any specific problems/injuries, the intensity of my athletic training, etc.... When she came into the room, she asked me what I wanted worked on and I told her I wanted to focus on two areas of my body (back and legs) and reiterated my desire for a deep massage. The MT proceeded to give me a massage that consisted of light, long, strokes and a good deal of placing her hands on top of the blanket (ie not my skin) and rocking my legs. She did not kneed, or otherwise dig into the muscle. I found myself in the position of needing to speak up and ask for her to go deeper. I did speak up and she did go deeper... for about 5 seconds, and then it was back to the long, gentle strokes. She never asked me for feedback; I had to request change of pressure from her. Though I did request deeper pressure, she would not sustain it. Also, she spent a good deal of time stroking my arms which I did not ask for. When the massage was over, the MT left me to get dressed. I went upstairs to the check-in/out room. At this point, I had intended to give some overall feedback to the MT. However, when I walked into the room, there was another customer sitting on the same leather chair I had used to fill out a form, but she was not checking in, she was in the chair receiving a leg massage from another MT. I did not feel comfortable speaking about my experience to my MT while there was another customer sitting a few feet away from the payment table receiving a massage. [side note, I'm happy I did not get the happy feet treatment...who wants to get a foot/leg massage right next to a bustling main desk?] While I was paying my MT, and a woman was getting her leg massaged by a second MT, a third employee walked past me in the check-in room and asked me how I was doing...however she did not give me time to respond, rather she answered for me as she walked by..."I can tell already you have the look of someone who just had a nice massage.." I'm pretty sure my face said, "I'm not pleased." Overall, there was no privacy in the main room which was also used for treatment. Speaking of privacy, the couples massage room is downstairs, in what looks like the original living room of the house, and its entrance is separated by a curtain (ie--it does not have a solid door/sound barrier). Cityspa did not live up to what I have come to expect from a professional massage clinic or spa. The assessment process was not thorough, the massage therapist did not solicit information prior to the massage, nor did she follow my request, and she did not solicit feedback throughout the massage or at the completion of service. The amenities and services are not worth the price. Maybe there are better MT's at CitySpa, however any good spa should train every one of its employees to be responsive to a client's requests and to solicit open feedback throughout.
BETTYA
March 17, 2013
Great Birthday Present
I am on the go alot and, as a rule, do not take a lot of time for myself. My son gave me the perfect birthday gift of a massage and pedicure at City Spa. My morning there was heavenly! The massage therapist was excellent. Knowing that this was my first professional massage, she walked me through the process and checked my comfort throughout the massage. The pedicure was relaxing, and professional. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and came away feeling totally pampered.
JillR
February 14, 2013
Heaven!!
My husband and I went for a "couples massage" last night and it was amazing. Right away they offered us tea/water. The room was large and had candles all over. Each of us had massages that can only be described as heavenly. I had a stiff neck and she worked it out in a nice gently way. We were both very impressed and will go again for sure :)
DonnaG
July 19, 2012
Don't use a spa finder cert with them.
They were running late for my appointment. Did not offer me water. I had to ask for some. Then they cut my massage short. I had a spa finder cert. and they took the whole amount and gave me one of their certs for the remaining amount. Now I have to go back to them.
VeronicaK
January 20, 2012
Excellent deep tissue massage
I woke up Thursday morning with a stiff neck...could not move my head at all! I had a $50 SpaFinder gift card, which could get me a thirty minute deep tissue massage (I'm a grad student; not a lot of extra cash flow!). I am so happy I saved this gift card for this occasion! The massage was incredible. It hurt a little, but in the good kind of way. I came out of CitySpa able to turn my head a bit from side to side and I am on the mend. The space is lovely - not overdone, but homey and comfortable. Excellent service. I hope to be back again!
OliviaR
March 24, 2011
Great treatment
Loved the spa. Sara did a great job on my facial and massage! The room was a little noisy due to people waiting right outside the door but I soon forgot all about them and began to relax.
PatricaS
December 3, 2010
Ahhh Relax
Took a little weekend trip to Charlottesville and really needed just a litttle pick me up and this spa was perfect. It isn't a beautiful day spa with 15+ service rooms and robes/slippers but it's very a very quiet setting and a beautiful fireplace to sit and relax in front of and have a cup of tea. It's very small, intimate, warm and cozy. I received a massage and found the technician wonderful and it was perfect. I left refresed and relaxed and ready to tackle the rest of the weekend. I will definitely go back!
BettinaS
November 14, 2010
Exactly what I wanted!
I went to Cityspa for a much needed massage, and it was exactly what I wanted! I'm normally very picky with my massages because I like hard pressure and I like pressure points done as well. The therapist was very attentive to making sure it was the right pressure and areas I wanted to work on, and it was incredible! I felt like a million bucks when I left and would definitely go back again!
Mrs.M
September 20, 2010
Relaxing and Fun!
The room was soft, the music was so soothing, and the massage was pure bliss!
Load 5 More Reviews +