• Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta
  • Rancho La Puerta

About Rancho La Puerta

When Rancho La Puerta was created in 1940, two grand oak trees met at the center of the property, forming the door-like archway that gave this destination spa its name. One of these trees still stands, surrounded by 3,000 acres of lush gardens, swimming pools, and cozy casitas, all watched over by mystical Mt. Kuchumaa. Located only 45 miles southeast of San Diego, just over the border into Mexico, the weather at this resort is always spectacular--warm and dry--so every week is the perfect week to visit. Rates here include all lodging, activities, meals, classes, programs, and scheduled transportation. Only spa services are optional extras.

Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
(Max of $500 per person, per stay)
Spafinder Wellness 365 Wellness Travel Awards 2014 Nominee

Awards

See More

Awards

  1. Spafinder Wellness 365 Wellness Travel Awards 2014 Nominee
Baja California, Tecate, Mexico
Get Directions
Contact Info
Contact Us
+1(877) 440-7773
rancholapuerta.com
Buy a Gift Card
Use it at Rancho La Puerta
Buy Gift Card
Hours of Operation
Monday: 6am  -  6pm Tuesday: 6am  -  6pm Wednesday: 6am  -  6pm Thursday: 6am  -  6pm Friday: 6am  -  6pm Saturday: 8am  -  4:30pm Sunday: 8am  -  4:30pm

Deals & Specials

  • Holiday Short Stays
    As our holiday gift to you, we are offering a 10% savings on “Short Stays” during specific weeks!
    Valid Nov 29 - Dec 19

Menus of Services / Classes

Set in the midst of nature with a climate rarely marred by rainfall, Rancho La Puerta has always strived to create a mind/body/spirit balance, in which the finest spa treatments provide the perfect counterpoint to days of activity, exercise, and exploration.

Separate men's and women's health center facilities have showers, steam rooms, saunas, hot whirlpools and private areas for sunbathing. Additionally, at the Villas Health Center, guests can sample a full menu of soothing treatments such as a relaxing scalp massage, reflexology, and the popular Hot Riverstone Massage. Another signature treatment relaxes and detoxes with steaming hot linens steeped in traditional Native American herbs wrapped around the body. Other treatments include the Loofah Salt Glow, customized healing massages, and detoxifying facials. Salon services are available for hair and scalp treatments.

BODY SCRUBS
Salt Scrub
Load All 1 Body Scrubs +
BODY WRAPS
Algae/Seaweed
Aromatherapy Body Wrap
Herbal Wrap
Load All 3 Body Wraps +
COMPLIMENTARY AND ALTERNATIVE
Acupuncture
Chiropractic
Hydrotherapy
Other CAM Wellness Treatments
Sound Healing
Load All 4 Complimentary and Alternative +
ENERGY WORK
Chakra Balancing
Load All 1 Energy Work +
FACIALS
Anti-aging
Back Facial
Custom
Exfoliating
Fruit Acid
Men's
Other Facials
Signature
Load All 8 Facials +
FACILITIES & AMENITIES
Laundry
Locker Room
Relaxation Lounge
Retail Store
Robes Provided
Sauna
Showers
Slippers Provided
Steam Room
Swimming Pool
Toiletries Available
Whirlpool, Jacuzzi
Load All 12 Facilities & Amenities +
FITNESS & ACTIVITIES
Aerobics
Dancing
Hiking
Meditation
Personal Training
Pilates with Mat
Pilates with Reformer
Spinning
Tai Chi
Tennis
Yoga Classes
Load All 11 Fitness & Activities +
HAIR/NAIL SERVICES
Hair and Scalp Treatments
Hair Styling and Care
Makeup Instruction/Application
Manicures
Pedicures
Load All 5 Hair/Nail Services +
MASSAGES
Aromatherapy
Back Massage
Couples
Deep Tissue
Feldenkrais
Four Hands
Hand/Foot
Hot Stone
Myofascial Release
Prenatal/Postnatal
Reflexology
Scalp
Sports
Swedish
Thai
Trigger Point Massage
Load All 16 Massages +
PREVENTIVE
Nutrition Consultation or Therapy
Load All 1 Preventive +
WATER TREATMENTS
Hydrotherapy
Vichy Shower
Watsu
Load All 3 Water Treatments +
FITNESS
Aerobics
Dancing
Personal Training
Qigong
Tai Chi
Tennis
Boxing
Cardio Boxing
Swim Conditioning
Ranch Bootcamp
Kettle Bells
TRX Combo
Cardio Drumming
Load All 7 Fitness +
PILATES
Pilates with Mat
Pilates with Reformer
Load All 2 Pilates +
WELLNESS
Golf
Hiking
Spinning
Load All 3 Wellness +
YOGA
Yoga Classes
Yoga Sculpt
Load All 1 Yoga +

