• Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
  • Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
  • Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
  • Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
  • Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
  • Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
  • Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
  • Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

About Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa overlooks Sanibel Island and San Carlos Bay from a private peninsula along Florida's southwest Gulf Coast. Hotel rooms and suites offer private balconies with panoramic views of the bay, where dolphins can often be seen at play. The property, which encompasses 85 tropical acres, features a design concept that fuses past and present with touches such as azure ceilings and an octagonal pavilion with a turn-of-the-century cupola. Treatments at the 40,000-square-foot (3,716 square meters) spa are inspired by the holistic healing practices of the Calusa tribe, southwest Florida's first inhabitants.

The resort capitalizes on its bayfront location by providing an extensive selection of activities and amenities. A fishing pier tempts anglers, and an on-property marina enables guests to engage in a variety of water sports. Dinner and brunch cruises on a 100-foot-long private yacht are among the many romantic experiences available. A weekend kids' activity club provides parents a chance to renew intimacy. Exercise and movement classes on the daily schedule include tai chi and aqua aerobics, and eight clay tennis courts invite guests' participation.

Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
17260 Harbour Pointe Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908 United States
Get Directions
Contact Info
Contact Us
(866) 979-9246
http://www.sanibel-resort.com/
Buy a Gift Card
Use it at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Buy Gift Card
Hours of Operation
Monday: 8:30am  -  8pm Tuesday: 8:30am  -  8pm Wednesday: 8:30am  -  8pm Thursday: 8:30am  -  8pm Friday: 8:30am  -  8pm Saturday: 8:30am  -  8pm Sunday: 8:30am  -  8pm

Menu of Services

A wooden footbridge leads guests from their accommodations to the 40,000-square-foot (3,716 square meters) spa. Surrounded by mangroves, the ocean-themed spa is decorated in warm sand tones and features eclectic art and a botanical motif throughout. In addition to 29 treatment rooms, the facility encompasses gender-separated steam rooms, saunas, and whirlpools. The spa is equipped with the distinctive BETAR (Bio Energetic Transduction Aided Resonance) bed, an enclosed dome within which guests enjoy full-body sound massage.

Treatments are inspired by the holistic, water- and sea-based healing practices of the Calusa. The signature Four-Layer Facial includes a cool, refreshing seaweed mask and soothing massage; other services include the Calusa Back Facial, Signature Calusa Facial, and Eye & Lip Facial. The Calusa Experience allows couples to perform three marine-based body care treatments on one another in a private steam chamber, followed by an invigorating steam bath. A few unique treatments are the Mango Salt Glo, Sea Softening Scrub and Sea Shell Scrub, which utilizes ground seashells as an exfoliating agent. Guests can also indulge in additional thalossatherapy rituals such as the Sea Shell Body Mask, which combines sea extracts of crushed shells, lettuce, palm, and wakame, and the toning Sea Botanical Wrap, or opt for classic herbal and milk and honey body wraps.

Among the fitness center's many facilities are an indoor exercise pool, a Pilates/yoga studio, an aerobics room, and a full complement of state-of-the-art equipment. The extensive class schedule includes aerobics, aqua aerobics, yoga, and Pilates instruction. Personal trainers are also available for one-on-one sessions.

Guests can also find space for aerobic exercise in one of the resort's five outdoor pools with stunning seaside views.

BODY SCRUBS
Salt Scrub
Load All 1 Body Scrubs +
BODY WRAPS
Herbal Wrap
Load All 1 Body Wraps +
FACIALS
Anti-aging
Back Facial
Exfoliating
Glycolic Acid
Men's
Sensitive/Calming
Signature
Load All 7 Facials +
FACILITIES & AMENITIES
Locker Room
Meeting Facilities
Restaurant
Sauna
Showers
Steam Room
Swimming Pool
Wedding/Event Space
Whirlpool, Jacuzzi
Load All 9 Facilities & Amenities +
FITNESS & ACTIVITIES
Aerobics
Tennis
Yoga Classes
Load All 3 Fitness & Activities +
HAIR/NAIL SERVICES
Hair Styling and Care
Makeup Instruction/Application
Manicures
Pedicures
Waxing
Load All 5 Hair/Nail Services +
MASSAGES
Aromatherapy
Back Massage
Couples
Four Hands
Hot Stone
Swedish
Load All 6 Massages +

Customer Reviews for Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa (12)

