Alora Ambiance Spa

Alora Ambiance Spa

Address & Info
109 Cornelia Street,
Boonton, NJ 07005
United States
Get Directions
Contact Us

(973)263-4555

http://www.Aloraspa...
 
Contact Us

(973)263-4555

http://www.Aloraspa...
Accepts Spafinder Gift Cards
The most relaxing gift card in the world.
Give a Spafinder gift card to use at Alora Ambiance Spa
Buy Gift Card

Customer Reviews for Alora Ambiance Spa (42)

MariaM
June 28, 2014
Strived for 5
I was introduced to alora Spa in Booton, NJ about a year ago. for laser treatments. To date, I have been very pleased with the results and have referred many friends and family to experience the spa. Its small, quaint relaxation area allows me to unwind before any services. The products are high quality, the availability of time slots are accommodating and most pleasurable are the staff and owner, Patty. Patty has consistently provided me with her level of expertise and always strived above and beyond to maintain wellness. Kudos to Alora
IleenV
March 26, 2014
Groupon rip off
I purchased 2 Groupons for $39 eacc. they were for 60 minute massages. When we arrived they immediately said we each owed $22.95. 5.95 tax and 17.00 for mandatory pre paid gratuity based on $85. So add that to the $39 i paid and it is no longer a great deal!!! Clearly there was a sign there that stated massages were $49. The Groupon did state that tax was additional and that you SHOULD tip generously. Nowhere did it state what we were charged. Do t people have to earn their tip? I was prepared to pay up to $20. I had cash and would determine what i was giving after services were rendered. Because my husband and i were together they opened the door between the two very tiny rooms we were in. I had a male doing my massage. There were no easy slow strokes. I felt like i take more tine putting lotion on in the morning. This was confirmed when i was already flipped over and hr E was on my back when my husband was just being flipped. We started at the same time. So i thought...well i will get an awesome back massage...nice and long. Wrong again. It was really strange. Not much massaging...alot of pressure and rocking. Dont waste your money.
AmandaC
December 7, 2013
Surpasses Expectations
The ambiance of the spa really surpassed my expectations. The inside is comfortablly small, clean and welcoming. The front desk staff was attentive and polite. I received a Hydra-Facial, one of the newest facial technologies, and was THOROUGHLY pleased with the results. Dark spots and dryness was gone after one visit. I definitely recommend this treatment. As for the massage, Lisa made me very comfortable as she was very professional and adept in her skill. I continue to visit for a masasge every month as I have yet to find another service that provides such satisfacton. :) THANKS ALORA!
DebM
December 4, 2013
Definitely Worth It - 5 yrs & counting
A few years ago I received a gift certificate to Alora Ambiance Spa for my birthday. I was so impressed with the services that now five years later, I am still going back. I decided to have my birthday party there and my friends had such a pleasant experience that they plan on going back as well. Expect to walk out of there feeling and looking great!
WhitneyG
September 12, 2013
AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!!!!
I purchased a Groupon for Laser Hair Removal and I have never had a better experience using Groupon. My technician explained everything to me, answered all of my questions and was a complete sweetheart! Ive had amazing results and cant wait to start more areas! I look forward to visiting the new location in New York ! Great experience!!!
JT
August 14, 2013
Save your money
Save your money and go elsewhere. Unfortunately, received a laser hair removal as a gift, a pedicure as a gift, and a gift card that I used for a massage. LASER HAIR REMOVAL = I had my upper lip, chin, and armpits treated. After 6 sessions (on each area) I did not see a difference in hair regrowth, so the aesthetician insisted that I try 6 more sessions (on each area) because sometimes it takes a few more sessions to see the final result. Didn't work. I had 1 treatment per month for a whole year and it's like I never had the laser hair removal done at all. I wasted my time and my money, but the absolute worst part about all of this is that because the patient has to shave the regrowth with a razor, my upper lip is now a thick, dark, mustache AND while before the laser hair removal i used to have only a few chin hairs on one side, now i have thick patches of dark hair on both sides and the center of my chin, including a large patch of coarse hair under my chin (closer to my neck). MANAGEMENT = In the 13 month I went to the salon once per month and every single time, the staff was late for my appointment. I just started going to every appointment 15 minutes late and still had to wait. OWNER = Is obnoxious and unprofessional.
GraceM
May 30, 2013
Laser Hair Removal
I purchased 6 Laser Hair removal sessions. The results were almost non-existing. The owner was honoring a Groupon price. After research, I discovered her pricing was higher than other offers at different locations. Needless to say, if the outcome of the laser had been a successful one, the price would not have been an issue. The owner kept assuring me that her process was better and more successful than other lasers. Which was not the case. I called back to advise that after the treatment there was little to nothing accomplished. I was told I would have to purchase additional sesssions. Why would I purchase additional sessions when they did not work the first time? The owner says she uses a YAG laser which should not be used without supervision of a doctor in the state of NJ. Overall the experience was not a good one.
