FREE GROUND SHIPPING For All Gift Card Orders! Shop Now
  • Essential Massage Therapy
  • Essential Massage Therapy
  • Essential Massage Therapy
  • Essential Massage Therapy
  • Essential Massage Therapy
  • Essential Massage Therapy

About Essential Massage Therapy

Essential Massage Therapy is a Ferndale, Michigan spa that believes that massage is not a luxury for the few; it is an acquirable necessity for all. The spa strives to create a serene and peaceful experience for clients with staff members committed to providing clients with special care and consideration. During the client's first visit, they must fill out a health history form and will work with their therapist to determine treatment needs and goals. Certified and licensed professionals perform a variety of massage modalities such as Swedish, deep-tissue, hot stone, couple's, reflexology, reiki, neck and shoulder, and chair. Some of the spa's unique offerings include massages relating to women's reproductive health including prenatal, fertility.

Essential Massage Therapy

Address & Info
Essential Massage Therapy
22941 Woodward,
Ferndale, MI 48220
United States
Get Directions
Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
Hours of Operation
Mon: 9am  -  7pm Tues: 9am  -  7pm Wed: 9am  -  7pm Thu: 9am  -  7pm Fri: 9am  -  7pm Sat: 10am  -  4pm Sun: 10am  -  4pm
Contact Info
Contact Us

+(248)547-5428

www.emtherapy.com
 
Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
Contact Info
Contact Us

+(248)547-5428

www.emtherapy.com
The most relaxing gift card in the world.
Give a Spafinder gift card to use at Essential Massage Therapy
Buy Gift Card

Menu of Services

MASSAGES
Couples
Deep Tissue
Hot Stone
Prenatal/Postnatal
Reflexology
Reiki
Sports
Swedish
Load All 8 Massages +

Customer Reviews for Essential Massage Therapy (12)