CaraB
January 23, 2012
A Troubling Experience...
I recently visited the spa at the Sanibel Harbour Resort and was very disappointed. It did not have a cozy feel to it and seemed very dated and "cold". Staff were dressed somewhat sloppy. There was no hot water for the showers. Only one toilet was in working order. Steam room had rust all over the floor. Treatment rooms were in common area hallway where guests are walked through to the changing room by the attendant. Relaxation room prior to treatment was not secluded and was frequently filled with service and cleaning personel. This made for a very disturbing experience. Spa service itself was satisfactory, but again, had to deal with noise from common areas of cleaning staff walking by and talking, other guests talking. Most spas have a completely separate area behind closed doors or on another floor which holds the treatment rooms to ensure complete peace and quiet. I have spoken to the director of the spa and was fully refunded for my treatment. She said they will be doing renovations in May of 2012. I hope they take my suggestions seriously in order to keep their guests coming and happy.
August 7, 2011
They call this a SPA!
I've been visiting this spa over 25 yrs off and on and believe me nothing has changed. Recently visited since Marriott had taken over and what a major disappointment. While I was waiting for the therapist I had a chance to really see the disgusting dirty carpet, mismatched furniture (looks like they picked it up at a used furn place) in other words please do not have "Marriott" expectations because this is a Motel 6 spa if there is one.
BonnieW
December 26, 2010
TRANQUILL
I have been to this spa & its it the most relaxing spa and its practically in my back yard!! YEAH I am going back & taking my friend next week when she comes to town from the cold and snow in MN.
chrysm
December 17, 2010
very disappointed
We are going back to Ft. Myers but will not be visiting the spa as we have for the last 3 years. We were very disapointed that they no longer have their best therapist, Jim Danitz. Will have to search the area and see where he's working so we can go there!
chrysm
September 7, 2010
Birthday treat
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa is one of my favorite places to visit. I found this hidden jewel three years ago and I have been completely hooked. I have shared my favorite spa with my family and friends and we all love it. The staff is warm, friendly, and professional. The spa has a really nice gym with lots of new equipment (love all the new machines) The sauna and steam room offer pure tranquility. The last time I was at the spa I had a sweedish massage followed by a wrap. My therapist Jim D. was absolutely fantastic. I look forward to returning to my favorite place in Ft. Myers!
SoniaV
February 22, 2010
Needs updating/Better service
Went for a day spa experience with my mother while on vacation in Fort Myers during the week of Feb 8/10 and had the Sea Shell Body Mask which was ok. I have body wraps on a regular basis and this wasn't especially extraordinary. The lotion application after the wrap of mango/pineapple was nicer. The spa lounge/waiting area was really outdated. The girl who took care of us at the lockers was not even dressed professionally like the others. My therapist was nice and ok enough but it seemed rushed and not that calming. The hotel is beautiful itself and where it is situated, the main entrance of the spa was nice. The hot tub, sauna, and steam room areas were really nice along with the pool. But the steam room didn't smell nice, I've been to ones that have a eucalyptus or other refreshing scent, this did not. The locker room area was also small with not enough seating area and too exposed to the front, not private enough. I would definitely not rate this spa as one of the top ten in America, I've been to a Miami spa that was much better. Definitely needs improvement to get that kind of stature. Too bad, was looking forward to a nice spa experience in the area but this was mediocre at best.
TaliaF
February 21, 2010
awesome!!!
I came in for a back neck and shoulder massage. I was in alot of pain and I had Jim Danitz for my massage. He was absolutely amazing! After i left i feel so relieved of my back pain that i scheduled another time to go back. However, Jim wasnt available but Melanie was the lady that I was put with. She was also phenomenal! She even gave me a complimentay head massage afterwards because i said i had a headache when i first came in. They were wonderful at meeting my needs and expectations! Their facilities are very cool, When i walked in to use the steam room, sauna, etc, itwas like my own little getaway place. It felt so secluded from the world that i felt like all my problems and worries were left outside :) It was the perfect paradise!
CarinA
January 9, 2010
Couples Massage
We were staying in Captiva Island and decided to book a couples massage at the Sanibel Harbour Resort. It was a delightful, relaxing and refreshing experience. It was the first time my boyfriend had a massage and he loved it. They did a great job making us feel welcome and relaxed. I am in the process of booking another massage for us for our trip back in March of this year!
DJV
October 29, 2009
Relaxtion, relaxation
I am an admitted spa junkie and visit them around the U.S. I had a chance to squeeze in two treatments on a recent business trip to Sanibel Harbour Resort--a 30 minute neck, back and shoulder massage and a pedicure. The massage was relaxing and rejuvenating. The therapist was excellent and the massage table had a 'water' mattress underneath which made laying on it very, very comfortable. As for the pedicure, it was fantastic. I've never, ever nodded off during a pedicure until now. They just can't seem to do enough to make you feel comfortable. The various flavored waters were a nice treat. I highly recommend the Spa.
MicheleW
June 18, 2009
Best Facial I Ever Had
I travel quite a bit for business and like to try different spas on my free time. Most recently I was at The Spa at Sanibel Harbour Resort and I booked the Calusa Facial (their signature service). Mary's voice was very calming and she had the lighting just right in the room. The table was perfectly contoured to my body and also had a massage feature. The products Mary used were all indigenous to the area and she was helpful in explaining each of the ingredients during application. The best was the paraffin wax mask. This was so relaxing, I actually fell asleep. The facilities were quite extensive with steam, jacuzzi and an indoor pool, however, needs some updating. There was also a large fitness facility with classes. If I ever find myself back in the area, I will definitely go back!
LilMsSpaJunkie
January 23, 2007
really needs a big upgrade
This spa has been here for quite some time. It was the first in the area and it is too bad that it has not kept up with current spa fashion. My biggest gripe is that it is poorly maintained. Cleanliness is ultra important and dirty upholstery and carpet and mildew do not equate with the prices of the services offered. The Four Layer facial is yesterday's treatment and the one I had on my last visit was really poorly done. I had a competent masseuse but if I am paying for a resort spa, I would like something more. The hotel has been bought and sold so many times, it has to be hard to maintain any sort of quality. Unfortunately, this spa has been unable to rise to the challenge.
drasan
January 17, 2007
spa experience....NOT
Very disappointed in this spa. Furniture in the ladies lounge worn and stained. Treatment rooms were very clinical....no ambiance. No spa atmosphere to this place. Trash cans overflowing in the bathrooms with partial toilet paper rolls on floor. Not worth the money. I would not recommend this place. I have been to many other spas and this is on the bottom of my experiences. If we ever return to sanibel, I would probably check out day spas that are in the area.
Load 5 More Reviews +