JilliamM
March 29, 2013
Horrible Experience
My sister & I planned a spa day here over 2 months ago, i am 7.5 months pregnant. we had gift certificates & groupons along with full price service items. I have been to this facility numerous times for various services & have always been very happy. We arrived early & waited then we were separated where I went in for a scrub which was the only semi enjoyable part of my experience. My sister was sent downstairs for her manicure & pedicure, obviously we would have like to have our mani & pedi together so we could spend time together. That was the point of the day, we were told there was only one massage therapist (which was completely false, we came to realize a bit later). My scrub was some was enjoyable if the technician would have stopped talking & slamming in & out of cabinets thought the duration. My "prenatal massage" was absolutely horrible, the masseuse was definitely not trained in prenatal, I was very uncomfortable & the "massage" was more of a skin caress then a massage again the service provider talked throughout most of my service. I came out to my sister already done & sitting on the couch (not happy), her 55 minute hydro manicure & pedicure was a mere 35 minutes & the tech was 15 minutes late starting her service
JulieS
January 9, 2013
Very Happy & relaxed
I had visited the establishment last week & from the time I walked in the door to the time I left the people were very nice to me & took great care of me. I have been a customer of Alora Spa for many years & they are very personable. The prices are very reasonable compared to other salons. See Patty who owns/runs the place she is a great person.
DonnaB
January 6, 2013
The Best Facials
Cozy spa where I have had some of the best facials ever!
js
December 28, 2012
Go somewhere else
I recently noticed yet another Groupon advertisement come through my email for this place. Please please go somewhere else. This establishment tries to draw in new clients through deal chicken but then treats them second rate when she is making less money. There are so many nice places out there, just don't take a chance. You would think the owner would be tired of defending her/staff actions on this site. Just go somewhere else.
ayshak
December 20, 2012
Great Experience !!!!
I have been visiting Alora spa since 5 years and i have been adding laser to my areas cause i have seen awesome results!!! Patricia the owner and her staff is very warm welcoming and friendly.They are fully trained on laser hair removal equipments.I have personally referred many people to visit this spa,they are very happy and satisfied with the services. Also, many referal cutomers have been adding on other areas too.
briannab
December 20, 2012
Great Spa, Great Experience
I've gotten many treatments at Alora Spa and they've all been fabulous. Deysi, the nail technician, did such a fantastic job on my mani/pedi and my gels lasted almost 3 weeks! Most places I go to they last less than that. I've also gotten massages by all 3 therapists Carol, Meliton, and Judith and all were excellent. My facials were amazing as well. Alora Spa has a great atmosphere and the staff is so nice and make you feel welcome. I have recommended this spa to my family and they've all come! My mom is coming on Saturday for a day of relaxation too. Alora Spa is definitely the place to go!
UK
November 3, 2012
Do Not Go Here.
I found a Groupon for this place and went there for laser hair removal on my bikini area. The staff is very friendly and the facility is nice, HOWEVER, the inadequately trained aesthetician used an inappropriate laser for my skintone and BURNED ME WITH IT. I had large bruise-like discolorations all around my bikini area. I LOOKED LIKE I HAD AN STD. I spoke with the owner who did not seem very apologetic and said, "well these things are not unusual, if the laser was bothering you, you should have said something." She gave me free laser sessions and ointments to remove the scars, but its now more than six months later and they are still somewhat visible. DO NOT GO HERE.
SivaA
October 15, 2012
Rude owner and untrained staff
I purchased a set of 6 laser hair removal treatments for Brazilian area ($179), after speaking to their staff about the area that will be covered in the Brazilian treatment. The first 3 times I was treated by 3 different technicians for the Brazilian. The fourth treatment was scheduled with the owner of the spa, who declined to provide me the treatment for Brazilian, saying that the amount I paid was for the Bikini Line and I have been getting the full Brazilian. The owner was very rude and had the discussion with me while my pants were off waiting to get the treatment. However, I tried to explain to her that this is what her staff told me and that is what I have been getting the past 3 times. She would not listen. To get the remaining 3 treatments she demanded that I pay the additional amount for Full Brazilian ($299). I told her that I bought the Brazilian treatment only because it is at a price that I am willing to pay and do not want to pay additionally and she should honor the receipt and what I was made to believe. All 3 technicians who provided me the treatment and the person who explained to me what the Brazilian would cover before I purchased their service could not be wrong.
Response from Alora Ambiance Spa