Customer Reviews for Rancho La Puerta (8)

ValerieB
April 13, 2012
Very Accomodating!!
Spent 2 wonderful weeks at the Ranch in Feb. Staff goes the extra mile to accommodate special needs and requests. I requested a gluten and dairy free diet and had a wonderful variety of very tasty offerings every day. You do have to monitor your intake. You are never hungry. The hiking program was very good. Moderate mountain hikes offered daily and 2 challenging hikes (7-9 mile mountain). My casita had a wood burning fire place which they prepared and cleaned daily. Great for the cool nights. Some rooms are close to the main road and traffic can be loud. Unfortunately, I had items stolen from the pool area; even being in Mexico; I expected better from the self contained resort, which spoiled an otherwise perfect spa experience.
Mary EllenS
November 16, 2011
Inspiring
I went by myself when I lived in NYC in about 2006. It was a wonderful retreat & I will be sure to visit again. I learned so much and continue to use the things I learned in my daily life, for example meditation, including labyrinth walking, and positioning my body so that I'm not in pain using Feldenkrais. The cranio-sacral therapy was freakishly amazing. The mountain air was refreshing. Because the food was prepared using produce grown on the grounds, I came away with a different perspective on food too.
JorinaD
October 19, 2010
Memorable
My boss sent me here as a thank you. It was spectacular. I had the best time on the grounds. I had never been to Mexico before and the entire experience surpassed my expectations. I highly highly recommend . I will definitely be back.
LiseS
May 31, 2010
Great Spa and lots of activities!
This spa-resort has a wide variety of classes, treatments, and extra activities. Our group love to hike and we enjoyed the daily variety of hiking options. Our favorite hike was to the spa own garden where they grow all their own vegetables and then we had breakfast there. They've opened the cooking school since I've been there and I can't wait to go back! Plan on LOTS of walking - the rooms/buildings are across the property and you will easily get in the 10K steps a day in just walking between your room and the activities!
doctorbubba
April 25, 2009
A wonderful place to renew your spirit and body!
My husband and I just attended the Couples Week at Rancho La Puerta. It was our first spa experience and definitely won't be our last as it was a life-changing week. The spa setting itself is beyond gorgeous and serene. The staff are the most polite and dedicated we have encountered at any resort. The classes, whether fitness or topical, are professional with knowledgeable & enthusiastic leaders. There is such a great variety of activities to choose from ithat we didn't come close to trying everything. The food is fabulous, the cooking school and organic gardens are a highlight, the spa services are superb. We could not be happier with our vacation and have carried over that renewal since coming home.
Ranchlover
January 6, 2009
Have a Fabulous Week
My husband and I have visited Rancho La Puerta for 3 consecutive years during couples week. There's so much variety we can have fun together or go our own ways and meet up at meal time. Wonderful, fresh, organic food. An incredible number of activities. Casual atmosphere. Walk around in your sweats all day and feel perfectly at home. The casitas are private and comfortable. We love it.
Fit and Healthy
July 8, 2006
You Must Experience It!
After two trips to Rancho La Puerta, I haven't lost my enthusiasm for the facility and its services. The first time, I went alone and found it a very easy place to make acquaintances quickly with very little effort. On my second trip, two friends joined me as a result of listening to my rave reviews. Since Rancho is vegetarian, one friend expected to be hungry all week. She was truly surprised to find she did not miss meat and that the food was delicious beyond her wildest dreams. My other companion, an avid hiker, thoroughly enjoyed being challanged on her treks. The spa treatments, manicures and pedicures, spoiled us for the real world. In most instances, they were far better than what we get at home. In the evenings, there are a variety of activities - lectures, music, films. Bingo night is filled with fun and prizes for all. The abundance of programs, activities, excellent services along with interesting people make this a must experience.
SpaExpert
February 22, 2006
TOP SPA
I have been to a few spas in my life. Really like the destination type spas as they make you feel so great when you leave. RLP has tons of exercise classes and great instructors. The food is mostly vegan but really really good. This spa has been around for over 60 years and defines what spas should be. You will also make a lot of friends here as the bonding among the guests is really special. Do not worry about the Mexico tag, it is really first rate and might be the best spa I have been to. Bring sun screen!
Load 8 More Reviews +