Facilities & Amenities

Facilities & Amenities

Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa makes the most of its beautiful seaside location. In addition to sunset cruises on the resort's private luxury yacht, guests can fish from a chartered boat or a pier jutting into San Carlos Bay. Canoes, kayaks, and powerboats can be rented from Port Sanibel Marina (a five-minute shuttle ride from the property) for full- or half-day excursions through mangrove-lined waterways.

Adults needing relaxation can spend the day lounging by the pool or playing tennis on eight clay courts staffed by expert instructors. Activities for kids are available on weekends, including "dive-in movies," age-appropriate films projected at the pool for children to watch as they enjoy a supervised evening swim.

A golf concierge can arrange tee times for guests at three nearby 18-hole courses. A short boat ride transports visitors from the resort to Sanibel Island, home to the J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge, which encompasses more than 5,200 acres of mangrove ecosystem, sheltering manatees, otters, and a large population of migratory birds. Among the other fun destinations in the vicinity are the former winter homes of Henry Ford and Thomas Edison, preserved as historical sites in the town of Fort Myers.

Facilities

Steam Room

Showers

Bar/Cafe/Restaurant

Changing/Locker Rooms

Sauna

Jacuzzi

Amenities

Changing/Locker Rooms

Rooms & Dining

Rooms & Dining

Hotel and luxury club accommodations are available at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa. The 107-room Captiva Tower is a private enclave offering exclusive services and personalized pool amenities. Not far from the spa, the hotel complex has two swimming pools as well as five restaurants and lounges. Most accommodations include large windows and private balconies looking out on the bay and Sanibel Island.

The resort's six distinctive dining experiences extend from land to sea. Named for the inn that stood on the property before Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa was constructed, the Tarpon House specializes in market fresh seafood in a plantation-style setting for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The menu is highlighted by a choice selection of flavorful fish prepared in a variety of cooking styles, complimented by a variety of seasonings and sauces. The Courtside Steakhouse is known for its flavorful angus-beef entrees as well as its 1,200-bottle wine cellar. The Cove is a casual poolside eatery offering light meals and specialty drinks.

Brunch and dinner cruises are scheduled regularly on the Sanibel Harbour Princess, an elegant luxury yacht with air-conditioned salons and an observation deck. Charley's Cabana Bar offers a tropical atmosphere suitable for enjoying a menu of colorful concoctions and tapas.

Food Options

Serves Alcohol