We are sorry that there was a miscommunication with this client, however we have tried to explain the difference of the two areas multiple times in many different terms and she is unwilling to listen. We take pride in our staff's ability and qualifications and stand behind them. We are also very surprised to see a review like this since this client has in fact returned for further services and even recommended many friends and family members to us since this unfortunate ordeal. We have done every thing in our power to correct any mistake on our behalf and hope that all of our clients are happy with there experience at the Alora Ambiance Spa.
NA N
October 15, 2012
It was wonderful services.
Nice spa environment, relaxing music and great services. Get there a little ahead of time to enjoy tea that is part of the great experience.
SarahB
October 14, 2012
Laser Hair Removal
I am in the process of undergoing laser hair removal at this spa. Samantha, the technician, is wonderful. She answered all of my questions and calmed my nervousness. The atmosphere is tranquil and relaxing, except when they burn their awful smelling incense, I actually thought the building was on fire, the smell was that strong. The owner doesn't always seem like the nicest person, and her comments to some of the reviews are definitely not the responses you would expect from a business owner who is looking to build a client base.
MaryS
October 11, 2012
Service at its best
I have been going here for laser hair removal and the staff is so nice! I have seen a couple of the technicians but would have to say Krista is absolutely wonderful. I would recommend this spa!
angelab
September 21, 2012
False Advertisment at its best
The owner Patti speak very badly of her employees which is probably why there are different people working there every month. It is unorganized and unprofessional. She tries to charge for services that were paid for already by blaming it on not being written down. She keeps using Groupons to bring in business she obviously cannot handle. I do not recommend this "spa" to anyone regardless the prices. Felt scammed.
Response from Alora Ambiance Spa
I am very sorry that you feel this way, I have been working for Patty for 6 months now and she has never spoken to me in a way I would describe as poor or unprofessional. The other girls and I have a blast working for her and with each other.
LucyS
June 28, 2012
STAY AWAY!
In looking at this spa it had a few good reviews however please do not make the mistake I made. This place is run so poorly I cannot begin to describe it. Receptionist and owner do not communicate appointment, I actually beleive its the owner as she rants and contradicts herself in a matter of a few sentences. Hmm, let me try an owner who tries to boast about her business skills when in fact she has no clue what she is doing. I would not be surprised if this place was out of business soon. Oh, a boss who yells at her receptionist oh downstairs.... hmm we can still hear you. Please I could go on forever about the horrific experience I had at this spa. Please, please do not waste your time. Look I never, do reviews and I am an extremely easy going person ... just trying to save you from a horrible experience in a hostile work place. hmmm, I wonder if the receptionist quit yet? Honey, you can do better.
Response from Alora Ambiance Spa
We are very sorry that you did not have a great experience at our spa. The situation that we believe you experienced was a complete lack of communication where the receptionist took it upon herself to make a decision about whether or not clients could be accommodated without first consulting the owner. At Alora Spa it is our goal to make sure that every client has an enjoyable experience and that our employees are always professional and always put the clients first. We attempted to resolve the matter but unfortunately the client's temper did not help the situation.
HelenL
May 27, 2012
Two good experiences
I have only been to Alora twice, but had enjoyable experiences both times. The first time, I got a massage from Alicja. She was excellent. One of the best massages I've ever gottan, and I've been getting them for years. I recently had a Sat. morning appt. for a hot stone pedi. I called the night before to see if I could come in that night and they were able to accommodate me. I was taken in right on time and Miranda treated me. She was excellent! My pedi lasted almost 1 1/2. She wasn't chatty, which is good. Sometime I just want to chill and not chat. However, when we did talk, she was very professional and mature for a young girl. She took her time and did an excellent job. I would go back to Alora for the same services again. The place is small and the massage room is essentially the back room of a basement, however, I learned they just purchased the place next door and are expanding. They might include limited hair services. The decor is pretty and relaxing. The staff was friendly, even the owner, whom people have written has an uneven temper. I have encouraged a friend to purchase their Groupon offer when she inquired about it to me. Not sure what all the negativity is about.
StinaC
February 18, 2012
bad first impression, felt like "bad day at work" frustrations were taken out on me