Facilities & Amenities

Facilities & Amenities

Hikes start as early as 6 a.m., and guests can explore the mountain terrain of Mt. Kuchumaa, ramble over wildflower-strewn fields, and thread along an oak-shaded creek bed. Some trails traverse up to five miles of challenging terrain, while others are perfectly suited to easy, almost-level nature walks at your own pace. Fitness classes begin at 9:00 a.m., and more than 50 exercise classes are offered during the course of the day, with guests encouraged (of course, nothing is required!) to choose one per day from each of four categories--strength building, stretching and flexibility, coordination, cardiovascular, and "inner journey or mindfulness. Water aerobics, Pilates, yoga, and Fitball are a small sampling of the fitness offerings at Rancho La Puerta. There is a huge array of strength training and fitness machines at the resort. Several of the 10 gyms are dedicated to Body/Mind/Spirit harmonizing classes such as meditation, yoga, and tai chi. A full-scale labyrinth is located in a secluded oak grove. Another favorite spot is Kuchumaa Gym where fitness and dance classes are held behind incredible James Hubbell stained glass doors and underneath sparkling chandeliers. Guests spend leisure time birdwatching, attending art and jewelry making classes, taking cooking lessons, relaxing by the pool, or resting in one of the many hammocks slung around the grounds. Evening programs feature noted speakers such as former Secretaries of State, poet laureates, noted scientists and sociologists, novelists, and broadcasters, to name a few. As well, the resort hosts intimate wedding ceremonies and receptions in the property’s organic gardens and culinary center, La Cocina Que Canta.

Facilities

Physiotherapy/Sports Massage

Pool-Outdoor

Sauna

Toiletries Available

Hair and Beauty

Steam Room

Tennis

Showers

Wedding/Event Space

Bar/Cafe/Restaurant

Fitness Testing

Changing/Locker Rooms

Resistance Equipment

Cardiovascular Equipment

Nutritional/Dietical Expert

Spa

Jacuzzi

Weight Loss/Slimming Programs

Sports pitches/courts

Amenities

Slippers Provided

Meeting Facilities

Concierge

Robes Provided

Retail Shop

Rooms & Dining

Rooms & Dining

Several types of accommodation are offered at Rancho La Puerta. A total of 87 guest rooms can accommodate 125-140 guests at one time with surprising intimacy and privacy. Two villa areas, the Villa Sol and the Villa Luna, are mini-resorts in and of themselves with spacious, casually appointed guest rooms, all with mountain or garden views and a nearby pool. Additional casitas, called Flores, are located on the property and provide both space and privacy to single guests and couples. Accommodations are characterized by fireplaces and stone terraces and allow for the coziest of nights with windows open to the scents of local sage and high mountain wildflowers.

Rancho La Puerta is committed to ecologically sound principles in everything, and food is no exception. The resort's large organic farm provides picked-daily produce to supplement the buffet breakfast of Mexican coffee, fresh fruits, fresh-baked spa bread, a buffet lunch, and the casual yet elegant sit-down dinner. Cuisine is vegetarian (including eggs and dairy) with optional seafood entreés at dinner that highlight the fresh-caught fish of Baja waters.

Food Options

Vegetarian

Organic

Other Needs Accommodated

Vegan

Portion Control