KirstenJ
October 13, 2013
Great massage!
After trying nearly every place in Ferndale and the surrounding areas, Essential Massage is by far my favorite place for a massage. I have continued to use others with Groupons, etc., but really, this is the place. I used a SpaFinder gift certificate today for a prenatal massage -- my first prenatal -- in part because I feel like I am coming down with a cold and wanted to work it out. Sarah (sp) was excellent and helped with some problem areas that were outside the normal realm of a prenatal massage. If you're considering Essential, just do it.
BradH
December 2, 2012
Texting
If clients are not allowed to use their cellphones while at your business, therapist should not be allowed to text while giving massages either. I am sure your paying customers do not like being massage with one hand while the therapist are on the phone! Not classy!
cathleenr
September 1, 2012
BEST MASSAGE ANYWHERE
I get massages monthly to help relieve some of the tension in my back. I also try new spas all over the world when I'm traveling or on vacation. Lisa at Essential gives the best massage that I've had anywhere. The staff is professional and the spa is quiet, clean, and relaxing. After every massage on my way out, the staff always asks how I feel and asks how the massage was so if there was an issue, their clients have the opportunity to let EMT know right then so they can address any concerns. For the last three years, my family gives me gift certificates for my birthday and Christmas and I have NEVER had an issue redeeming them. I've never had a gift certificate that didn't have an expiration from other businesses so this is not something out of normal practice. The staff always inquires what the occasion was for the gift certificate too. I continue to recommend Essential to all my friends and family and they always tell me what a great experience it was. There is simply no other place that I would go for a massage. EMT is FABULOUS and five stars isn't even a good enough rating!
KCC
April 13, 2012
The owner is a THIEF
My husband used to buy me several gift certificates every Christmas for Essential Massage. My last GC for the year was about to expire and I scheduled the appointment before it did expire and mentioned that to them. When I got there they refused to accept it. I argued with the owner about it, and she is very stupid. She said "how would you like it if you gave service but didn't get paid?" in an attempt to defend herself. I said "My husband already paid you months ago for the service. You got paid." She's a thief. I can't believe she's still in business. I have never looked someone in the eyes, have them try to defend that it was OK to steal our money. I hope she closes her doors!
Response from Essential Massage Therapy
We're very sorry to hear that you had a less then desirable experience at our office. We value all of our loyal clients, especially those who have been with us throughout the 9 years we've been in business. We always hope that everyone has had nothing but the best massage and customer service experience possible. We do not have any recent record of this type of situation occurring, and after checking with all our staff members we are not sure who you spoke with, but can assure you it was not the owner or a manager. We would have been more than happy to honor your gift certificate. We tend to be rather lenient with our gift certificate policy, and would not have refused to honor it at the time of your appointment, especially if you had already mentioned the expiration date upon scheduling and received approval to redeem it. When this occurs, our receptionists always make note of the approval as to avoid any confusion at the time of your visit. Our gift certificates also have a one to five year expiration so if purchased in December would not be expiring in the month of March or April. Our owner is a therapist herself, and because of our flexibility on this policy, it is rare for her to speak directly to a client regarding gift certificate issues. If you would like to contact us at 248-547-5428, we would like to resolve this matter for you, by honoring your services or refunding your money so that you may have the relaxing and wonderful experience that we strive to provide for all of our clients.
RichardL
November 12, 2011
Somewhat disappointed
My family and I have been regular customers of Essential Massage for years and we habitually buy each other gift certificates for birthdays, etc. I happened to find a GC that expired so I called to schedule an appointment and the receptionist told me that it is their policy to not accept expired gift certificates. It's one thing to deny expired coupons but my wife paid $70 for the gift certificate and my feeling is that we should not be denied the use of this certificate. I think that it is a bad business policy. In addition, I have been there and paid for services out of my pocket since the time that my wife purchased the GC. The things that we enjoyed about EM is that it is low key, professional and convenient to our neighboorhood. Unfortunately I feel ripped off and disappointed and Essential Massage has lost a long time repeat customer. I would reccomend that if you go there for services, do not buy a gift certificate.
Response from Essential Massage Therapy
"Gift certificates are available for purchase and make a great gift. They do, however, expire within one year of purchase and we cannot extend the expiration date. We apologize, but gift certificates cannot be replaced if lost." This policy can be found both in our brochure, as well as on our website. We also try our best to state our policy to every client who buys a gift certificate at the time of purchase. Our number one goal is customer satisfaction and we apologize for any disappointment you may have had with both our policies and your experience. Unfortunately, our receptionists do not have the authority to make exceptions to our policies, however, if you would like to speak with a manager regarding this matter please feel free to call our office at 248-547-5428. In the past we have allowed loyal and valued customers to use expired gift certificates Monday thru Friday with manager approval. Again we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and hope that you will give us the chance to resolve this matter.
SarahF
April 7, 2011
The best massages around!
I have been here on a few occasions and each massage I have had (all different therapists) have been amazing. The spa is not "fancy". Its very low key, down to earth which is nice when you just want to run in, get a massage. The parking is good - both lots and street parking nearby. I would not hesitate to send anyone there. The massages are reasonably priced and a much better massage than a lot of the big name spas in Birmingham. Its really my go to place!
cathleenr
November 21, 2010
Best massage in the Detroit Area
I just received a deep tissue massage from Lisa and I have to say it was the best massage I've EVER had. The entire experience was wonderful. The staff was professional, the atmosphere was calming, and the aches I went in with are gone. I've already booked my next appointment it was that good!
TiffanyB
May 23, 2009
Awesome Experience!
I got a deep tissue massage from Lucas and it was great! He targeted my problem spots and when I left I was in a lot less pain than when I arrived! His expertise was evident in his ability to tailor the massage to my needs instead of just going through a standard routine. Thanks!! I'll be back soon!!
JoeR
February 7, 2009
Great experience!
My first visit to the spa was a great experience! The staff was very friendly, the room was quiet and relaxing and Lisa gave an excellent massage. I will definitely be back!
TMK1
September 17, 2008
Great massage!
I just moved to this area from Chicago and I used to get massages almost every week. I'm so happy I found Essential to continue my regimen in Michigan and get out all my sore spots. The staff was so nice and even recommended all the best lunch spots. It was quiet and the dark colors were relaxing. I have seen two therapists here so far and both were good. Lisa ROCKS!
awesomema85
February 27, 2008
prenatal message
Twice I've been here and I have had totally different messages and they both were better than the average mesuse.
Tracy622
March 7, 2007
Greatest Massage Ever!!
Essential Massage Therapy was beautiful, clean, modern decor and lots of friendly staff members. I have to say that I get massages about 4 times a month and this was the best expirence I've had to date. This was my first visit to Essential Massage Therapy, but it will not be my last. I highly reccomend anyone who is looking for a great massage and friendly people to visit this wonderful place!!!!!
Load 5 More Reviews +