I called the salon asking about hair laser removal. I asked very "first-timer" questions like does it hurt, what should I expect, what do I need to do before hand. I got vague answers back. I didn't schedule an appointment on the phone, but went to the spa itself just to check it out. It seemed ok, so i went ahead and booked my appointment. Again I asked first-timer questions & got the same generic answers that weren't all too reassuring. I even filled out the questionnaire packet on my first visit, listing some skin concerns, but I don't think it was actually read through or addressed for my peace of mind. I felt like I falsely signed a "consent" form saying that certain things were discussed prior to treatment, because they weren't. I think it was a busy day, so I felt rushed & intimidated to ask for extra attention for my concerns. Even after my treatment, i still felt in the dark about what exactly was going on. I just read some of the reviews on here with bad reactions (thankfully none for me yet) & I see the owner responded that they recommend a consultation appointment before laser hair treatment. I didn't know about that since it was not recommended to me over the phone or in person, & I'm sure its exactly what i needed!
DanielleD
January 11, 2012
AMAZING EXPERIENCE!! GREAT ATMOSPHERE!
I've recently visited the Alora Spa on 1/10/12. I have never had a better experience at any other spa. The staff was very polite and professional. I purchased a package for laser hair removal. I was given very helpful information about the service I was having done. They were happy to answer all of my questions. I had no problems after getting the laser hair removal! Their rates are incredible. I have already started recommending the spa and thier services to friends and family. If you want to see great results and experience a great spa I would recommend you visit the Alora Spa. Thank you Alora staff!!
megnan
January 9, 2012
very very bad place please beware
I went to this place for laser hair removal. The lady burned my under arms so badly that the marks are still there like the 1st day after 4 months. The burns were excruciating. Please dont go to this place. There are many places much than this.
KimS
December 22, 2011
Great service at Alora!!
I have been a customer at Alora Ambiance Spa for over three years. Recently, I have been going to the spa more often and am very pleased with the service and treatments that are offered and provided. The staff is very pleasant, professional and they care about their customers.
VanessaD
December 21, 2011
Very happy with laser treatment
I saw their groupon offer online and wanted to see the spa first. I was pleasantly surprised and they allowed me to purchase the groupon deal from them rather than go home and purchase it online. The place is small and quaint. Everyone is very nice and it's a tranquil environment. I referred my aunt and she also loves Alora spa. I'm also very happy with the laser treatment. After one session I noticed a difference!!! Laser hair removal is amazing and I would recommend it to anyone! It's not the most comfortable feeling in the world, but everyone's pain tolerance is different and it's totally worth it!
GM
December 2, 2011
Poor Business Practice
I purchased 2 Double Take Deals for myself and a friend for their 1 hour massage. I just realized that the coupon had just expired and called to see if they would still honor it. The owner would not honor it nor would she apply the price I paid to a massage. I think this is a very poor business practice, as she not only would have been getting 2 HAPPY new clients, but others whom we would have referred! I am a business owner myself and am always happy to accommodate a new client. In this economy new business is new business! So much for kindness and holiday spirit, don't expect to find it at Alora Ambiance Spa!
Response from Alora Ambiance Spa
Its an unfortunate situation. The coupon had been expired for months..I would have been happy to give credit for a another spa treatment. Unfortunatley, I could not get a word in edgewise to accomodate this client. As the owner of the Alora Spa, I would not intentionally upset any client,, as all of our clients are important to us.
Alora SpaR
September 24, 2011
Fabulous Spa Package!
I visited the Alora Spa on 9-24-11 and they over exceeded all my expectations! I recieved a spa package as a gift from my husband for a mini spa day however the service were so excellent i upgraded all services! Alicja was an excellent massage therapist, and Patty did a fabulous deep pore cleansing facial. I would reccomend this spa to everyone. A truly relaxing spa Experience. - Tuty Santiago
miny
September 20, 2011
very unprofessional
I went in for laser hair removal, had several treatments and my got worse not less. The behavior of the personnel treating me was very unprofessional, in fact she had an attitude problem. Since it was my first time getting this procedure, I asked her a few questions and she got annoyed!!! I will never be going back to this place again and do not recommend it to anyone.
spau
September 20, 2011
Very bad attitude of staff and inconsistent behavior
They are great at the first visit and after that they take you for granted....and show big attitudes. Even the laser treatment that they use is very outdated and painful.
Response from Alora Ambiance Spa
The Laser Equiptment we have at our facility is a 2011 Palomar Starlux 500 laser machine. The machine is brand new and is one of the best Laser Machine that is on the market. Pain levels do depend on sensitivity of skin and vary for each client. We do reccomend all clients schedule a full consultation before any laser service.
kateB
September 15, 2011
that they have a scam going on so all customers beware!!!!!!!!!!!
I will not be returning too............... I went to Alora Spa today. I had actually read the previous review and had been prepared to expect a problem with my gift card also. At the end of my pedicure she asked for the $25 fee and I handed her the gift card I had rec'd in December. I was informed that my gift card that had a total of $35 had a $5 balance. They informed me that I had used the gift card in January for a $30 pedicure. I had never been to their establishment before today. I think that they have a scam going on so all customers beware!!!!!!!!!!!
Response from Alora Ambiance Spa
Unfortunately Spa finder only sells gift cards in increments of $25.00 so a gift certificate of $35 is non existant. We login in to our Spa Partners account and enter the Gift Certificate number. If the number is unable to be identified or already redeemed we can view the history of the GC activity. We then resolve the ticket balances accordingly.
NA N
November 28, 2010
blissful and sensations!
By DanielaC | October 18, 2010 I've visited many spas in nj and have found aloraspa to be the best. It's small but atmosphere is so relaxing and calming. Everyone from the receptionist to the cleaning staff is pleasant and makes you feel comfortable. I fall asleep every time I go and feel so relaxed when I leave. I can't say that about any other spa I've visited in nj. Try them. I know you'll agree with me.
NA N
November 28, 2010
GREAT PLACE...
By mariaB| November 5, 2010 Great facial! Relaxing room, service and atmosphere . Not pushy and very professional will be going back!
NA N
November 28, 2010
very happy with services!
By Alicja B | November ,14, 2010 This Is my #1 place. my daughter for her birthday party, she's and girlfriends very happy with the services and staff toke well care my daughter highly recommend.
NA N
November 28, 2010
THE BEST EXPERIENCE
By Christe S| November 21, 2010 I have been going to this spa for over four years, and each time, I am always impressed by the staff and the peaceful atmosphere. I know that I can always count on the best service each and every time. I recommend the hot stone massage and clean as a whistle facial
MelissaB
August 14, 2010
Think twice before going here.
I booked private party and although my booking experience was great, when I got there, someone else was the front desk and had no clue what was going on. The manicure woman was completely inappropriate with her non-stop comments. Services were average. When I got home I realized I had money stolen out of my purse during the day. Not the kind of relaxing day I was looking forward to.
ChristineF
July 17, 2010
MASSAGE -- AVERAGE
I went to this spa because I had a gift certificate for the spawish and they took it. I have only had around a half dozen massages in my life but oversall -- this was way below average. I did walk out thinking that if I ever come back, I would not have the same women. I did not find the massage very relaxing and I did not think the person was experienced enough. I may try it again in the future but with a different person.
JanelleK
August 11, 2009
Marvelous massage that makes you melt
I recently went to this spa, and received a massage and facial. It is one of the best massages that I have had in all of New Jersey. I would definitely recommend getting a massage and facial from this place. The massage therapist was very knowledgeable about post massage treatment care, and showed me some stretches on how to get my muscles working again. Their new Caviar Facial made me look 10 years younger!
KristaW
May 27, 2009
Great Experience!
I had come into the spa after receiving the smart circle gift card. I didn't know this place even existed but what a little gem it was! I had four services done and every one was friendly and very professional. I was impressed with the knowledge of the staff and the decor. I will be referring all of my friends to here and will be back for more!
NA N
May 2, 2009
Fantastic Experience
I visited Alora Ambience in Boonton to treat myself for my birthday. Considering the reasonable cost, and the small-town location, I was not expecting a world-class experience. I WAS WRONG! I have visited spas in some of the nicest hotels in the world that left me wanting more, but the service here was fantastic! The best yet. I can't wait for my next visit!
NA N
April 29, 2009
Pretty discouraged!
I was pretty discouraged by the massage that I got, the masseuse was inexperienced although very nice. The ambiance was nice and relaxing but it was not a professional environment. I received a lot of calls confirming and re-confirming my appointments, it was like they didn't know what was going on in their spa. Won't refer anyone there and will not go back.
NA N
April 3, 2009
the best experiece
On Saturday, March 7th, I along with two friends had spa packages, which included a body polish, massage, facial and pedicure. Oftentimes customers, myself included are quick to contact management when the service they receive is poor, but are quiet when they are left happy and satisfied. I will not stay quiet in this case. Let me say that the service we received was superb. Not only did we receive wonderful service, we received it with a smile. Your staff was professional and extremely friendly. The receptionist, while doing her job, chatted with us as we waited for our treatments. The masseuse removed every knot in our body, the person that did the facial was detailed, the individual that did our body polish scrubbed and did a great job exfoliating, and the pedicurist had us leaving there wanting to show off our pedicures. Unfortunately, I do not remember everyone's name. Also, the ambiance is relaxing and serene. I have been to a spa before and that was not the case. However, while at your establishment, I felt like we were the only people in Boonton, left there to relax. We drove two hours from New York to get to Alora Spa and I must say that it was well worth it, thanks to you staff!
Load 5 More Reviews +